Ready for the giving………

Some moments of sandwiching each little mug rug/coaster with black Kona cotton, stitching, turning right side out and top stitching. Done!!!!!!002

18 little sparkly cuties ready for bundling and sending on their different ways. Fun groupings of 4 tied with raffia and off they go…………………………………….001

And there are still a few days til Christmas. I wonder what I can find to do next…….a stocking, or 2……….?? ……..hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm……….til next time…………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Ready for the giving………

  1. Lynda says:

    These are wonderful!

  2. Karen says:

    no binding! such a great way to finish them off.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup!!! I try to bypass that part of the process if I can. I try to find panels that have a narrower stripe on the edge of each block. If it’s too wide, a binding seems to be needed (visually).

  3. Goodness are these cute. Your mind never stops churning, does it? Next project…

    • treadlemusic says:

      Went to my fave Cresco (IA) quilt shop today (Quilter’s Garden) and picked up some sweet Christmas fabric for some sewing tomorrow. I’m excited!!!! Some metallic thread came in the mail yesterday!!! Yay!!! Dreams in color tonight for sure!!!! LOL!

  4. no binding… from an earlier reply… is that why the backing went on after the quilting? Hope you have a safe journey if you do head out today. I imagine living there that you’re used to it and still carry on a normal life. Having grown up in AZ and now living in a snow state, I stay put like they tell me to on the weather channel 🙂 Enjoy your day.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ah, yes. You are right on. That’s why there was no backing fabric when I quilted the panel. It works just fine! We headed out around 11:00 am and just got home an hour ago. Great day. The drive home was a bit slick but not too bad. The quilt shop (Quilter’s Garden in Cresco, IA,) is an awesome one and lunch at a nearby restaurant (Teluwut Bar and Grille) was yummy!!! Back at the sewing tomorrow. Couple more ideas in my head!!!!! Hugs……….

  5. These are looking awesome! I admire your dedication to handmade gifts.
    I’m really bad with deadlines.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m really not that great either!!! Last minute, “under the gun”, no time left, etc, is usually my time frame and always has….sigh. It’s a good thing that I am able to sew fast!!! LOL! Plus, I usually have a “ton” of ideas floating in my head!!!!!

      • That’s great! Now I am trying to figure out which one to finish first! All my projects are either complicated(I do that to myself) or big. I do love making lapsize quilts these days. It does take a long time and I should have started a while ago. You’re my inspiration for today :-).

  6. Anita says:

    These are wonderful…so many things I want to try of yours….2014 maybe? 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Let me know……..I’ll get ya going!!!!!! All these little projects have to be wrapped up by the end of 2013 so I can get to your quilt (and the others) that’s waiting (im)patiently!!!! But…that’s then and this is now………more ideas yet to do. Maybe tomorrow. Monday I play piano at the hospital again (but only til noon!). Thanks so much for the visit……Christmas Blessings to you all!!!………………………..

  7. Jackie says:

    These are adorable, what a fun little accent to have sitting on a coffee table, You are so clever!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m hoping to inspire everyone to look at these block panels with fresh eyes and an “outside the box” thought process. Instant gratification for those who have shorter attention spans or a need for a gift…..uh, yesterday!!?? LOL!

  8. They look even prettier than last time!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      Putting the finishing backing on and the edge top-stitching helps shape them so nicely. The stitching, using the metallic thread, was a surprisingly dramatic transformation. I’m so glad you like them. They are going to be a bit of a surprise for the recipients. Thank you so much for your kind words, dear Esther. Hugs………..

  9. What great little gifts! They’ll bring a smile to so many faces. Merry Christmas to you and yours from foggy, rainy western Oregon.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you for the well wishes!!!! Yesterday was that type of weather here………of course, the ground was totally frozen so the resulting ice layer gave way to some interesting driving techniques!!!!!!!! Today, we are looking at being on the north western edge of quite a storm…..possible 2″ to 4″ of snow tomorrow (I don’t think they really know!!!!). Great for staying indoors and sewing (today, anyway). The snowmen’s faces/smiles can’t help but bring a smile to your face, hmmm? Today they get tied in little bundles (of 4?) with raffia and wrapped. Almost done for this year!!! Hugs……

  10. LB says:

    These are just wonderful, and what a lovely homemade gift. That snowman is adorable

  11. ruthiequilts says:

    Hehehehe… Sew like the wind!!! You can do it! (I decided to work on stockings after Christmas… No pressure that way!)

    • treadlemusic says:

      The rest of my ideas will wait, also. I decided to get a tote (large) and label it “Christmas 2014” and place it conspicuously in my sewing room. Maybe that would help for next year!!!!!! LOL!

  12. what a fabulous idea for gifts I love them
    I am visiting from Quilts from my crayon box
    Kathy

  13. witchylin says:

    They are adorable and I am sure the recipients will love them.

Leave a Reply

