A Christmas Stocking tutorial…….

I hope this makes some kind of sense for those who have asked how I did the unlined stockings. Step by step in photos don’t work quite as well as a video but here we go……………………………….

First, (I used unbleached muslin & 80/20-cotton/poly-batting), you will need enough fabric for a quilt “sandwich” that will be the stocking front and a back. I just drew a pattern from a stocking that I had purchased. Some like a longer “foot” part, or some such tweaking. You can make it as you like!Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 007I made the pattern and included the seam allowance. I, then, pencil drew around it on the 1 large sandwich. Remember to reverse the pattern piece for the back, especially if your lining (the bottom layer of your ‘sandwich’) is different from the top! My top and lining were both muslin so it really didn’t make any difference except that the decorative thread has to be on the outside not inside!!!!! Don’t cut yet!!!!!! Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 011It’s a poor photo, but both stocking pieces (1 reversed) are pencil traced on to the muslin. Pin-baste the layers, select your thread and get ready for the fun part!!!          Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 012 The stitching should fall 1/4” in from the drawn lines. Mine don’t always, which means some of the design will get stitched into the seam allowance. Don’t sweat the small stuff!!!!! It’s ok with me if that happens!!!!!    Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 014You can see that I was too close but it’s a Christmas Stocking not a quilt going to be judged!!!!!! I use a pinking shears as this allows me to skip the small scissor clips needed when turning a curved edge……slick, eh??????Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 015Put the front and back, right sides together, and stitch with a 1/4” seam.Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 016If the 2 pieces don’t exactly match up, don’t worry, just make sure all layers get stitched. Next, turn the stocking right side out and finger press the seam to a smooth edge. Measure the top edge (for the cuff)…..mine was 16”. I added 1/2” for seam allowance and another 1/8”to1/4” just for the bulk of the stocking layers. The width of the finished cuff I wanted to be 4”, so I cut it 8” plus 1/2” for seam allowance. So, the cuff piece measured 16”&1/2” by 8”& 1/2”. Sew the short ends together (1/4” s.a.) making a circle.   Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 017Fold it so that the seam and raw edges match….forming the cuff……Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 019Before attaching, a hanging loop is needed. Cut a piece of your (cuff) fabric 1”& 1/2” wide by double the length you want the finish. Fold the long edges to the center and then fold the strip in half, top stitching each edge.Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 021 Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 022Fold the strip in half lengthwise and center it on the back stocking seam (over the seam allowance on the wrong side!), pin. Next, insert the prepared cuff Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 023Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 024  Stitch, using a 1/4” s.a., matching the cuff seam to the back stocking seam (where the loop is pinned). Turn cuff to the right side (the raw edges are totally hidden under the cuff!). Christmas Stocking tute,Payten quilt 025

Wha-la!!!! A Christmas stocking…….Let me know if there are any questions. Once you have done this project, the steps go quite quickly for the next(?) ones!!! There might just be time enough to make 1 or 2 or…………. Til next time……….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Christmas Stocking tutorial…….

  1. Jeanne says:

    Thanks! For some unknown reason, I probably would have cut the stockings out before quilting – duh! This is a great tutorial.

  2. jennyklyon says:

    Great tut and that stocking is GORGEOUS!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hello!!! And thanks so much!!!!! It has been my “go to” project this year for gifts (I give all the credit for the idea to Valerie Smith….”Pumpkin Patch Quilter”…….she is one awesome stitcher!!!!!!)! Hugs………

  3. ruthiequilts says:

    Thanks for the tute D!!! It’s perfect! I’m going to make some for my family next year!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I buy muslin by the bolt and find it’s the perfect “canvas” for such things……..especially when they’re spur of the moment!!!!!! Look forward to the posts/photos!!!!!! They would be the perfect thing for some of your paper pieced minis!!!!!!

  4. witchylin says:

    So that is how you make them. Well next year there might be a few on the to do pile for seasonal gifts. Thank you for sharing the instructions. They look fun to make.

  5. someday2005 says:

    Nice and easy. What make is your sewing Machine?

    • treadlemusic says:

      My “go-to” machine for piecing and general stitching is a Juki TL2010Q……..an awesome machine!!! And I have a mid-arm quilting machine (1 yr. old) that is a HQ Sweet Sixteen. I, also, have a Bernina 440QE but use it very rarely…….only if I need a decorative stitch. I bought the Bernina a year before the Juki and regret the very expensive/overpriced purchase but needed to replace another Bernina that was gifted. I FMQ on the Juki and it’s AWESOME. If you put “Juki” in my blog search field you will get the posts I have written about this machine. Thanks so much for stopping by and I do hope you visit again!!!! Hugs………..

  6. Your Christmas stocking is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing this detailed tutorial. Your quilting is amazing! Love those feathers!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Feathers are my obsession (along with anything else quilty!!! Just ask DH!!!) and I so appreciate your sweet words!!! The stocking(s) were great fun and I’m hoping to do some more as quick projects between now and the next season (don’t we all hope to get ahead of that next deadline??!!! LOL!)……hmmmm, we’ll see….. Please, stop by again!!!! Hugs……………………Doreen

Leave a Reply

