Apple Strudel Bread……..

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day style. I used to use this bread dough recipe/method a few years back before I got my sourdough starter going. If you have some time (not just a few moments……I’m talkin’ serious time ) to check out the above link, you will find all the needed info for pulling together the basic ‘boule’ dough that I made this beauty from…………….apple bread.AB in 5 001

It’s “Apple Strudel Bread”, made with the last of the Honey Crisp apples from our tree. (sob!) This is, hands down, the best apple bread recipe ever!!!! I put the ‘loaf’ in a small round stone baker rather than a bread pan. It bakes better in a pan with lower sides as there is so much moisture in the apples and the finished loaf has a tendency remained doughy. I used the basic dough/boule recipe so the finished bread is not super sweet or rich. The web site suggests using the brioche or challah recipe but this is incredible!!!!!!!!!!! One more photo………..apple bread.AB in 5 002

The dough is mixed up in a large batch (no kneading, just stir with a spoon!!!) and kept in the frig (keeps for 14 days!!!) until you want to pull of a grapefruit sized  piece and make something like this bread OR, how about, pizza??!!! The texture/crispiness is just like you would get from a pizzeria!!!!! It, also, uses all purpose flour!!!!! No special purchase!!! Til next time………..yum………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Apple Strudel Bread……..

  1. mtetar says:

    Thanks so much for sharing on such a cold day just right for baking/cooking. Blessings, Mtetar

  2. ivoryspring says:

    I want that bread — like, right now!!! 🙂

  3. tinksquared says:

    Oh baby! See, that’s the stuff that makes life worth living! This diet crap is for the birds… unless of course I plan on eating said bird. LOL

  4. Wow – Just what I was looking for on a long, cold day! Can’t wait to try it – looks yummy! Thanks

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so very welcome!!!! I have used the filling recipe and the technique with my sourdough white bread recipe and it works great there, too!!!! It seems like each loaf must be approx. 1#. Glad you could visit!!!! Hugs…….

  5. KrisR says:

    no, no, no…..do NOT click on the bread link Kris! I have no clue how you stay so slim, D…..no clue at all. 🙂

    Will be doing your double loops on the next giving quilt. About how big are the loops? They look to be maybe 2 inches across?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Excellent loop question….off to check……..I’m back!! The inside loop (done first- for me) is 1/2″ to 3/4″ and the outside is 1&1/2″ to 2″. Will add that info to the post!!!!
      I can’t honestly say about the bread/weight thing except that time of day plays a HUGE part…….NO EATING after supper/after 6:30, or so, or trouble!!!!! LOL! Eager to see your version…….hugs………………….

  6. Oh, does this bread sound/look good. I make a homemade pizza crust every Friday evening. There’s something about dough…

    • treadlemusic says:

      THERE’S SOMETHING ABOUT BREAD/CARBS….. (sorry) especially homemade. The blessing is multiplied: during the making, the baking (that aroma!!!!) AND the eating!!!!!!!! LOL!

  7. Sounds delicious Doreen! Planning to make bread this winter, so will try it out. Too hot at the moment to have the oven on!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, you have the opposite to contend with!!!! We’ve just had another “wind chill advisory” issued! Lows of ‘only’ -14F with blustery winds. On this end, I’m saving all the icy/cold drink and dessert recipes for next summer. LOL! Hugs……..

  8. LB says:

    Yum!! This looks so delicious! I have a sourdough starter in my fridge … haven’t baked since the wreck but at least I feed it regularly 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I use this filling recipe with my sourdough, also. I use a bread recipe that uses 3& 1/2 c. flour and divide the resulting dough into 2 balls (for 2 round, artisan shape loaves). The apples, craisins (I prefer these to raisins) & pecans, etc, make enough for both loaves. I follow the shaping directions found on the Artisan Bread in 5 site. It’s wonderful!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

