I can safely post………..

These little table toppers that were given to my DIL, Granddaughter and ex-DIL that I wrote about here. I had forgotten that I really never followed up on the “sneaky peak” and shown the “whole picture” until I just read about Barbara (at “Cat Patches”) and her quandary about how to do a binding application on a table topper that has corner angles greater than 90 degrees. Sulky gold metallic thread was used in the first 3 toppers. Here are the (forgotten by me) photos………………..Christmas 2013 007    I did 2 with this same lay-out. The quilting surrounding the word “Believe” is different in each, though……………….Christmas 2013 013                  A little  “McTavishing”/tighter echoing look on these in the centers…………………………………… Christmas 2013 014

And another topper….similar, but different!!! (Got that??? LOL! It’s the way I ‘roll’!)………………..Christmas 2013 009    The back…………….Christmas 2013 012Christmas 2013 011

And for the snowman collector………..Christmas 2013 015Christmas 2013 016

And the back………….Christmas 2013 017

Sulky “Holoshimmer” was used in this last topper…..tons of sparkle!!!!

The words on the first 3 and the snowman features were fused using paper-backed web and free motion stitched to secure. The letters I did “free hand” with a pencil then reversed them so I could fuse the web to the wrong side of the fabric. Always gotta be paying attention, hmmm???

Note: If there are any questions on a binding that is applied to angles (greater than 90 degrees) such as in the above table toppers, let me know (in the comments/e-mail) and I will provide a tutorial!!!!

Til next time……………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to I can safely post………..

  1. Jeanne says:

    These are gorgeous! I bet everyone loved them! I love all of them – absolutely wonderful quilting! The snowman is my favorite but then again, I always pick snowmen!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Isn’t he the sweetest???? I saw the idea when “thumbing” through a magazine the end of Nov. Of course my first thought was “I can do that” and “I don’t need a pattern”…..sound familiar??? LOL! It went well and the moment the little button eyes were attached he ‘spoke’ to me and was a happy soul!!! Yay!!!! I’m so glad you like him. All the toppers were incredibly well received!!!! Kinda blew me away, actually!!!!! Thanks so much for stopping by……hugs…………

  2. ivoryspring says:

    Awesome gifts, Doreen! You are amazing. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Me????? Really???? I believe you and I thank you!!!! They were among the ideas that came in my pre-Christmas dreaming. Some projects are totally “gifts” to me to merely assemble!!!! (Is that a weird thought??? Well, it seems to happen to me a bit.) Hugs to you………….

  3. Wow! Beautiful work. I like the second back. And you did all that free motion? whew!

  4. mtetar says:

    Oh wow your crafts are always at your best. Blessings, Mtetar

  5. Oh, beautiful and those blessed recipients of these. Your talent just goes on and on.

  6. The quilting is just beautiful. I’m envious. My stiff fingers would never allow such pretty work.

    • treadlemusic says:

      My fingers don’t cooperate when I hand quilt and that’s why machine stitching is so perfect for me. The machine(s) I use are “sit-down” types…..a domestic machine (Juki TL2010Q) and a HQ Sweet Sixteen (mid-arm). With no room for a frame (and I wouldn’t have one anyway…..I’m a ‘move the fabric’ kind of gal) and not wanting to stand and quilt, these machines work very well. I’m so glad you came for a visit!!! Please, come again!!! Hugs…………Doreen

  7. Hoping the recipients realize the worth of having someone like you in their lives…beautiful work Doreen! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think they kinda do but, since most don’t sew, they only know if the item is something they like or not. I know they don’t have any idea of what goes into the making/creating but it’s ok cuz I just love to do it. Thank you so much for your very kind encouragement. Hugs………………………

  8. They are very special! I love how you put the words on them. So happy to hear they are loved already!!!
    Happy New Year Doreen!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      And a Joy-filled New Year to you, also, Esther!!!! 2013 was a very good year, where I feel many bloggy friendships grew. I look forward to what the new year will bring! Hugs to you…………………………

  9. witchylin says:

    They are fabulous Doreen. Can I request a tutorial for the larger than 90 degree corners please? The writing is great. Know what you mean about concentrating when you are transferring letters on to iron on backing. The number of times I have cut it all out then realized it was backwards. (blushes at the thought) I am sure they were very well received and will be used often.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes……..quilting is a complicated art!!! LOL! I will be posting a tute today or tomorrow………no problem. A Blessed New Year to you, Dear Long-distance Friend……………………………………..

  10. Thread crazy says:

    Love the table toppers and especially the lettering. Great job…but then you always do! I know firsthand that family my not always say so, but they do enjoy what we give them. Looking forward to what 2014 brings!

  11. Patti Tappel says:

    Your quilt runners are beautiful! You do an awesome job on the quilting.
    PS I bought my son and wife a Belgium waffle maker too along with the pressure cooker!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much, Patti!!! In all the years our sons were young we/I did waffles a lot with what is now an “antique” waffle iron that took forever to complete each waffle. Now (thanks to Amazon) we totally enjoy them and eating them faster than they cook isn’t possible! My fave recipe is a sourdough recipe that can be mostly done the night before and left to set on the counter overnight w/ very little prep in the morning. Recipe found here: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/classic-sourdough-waffles-or-pancakes-recipe I use the buttermilk powder found in the baking aisle. This recipe is beyond awesome!!!!!

  12. Joanie says:

    Darling table toppers! I am sure your gals loved them! I really love the snowman one! I have a thing for them lately!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The snowmen have been the most commented on! Everyone who sees them can’t help but smile or giggle! Definitely a day brightener!!!! At this time of year, especially, small/quick projects (handmade) are so much fun and always appreciated. I’m so glad you like them!! Hugs……..

  13. LB says:

    The “Believe” colors are my favorites (I love the colors of fall) and while I am a fan of snowmen (and this one is adorable!), I think the Believe pieces are incredible!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Those were one of those projects that just “came together”. The different fabrics were purchased over many years at various shops. The “key” piece was the background “Believe” fabric behind the word. It was so perfect! They are in my fave color palette, also! So glad you enjoyed them!!!! Hugs………

  14. Hi Doreen, Wow! You have been a busy bee. I love them all. Your quilting is stupendous!!! Avis x

Leave a Reply

