A Follow-up to ………..

the post, “Ditch Stitchin’”. That was a fun finish. I can only show a little as it really hasn’t been delivered,yet.Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 005Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 006

Sorry, I know the above photos are basically the same but I wanted to give a little feel for the borders. They are filled with significant phrases and names of people, places and things in this client’s friend’s life. I did the first stitching of the binding for her and she will do the finishing hand stitching. I straight stitched diagonally (one direction) through the main part and ditch stitched on the inside of the darker blue border and the outside of the narrow lighter green strip. The script is in the handwriting of the client ( I did a direct transfer from the layout she provided). That filled the border very nicely.

Now, on to the next project. It’s not Christmas yet!!!!!!….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Follow-up to ………..

  1. Gloria says:

    What next, you always amaze me with the artistic touch added to each piece.

  2. Jeanne says:

    The quilting of the handwriting is a perfect finish! Just wondering – are the triangles from clothing?

    • treadlemusic says:

      They appear to be as some have faint (stains?) spots on them……like they are used shirtings. I will have to ask the gal what is the source of the fabrics. I know that the borders and backings are quilt shop material. I’ll get back with you on this (I hope………the memory is a terrible thing to lose/misplace!!!!! LOL!). I thought the handwriting was the perfect finish, also!. Hope you’re comfy down in your “neck of the woods”!!! Hugs…….

  3. Beth Ann says:

    That is lovely and a wonderful way to to make it even more personal with the names and places and events. Lovely, Simply lovely.

  4. I love that you used their handwriting. Words are such a powerful comfort. Don’t know if i’d get any sleep as I’d probably keep looking at and reading them if it was my quilt. 🙂

  5. The handwriting idea is just nothing I would ever have thought of for a quilt and really personalizes it. I cannot wait to see the final reveal.

  6. ruthiequilts says:

    I love the words in the border!!! It’s cool you did it in her writing too!

  7. Laura says:

    I like the handwriting in the border also. How did you transfer it to the fabric? I have some ideas, but am curious about how you did it!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Remember the really OLD dressmaker’s transfer “carbon” paper??? The one that we used a pointy little wheel with??? Well, there’s no wax or anything in the transfer stuff (it rubs off beautifully…..leaves no trace residue), so I just put that between the handwriting paper and the fabric an went over the pencil with a firm stylus (a metal knitting needle would work, too). I did one side at a time cuz it rubbed off so quickly. I am posting a photo in a few moments…………

Leave a Reply

