“Baby Elephant Walk”……….

Is what I call this little quilt. It is the first of 2 quilts for this client and it’s so darling! Flannel, chenille, little elephants, polka dots……what’s not to love!!!??? The following photos do NOT do it justice…………….baby elephant quilt 002

I did a circle in circle stitching motif in the center using Coats & Clark Trilobal 40wt. embroidery/quilting thread in an off-white. I, also, use it to SID (stitch in the ditch) to better define the 2 borders. The multi color border is not pieced…..it is printed that way….so cool!!! I didn’t do any stitching in the outside border. It will be fine with just a binding added.

After I did the main quilting, I went back and stitched different colored balloons on strings attached to the trunks of some of the elephants using Coats Rayon 40 wt (pink & bright yellow), Coats Rayon 35wt (purple), Sulky Rayon 30wt (teal) and Sulky Rayon 40wt (green).

baby elephant quilt 003

baby elephant quilt 004

And the backing…………..baby elephant quilt 005   And a final…….baby elephant quilt 001

The quilt just ‘spoke’ to me and the stitching patterns/ideas couldn’t be done any other way!!!! Just sayin’………………….      Added note: regarding the double loop stitching…..the inner loops are 1/2″ to 3/4″ and the outer loops are 1″& 1/2″ to 2″.  The size is certainly not fixed in stone, it’s just what was appropriate for this little quilt.

Til next time………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to “Baby Elephant Walk”……….

  1. Malini says:

    Happy New Year, Doreen! I love the circle in circle quilting. I have been wanting to try this on an entire quilt. Now your quilting inspires me to try it out soon.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is something I tried quite a while back (on a scrap/practice piece) but didn’t really “click” until I got into doing “pebbles” and the ‘circles’ move smoothly for me, now. It has a lot of different possibilities…..like a narrow border w/ a single line of them. Have fun exploring!!!!!!!!!!!Hugs………….

  2. JoAnn says:

    Looks great. I can’t wait to see it. Off to sew all day.

  3. Beth Ann says:

    That is so stinking cute!!! Love the balloons!!!!

  4. too too cute-your client will love it!
    Kathy

  5. This is pure cuteness and sweetness. And to come up with that idea to stitch colorful balloons onto the quilt is absolute creative genius.

    As a side note, an elephant is the mascot for Tufts University, which my son attends. How unique is that?

  6. Jackie says:

    I love the idea of chenille around the boarder, it’s such a cute quilt! Love the elephants and balloons.

  7. catpatches says:

    What a cute quilt, and the quilting is perfect!

  8. LB says:

    It is indeed the happiest quilt!!

  9. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! Just adorable! Wow it looks so soft and the litle elephants are so cute! How you got the idea for balloons? Couldn’t be any cuter! Hugs! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      I will tell you, Teje….While I was pin-basting it I was thinking of how I would stitch it. And the thought came…..CIRCUS!!!! That’s it!!! I couldn’t figure out how “peanuts” would fit in so the next thought was “balloons”!!! Yup…..tied to the trunks!!!! I, also, knew that they would have to be stitched in different colors AND done after the other stitching of……balloons (actually I did a double loop/circle motif). That was kinda the thought process………..

  10. mtetar says:

    Very pretty highlighted boarder which made the quilt much prettier. Blessings, Mtetar

  11. Rhonda says:

    That circle in a circle motif is perfect for this quilt! Must try that one on a full quilt sometime, too.

Leave a Reply

