Today was sandwich making day……..

Quilt sandwiches, that is. Several clients’ quilts and a QOV for the larger quilt group to which I belong. I’ve been sandwiching/quilting the QOV (Quilts of Valor) for the group since I purchased my Sweet Sixteen (Ms. Sweetie).Binding tute 023  I use Sharon Schamber’s method of basting except that I pin-baste rather than thread. She made several videos explaining her process and they may be found here. It took me approximately 3 hours to pin-baste 4 quilts of various sizes. I’ve been doing it this way for a while now and my back thanks me!!!!!!

There have been several requests for me to explain the way I apply binding to quilts/table toppers that have corners greater than 90 degrees. The procedure is basically the same. Here’s one of many good videos to explain this from the cutting of the binding to the sewing. My photos show both the 90 degree corner and then the greater degree corner. Begin, as always, stitching with a 1/4” s.a. (seam allowance).Binding tute 001Stop stitching 1/4” from the next edge of the quilt and backstitch to secure. Cut the threads.Binding tute 002Fold the binding away from you (vertically) with its raw edges in line with the quilt edge you are about to stitch it to, then bring it down towards you.Binding tute 004The upper fold formed will be even with the previous edge. Begin stitching  at the upper edge, with a 1/4” s.a., and continue to the next corner.Binding tute 005This is the corner in question. It is done the same way. Stitch up to 1/4” from the next quilt edge. Stop and secure threads. Clip threads.Binding tute 006 Binding tute 007The right photo shows the stopping point. Fold the binding away from you, as before. Binding tute 008Keep the raw edges in line with the next raw edge of the quilt. The fold it down towards you, forming a fold as shown in the following picture.Binding tute 012  I made this photo larger so it really shows how, this time, the fold appears a bit different than in a 90 degree corner. The right hand edge is in line with the quilt edge beneath.Binding tute 014  Begin stitching with a 1/4” s.a. as before from the upper edge continuing to the next corner.

When all of the first stitching is completed, it is time to wrap it around to the wrong side. This is when the miters are formed on the front and the back sides. The 90 degree corner is easily formed on the back for hand or machine stitching to secure/finish.Binding tute 015 Binding tute 016

This is the second (greater than 90 degree) corner……Binding tute 017 Binding tute 018

I machine stitch bindings (in the ditch, from the right side) on quilts that will be used/loved a lot. Binding tute 021 Binding tute 022

Binding tute 019 Binding tute 020

In the photos above, the photos on the left are the front/top sides of the quilt & stitched in the ditch (SID). The photos on the right are the back and I usually use a bobbin thread that matches the binding but for this tute, the white shows off better. The top thread is a color that will blend with the quilt top (usually a darker shade in order to disappear in the ditch).

Click on any of the photos to enlarge. Further questions?? Let me know……. Til next time…………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Today was sandwich making day……..

  1. Jeanne says:

    Isn’t Sharon’s method the best for pinning quilts? I also pin instead of thread baste. I’m not sure I could pin one quilt in 4 days the ‘old’ way! Thanks for the tutorial!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so right……Sharon’s way is the only way for those of us w/o a long arm frame!!! It’s so accurate/on-grain when finished. I wouldn’t want to do it the way I used to (crawling on the floor!!! Ugh!) and you’re welcome (for the tute). Hugs……

  2. You are so incredibly giving…to be involved in the QOV program.

  3. mtetar says:

    Like I keep saying your best always shows and that’s with all you do. Your post here shows great clear pics, and your tutorial invites one to start a new project. Great post! Blessings, Mtetar

  4. ivoryspring says:

    Thanks for the tutorial!

  5. LB says:

    I had not heard of Quilts of Valor and so had to do a bit of research. What a program, and it’s been going on for 10 years with over 95,000 quilts awarded. Amazing!! How great that you participate in this, Doreen.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Our group (about 40 gals total, of which 20, maybe, help with this) donates about 60 quilts a year which are given out to returning serviceman in our area. It’s done at 2 special banquets (Spring and Fall) at a Christian camp near Rochester (MN). It really is neat!!!!!

  6. witchylin says:

    Thank you so much for the tutorial for greater than 90 degree corners. You answered my questions perfectly. You are so kind to share your knowledge with us Doreen. When I make a quilt sandwich I use a gun that fires small plastic clips. Like the ones used to attach labels to clothes. However I do crawl about the floor so I am going to give this method a try. My back will thank me too I’m sure. Thank you again. I wish you and all your family a very Happy New Year. Keep quilting. :-).

    • treadlemusic says:

      A Joy-filled New Year to you and your loved ones, also, Lin!!! And always remember, you can e-mail photos to me at any time!!!! I would love to see your projects!!! Hugs and blessings………………………….

  7. Morning Doreen 🙂 Thanks for the link to the basting tutorial. I had not known that. Don’t have a table clear enough to try it today, but will certainly use it in the future (at least once). Enjoy your day. Happy New Year

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m so glad you found the info useful. Our bodies can’t take this process as well as they used to so finding an easier method was really needed. The next time I do a sandwich process I’ll post a couple of photos of how I do it. Hugs……..

  8. Making quilt sandwiches is my least favorite part of quilting, but I do like Sharon’s method.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It only “gets to me” when I try to rush through the process to get on to the next (the quilting stitches). I have adopted a different strategy……..while I baste I totally plan/picture in my mind how I’m going to stitch it and what motifs, or marking, will be needed. It really helps to take the focus off the “tedious” aspect of it. Thanks so much for stopping by!!! Hugs……..

  9. ruthiequilts says:

    Wow! What a great tutorial! Thanks D!!! And I can’t wait to see that stack of quilts come to life with quilting… Here’s to a happy and productive 2014 my friend! XOXO

  10. Laura says:

    Sharon Schamber’s method of basting is new to me. Thanks for sharing the links. I just watched her videos. So, I take it that you use boards and pin only about 14 – 16 inches at a time. How close do you pin? The herringbone stitch that Sharon does by hand is much closer than what I do when I pin baste. I look forward to any pics you take of future “sandwiches”!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes I use boards. I have 2 sets……48″ and 96″. Depending on the fabrics, etc, I pin appox. 5″ apart, staggering the pins in the rows (although, sometimes, I pin in certain spots in the pieced pattern that works). I will try to get a top ready for the basting part yet this week. Whether it’s small or large the process is the same (just, maybe, a tad more awkward with longer boards). Most of the quilts I do fall below the lengths of the longer board (meaning the quilt top is less than 96″ in width). Thanks so much for your visit and comment. I’m really glad the links helped. I did try the thread baste ‘thing’ but it was NOT me!!!!!!!! LOL! Hugs……..

  11. Doreen, thank you So Much for the link to Sharon Schamber’s hand basting! What a revelation! I can now hand baste sitting at the table, don’t have to send them out and that pile of quilts tops might (might!) actually get finished!! Wow! What a great system for basting….thank you, thank you, thank you!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh, Meredithe!!!! I’m so glad this is helpful!!!! It has totally changed the process for me!!! I, actually, enjoy basting quilts now! Imagining how I’m going to stitch it is half the fun!!!! Looking forward to seeing that stack go down!!! Yay!!!!! Hugs……………………….

Leave a Reply

