Snow flurries in the air and……..

Another finish that is very seasonal! My friend, Alice’s (you can read the post about her here), DIL asked me to make a Christmas stocking for the latest (married in) addition to the family. Her granddaughter’s wedding was 1 week before Alice’s passing so this tradition was not brought “up to date”. Now it is! His name is Marc (with a ‘c’). And this is what my morning at the sewing machine (Miss Juki) produced……………Marc Pouilly's Xmas stocking 002           I quilted the muslin (front/back pieces), cut them out and applied the tree embellishment. Wow, was that fun!!!! The tree ‘branches’ are merely strips of homespun, that will fray over time, as is the strip holding the bell on.Mark Poilley's X-mas stocking 002   I used fusible interfacing to give the cuff enough stability to write his name. I wrote the name with a white pencil on a piece of black fabric, pinned it in place and free motion stitched a couple of times. Then I cut away some of the fabric……easy peasy “monogram”. I’m not one to readily drag out my embroidery floss………I much prefer the sewing machine!Mark Poilley's X-mas stocking 003Mark Poilley's X-mas stocking 004  Above are two photos of the stitching I did. I used Sulky “Holoshimmer”. It changes colors a bit as your views shift. Cool stuff but a bit persnickety. I used a #14 (yes, that is large) “topstitch” needle. It provides the larger eye and deeper/longer groove in the shaft which serves to protect the ‘thread’. I brought my top tension way down, so as not to stretch the ‘thread’ as it comes through the discs. (Note: one way to check for this is to pull a length of the ‘thread’ at the needle and release it. If it ‘curls’, you have too much resistance and it will break…..guaranteed!) The other piece of advice is…….cut your speed. I adjusted my machine to less than half normal speed and even went a tad slower with fabulous results!! Absolutely no breakage!!!! Yay!

So, that’s it for today. Now, to “un-trash” my sewing studio!!! Til next time….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Snow flurries in the air and……..

  1. Jeanne says:

    Very nice! I’m sure Marc will truly feel a part of the family now. How does one’s sewing studio get so messy????? Mine needs un-trashing often!

  2. mandymunroe says:

    Lovely, well done. Thanks for the tips on using that thread. I always change to a top stitch needle but still have breakages.

    • treadlemusic says:

      On my Juki there are 3 “pre-tension” holes that you feed the thread through, plus another tension disc set-up. I used only 1 of the first holes (more of a guide then) and loosened up the other 2 spring discs almost totally (sometimes I’m afraid they will come apart…..ugh!). A lot of what I use by Sulky is more of a very thin “ribbon” and is a bit “sticky” so it stretches easily. Adjusting the tension and going much more slowly helps to prevent friction/heat build-up in the discs which seems to cause the stickiness and breakage. This approach has worked on all my Berninas and my Juki. I do hope it will help you ‘cuz the “thread” has such beautiful sparkle! Hugs……

  3. Fiona says:

    such a lovely thread and I appreciated the tips about using it… I did lesson my tension but not with the 3 holes you mentioned or a top stitchneedle… so will try that next time … thanks… bloggers are such a great source of information!

    I love the boot you made – the mixture of textures is just perfect

    Hugz

  4. You free-stitched the name Marc on there? Incredible. The earthiness of this stocking really appeals to me.

    BTW, my new son-in-law is Marc, with a “c.”

  5. jennyklyon says:

    Very cute and charming!

  6. mtetar says:

    I’m believing this project is always going to be remembered in their family. It is of course a very special beauty. Blessings, Mtetar

  7. witchylin says:

    WOW! Doreen you have been so productive over the last week. The stocking is lovely. Such a simple but effective design. Thank you for the information on how to sew with these new shimmery threads. It is such a bind when they keep snapping. I will certainly be giving your hints a try this next week.

  8. Jackie says:

    Love love love this stocking Doreen, lucky Marc!!! I’m glad you gave us a close up on the stitching, it’s so pretty how the threat changes colors and I love the snowflakes or are they stars….either way, they are adorable!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Jackie, They can be either snowflakes or stars! I thought both would be appropriate!!!! Thanks for the kind words and the visit!!!!! Stay warm!!! Cold days ahead…..warm hugs…….

  9. Valerie says:

    Lovely stockings, just perfect!! I am swiping that saying up top for MY Facebook!! 😉 Thank you for sharing!

  10. Thread crazy says:

    What a cute stocking…great job. Thanks for info on thread…will have to try that thread as i love the colors. You’ve made some progress my dear these past few weeks, so the snowy weather worked wonders for you! We have cold temps here, down in lower 30’s and rain…yes sleet too! We get than in place of snow!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup, a few flurries and I am in the Holiday mode!!!! (Better late than never! I work better under pressure!?!….Oops, that was college-me talking!!! LOL!). Don’t like sleet!!!!! I guess it is what it is!!! Ha! Hugs……..

Leave a Reply

