Follow-up and Finish………

To the “Design Wall Monday” post (found here). The cozy flannel quilt for great granddaughter is done and I couldn’t be happier with the results. The main fabrics (Disney flannel prints “Tinkerbell” and “Cars”) give both sides (the ‘right’ side and the “other” ‘right’ side!) the snuggle appeal I was going for. The quilt really turned out wonderfully flat but my design wall is a suspended piece of flannel-backed vinyl, hanging away from the wall, so the quilt is not against a firm flat surface.    Photo display……….Payten's Tinkerbell,'Cars' quilt 001Payten's Tinkerbell,'Cars' quilt 002Payten's Tinkerbell,'Cars' quilt 006

And the other “right” side…………………………………..Payten's Tinkerbell,'Cars' quilt 003Payten's Tinkerbell,'Cars' quilt 004Payten's Tinkerbell,'Cars' quilt 005

The finished dimensions are 46”x51”. A nice size for a 2& 1/2 yr. old, don’t you think??? The whole cloth centers were 1& 1/4 yds of fabric (trimmed to be the same dimensions……both pieces needed some “true-ing” up, as they had been cut from the bolt rather crooked!). The borders (done with mitered corners) was 1& 1/2 yds of fabric. The print ran lengthwise and I cut strips 4”& 1/2” wide by the purchased length…..worked out perfectly. The binding is “Wendover” cotton and was 1/2 yd. cut on the straight grain (2”& 1/4” x WOF {width of fabric}) and done as a “French” binding (folded in half). I did the binding totally by machine as I thought it would wear better.

The thread used was Sulky “Holoshimmer” in the top/Tinkerbell side (after all, doesn’t she sparkle as she flies?????) and Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly in the bobbin (great stuff=no lint!!!!!). The stitching pattern was my fave…….”funky flowers”, that I’ve found to work so well. Now, to wrap up this little cutie and under the tree it goes.

Til next time, the Christmas sewing continues……………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Follow-up and Finish………

  1. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! I love your quilt and I love these and all fabrics! How lucky we are living in this time having all kind of Fabrics! Fun and cute, solids and prints, what ever colour we can imagine! Other things is then that how get all them to our stash?! I have given up with Christmas things. I shall have lots of other works during the ‘holidays’ so now I just have fun with Nero’s Christmas Calendar. Perhaps have to clean a little bit. Hugs! x Teje

  2. Such sweetness and love sewn into this quilt.

    You will be happy to hear that I pulled out my sewing machine yesterday and stitched two pillow covers for my second daughter for Christmas. Nothing fancy. No quilting. Just squares of fabric stitched together. Way cheaper than buying ready-made pillows as I had pillow forms in-house already.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It always amazes me how much $$$$ is charged for the ready-made pillows!!!!!!! And I would rather have one made by a lovely friend or sweet Mother. I am thrilled to “hear” of your sewing endeavor!!!! Yay!!! It will be so appreciated cuz it’s made by YOU!!!!

  3. Fiona says:

    It’s wonderful… I think flannel makes them so snuggly….
    Hugz

  4. Lynda says:

    These are so cute, and I love the borders!

Leave a Reply

