I give you…..TEXTURE!!!!!!!!……..

Drunkard's Path..stitched 002Drunkard's Path..stitched 003Drunkard's Path..stitched 004Drunkard's Path..stitched 005Drunkard's Path..stitched 006Drunkard's Path..stitched 008Drunkard's Path..stitched 009Drunkard's Path..stitched 010Drunkard's Path..stitched 011Drunkard's Path..stitched 012Drunkard 002Drunkard 003

What a difference some time with my Sweet Sixteen (a.k.a. Ms Sweetie) and some of that Sulky “Holoshimmer” metallic ‘thread’. Quilty fun to the max. Now, on to the frosty pink/red versions. Stay tuned…………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to I give you…..TEXTURE!!!!!!!!……..

  1. Linda says:

    Gorgeous! I am in awe….8-)

  2. Your feathers look awesome! Love the one of blue petals.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The pattern was an experiment and the result was just “ok” until the quilting (which I kinda figured!!). Now, I really like the table toppers! 2 more to go…..they will be such a different finish due to the color difference! Thanks for stopping by and Thanksgiving Blessings to you and your family!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The stitching kinda evolved as I stitched. I really haven’t had that happen before…..usually I have a vague direction but not on these. Interesting……..I’m glad they appealed to you. Thanks so much for the visit and Happy Thanksgiving!!!! Hugs……

  3. Karen Miller says:

    This is just beautiful Doreen — I’m with you — it makes a world of difference. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Michele says:

    I’m really impressed and hope I can do that too before too much longer.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I can only say I live for the moment I thread up the mid-arm and begin stitching. These projects were the first that, other than the feathering, I had no idea of a real direction. The ‘thread’ was a strong factor. The piecing was the biggest challenge for me and the finish was a pleasant surprise………I love such finishes!!!!! Keep practicing….it’s what I did. So glad you stopped by!!!!! Hugs……….

  5. Karen says:

    pretty! the pattern is really nice and the stitching!

  6. mtetar says:

    Now this one has the festive holiday look. It has the shine and glimmers. Blessings, Mtetar

  7. This is so beautiful. I was thinking fireworks and starry nights when I started running through these images.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Those are great ideas!!!! In LaCrosse the “SkyRockers” put on an amazing fireworks display for New Year’s Eve!!! Perfect!!!!

      • Who are the SkyRockers? I assume you’ve seen these fireworks a few times???

        • treadlemusic says:

          I’ve seen their display………..recorded by the local TV news station………I don’t do “cold” (at least, not often). Doing the Rotary Light display at Riverside Park this Saturday…..most incredible!!!!! I don’t do well with night photos, so there won’t be a report on it!! ;-( (Note: the SkyRockers are the ‘official’ trained fireworks ppl in LaCrosse)

  8. Pearls, feathers and stars OH MY!
    🙂
    It is wonderful! Love the swirls in there! And the thread is just perfect for this project, a little bit of golden “bling”!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      All of a sudden it’s my ‘go to’ thread!!! I’ve had it for so long (3 spools! A good thing! I’m not done with it yet!!!!). Will be excited to see how the next 2 come alive with it!!!! So glad you could drop by!!!! Hugs……..

  9. So beautiful – you are such an artist with thread!~

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thread has become my “paintbrush” these days (years ago it was water colors, oils, acrylics). Much more fun and neater!!!! LOL! I so appreciate your kind words!!!!! Hugs…..

  10. Fabulous. Absolutely marvelous.

  11. Thread crazy says:

    As I was looking at your beautiful pics, I was just wondering if you did this on your Ms. Sweetie or your juki. Beautiful…love the feathers!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I did them on Ms Sweetie. She was threaded and ready and the Juki was in “piecing mode”. Laziness/efficiency prevailed and I just shifted machines. It could have easily been accomplished on the Juki!

  12. witchylin says:

    Your quilting really sets off the fabrics. Love the different shapes. Another great project to add to your repertoire. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      And all pulled from my overflowing stash!!! That was a goal for the past year that I failed miserably at. Hope to do better in the future!!!! Just have to stay out of the shops!!!!!! LOL! Hugs……..

  13. Sartenada says:

    Pure art – snowflakes, glimmering stars and leaves. Excellent work

  14. Rhonda says:

    Awesome work, Doreen! That thread complements the quilt so well, and your stitching is perfect for it.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much!!! Been thinking of all my friends who are going in to Spring warmth as we are well launched into rain/ice pellets/snow tonight and tomorrow. I’m very thankful I don’t have any driving for tomorrow…….Just sewing/quilting…….yay!!!!! Hugs………

Leave a Reply

