A non-traditional traditional gift……..

Back in 2010, I made and gave my mom one of my first completed lap quilts that I had pieced and quilted myself. She loves blue hydrangeas (as I do!!) so the theme was an easy one to choose. I look back at the quilting and think….wow!, I have come a long ways!!!!! Hydrangea lap quilt,Mom   The photographer has come a long way, too!!! LOL! Anyhow, tomorrow DH and I will be heading to the Twin Cities to visit her and I thought a little Christmas item would be nice. She is 94 yrs old and her condo (yes, she’s still on her own!!) has a summery, Florida feel so the hydrangea thought came to me. I went digging in my stash and……yup!…..some scraps left. Really not too amazing for me……..I throw nothing away!!!!

The result of a couple of hours in my sewing space is this little cutie…………Mom's Christmas stocking 001Mom's Christmas stocking 002

Mom's Christmas stocking 004Mom's Christmas stocking 003

I pulled up the old quilt photo and looked closely at the “feathers”…..oh my! Anyhow, I leave you with this finish (and a thanks to Valerie over at Pumpkin Patch Quilter for the stocking idea!!!!)………….Mom's Christmas stocking 007Mom's Christmas stocking 005

A couple days away from the sewing machines ahead. The trek to the Cities tomorrow and playing piano for a mini-concert at the hospital I worked at. I think I predict an “idea overload” come Wednesday!!!!!! Til next time…………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to A non-traditional traditional gift……..

  1. Gloria says:

    SWEET, I’m sure she’s gonna’ love it since you made it especially for her. What else can you give to a 94 yr. old?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Well, let’s see……I made homemade craisin/walnut bread today (for her) and am taking some fresh cranberry/orange relish (w/ pecans) along, too. Some of her faves. And, you’re so right, she wants for nothing! Hugs………..

  2. ruthiequilts says:

    Wow! What an amazing stocking!!! (And I can’t believe you were doing feathers on your first project! Okay, maybe I can…) This is stunning!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Did you look closely at those first feathers??? They are so stiff!!!!! But………..practice followed……..hehe! Once again…….the stash came through for me!!! LOL! Hugs…..

  3. Fiona says:

    I love your hydrangea stocking and the feathers look fantastic… It’s fun looking back at quilts we were so proud of when we first started.. and see how we have improved! the original quilt is gorgeous too and I’m sure your mom adores it…
    Hugz

  4. Karen says:

    feathers look great = happy birthday to your mom great that she is still on her own! she will love the quilt

  5. Karen says:

    Beautiful work Doreen… And what a unique idea. Love those feathers – congrats to you!

  6. mtetar says:

    Pretty as a Winter Wonderland. Beautiful choice of colors and they blend well together. Kind regards and Blessings to your mom. Safe Trip to and from. Always, Mtetar

  7. janprytz says:

    I think your first attempt was great. Love the stockings.

  8. I am so hoping one of these days my feathers just may look a little like that…..right now they look like something that’s been swept out of the chicken coup! Love the stocking – what a neat idea. Have a great time in the “Cities”.

  9. Jeanne says:

    What a wonderful gift! She will cherish it.

  10. Amazing you still had some of that fabric! The stockings are gorgeous! Love the white for a stocking! Modern and appropriate for Florida! Please soak up some of the sun for me, will you?
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you! The “Florida look” is in her condo which is in St. Paul, MN…….which has a 50% chance of snow/rain today!!!! I’m ready for Florida sunshine/warmth!!!! LOL! Hugs………

      • Oops, I must have read your post to quickly! “Wish is the master of though” we say over here in the Netherlands. I wish you lots of sunshine and warmth! LOL!!! Even if the warmth is in front of a fire near the Christmas tree.

        • treadlemusic says:

          Well, Mom had her gas fireplace going today and the last few miles (35) were driven in sleet/snow!!! Adds to the feel of the season we are now entering!!!!!!! Hugs…….

  11. Lovely, and a great choice! I bet she loves it.

    I have about a yard of that hydrangea fabric here too!! Sometime when you are here in the Twin Cities, let’s have coffee or lunch.

  12. witchylin says:

    Lovely and I am sure your Mom will be very happy with her early Christmas gift. Especially as you made it for her. Your feathers are much better now but I wouldn’t be ashamed of your first attempt. It is only 3 years since you made the first lap quilt and “baby look at you now”. Not everyone becomes so good so quickly. 😉

  13. Your mom is going to be so pleased with this sweet piece. And perfect timing with a snowy and cold week ahead predicted.

  14. Michele says:

    So sweet. I’m sure she will love it. Enjoy the trek.

    • treadlemusic says:

      She so did!!! Most of the trek (the car/driving part) was good. Now home and am glad that the weather held off for as long as it did!!! Thank you for stopping by!!!!! Hugs……

  15. KrisR says:

    Your feathers are beautiful, Doreen!

  16. What a lovely stocking for your Mum!! Safe travels!

    • treadlemusic says:

      We had a good trip and no snow til close to home and then our trusty Suburu got us up our ridge hill road nicely. Others didn’t fare so well! Mom loved the stocking!!!!! Hugs…..

  17. Vivian in AR says:

    Love the stocking. Looks so quick and fresh.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It really was. From start to finish it was 2& 1/2 hours, a little bleached muslin and duff fabric (and batting). I’m so glad you stopped by. Sorry I couldn’t offer you some nicer weather!!!!! Hugs…….

  18. ivoryspring says:

    Gorgeous quilting!!!!

  19. Valerie says:

    Beautiful!! Your whole cloth stockings turned out fantastic – and boy can I see Wendy’s influence in your feathers – just lovely!!!!!!!! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think our brains are “wired” similarly!!!! I hope to make another one this week for an elderly friend in the local nursing care facility. Will put seasonal greens in it for a finish with a floral cuff. You were my inspiration for this project!!!!! Hugs…….

  20. Love the stockings! Beautiful quilting.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much, Deb. These are the perfect projects for the DSM (domestic sewing machine)! Hugs……

      • LOL looks way to scary for me! I’m still working in the geometric shaping 🙂 I’m venturing out some, but the square pillows are where i’m at for now.

        • treadlemusic says:

          It will come, I am sure. One thing I have learned (major self-talk here!!)……each of us learn differently…..different rates, different ways, different goals, and different abilities AND it’s all ok!! It’s only a negative if I so label it and I refuse to do that. A “speed bump” becomes a learning opportunity (some little/some big). Hugs……..

Leave a Reply

