Progress……..

On the winter Cardinal panel. Borders pieced and applied.

 Cardinal whole cloth 003  The colors in the above photo are a bit on the “rosey” side but it definitely is a burgundy red. Love it!!!! Cardinal whole cloth 004  The second photo is quite true to the actual colors. I’m not sure if I will do another of the narrow green-ish border on the outside or use that for binding. If I do repeat it, I have a deep burgundy for the binding. The 3 borders have a gold metallic quality which adds to the richness (I think!). Lots of room for some quilty flourishes…………….

The Cardinal panel is “Tamarack Grove” by Holly Taylor for Moda. The green narrow border is by Blank Quilting,Inc. The multi colored piece is “Marble Mate” by Moda and the gold flower border is “Holiday Accents” for RJR Fabrics.

It’s approximately 64” square at this point. That’s it for today………………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Progress……..

  1. Oh, how I love cardinals!!! This is gorgeous!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    It is beautiful!!!!!

  3. Karen says:

    love cardinals! they are never not pretty!

  4. mtetar says:

    Very nice of course and the Cardinal is the Focus Point. Blessings, Mtetar

  5. I love the pictures, the color and the placement of the peices!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hey! Thanks so much!!!! I juggled the border colors back and forth in my head several times. I think I like it now (but I’m still going to add another 2″ green outside border!!) then red binding…….just decided this!!!!! Hugs……..

  6. Jackie says:

    Love this…you never cease to amaze me 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      The challenge of this one was many-fold…..starting with the fact the $$$$ Moda panel was printed slightly skewed!!!! Ugh! Then, some of the squares (ones on point) prevented some of the “slicing/dicing” I had thought I would do. The last was…..I refused to run out and buy fabric to do this!!!! My stash overfloweth!!!!!! Your kind words mean much….don’t ever doubt that!!! Hugs (from not so far away!!!)…………

  7. witchylin says:

    I like the idea of the extra green border. It will ‘finish’ it off. A red binding will bring the middle out to the edges. Have you decided what you are going to do for the quilting?

  8. I’m not much of a bird lover, but even I enjoy cardinals. Such a beautiful bird with that distinctive voice.

  9. LB says:

    Cardinals are the state bird of Virginia. Love them AND this!! Beautiful! (I’m gonna try to get to some baking this weekend 🙂 )

    • treadlemusic says:

      Baking is good!!!! Today I need to mix up some more of the Artisan Bread in 5 (see my post on Apple Strudel Bread) dough. I used the last of it last night for pizza crust!!!!! Cardinals are such “regal” birds!!!! Love ’em!!!!!

  10. I love all the rich colors in this quilt 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      These are my most fave colors and my stash has a lot of them in varying shades and prints. It makes for a lot of similar finishes but I really love ’em!!!!! “Rich” is the word I use, also. So glad you stopped by for a visit!!!!!! Hugs…………..

Leave a Reply

