Another finish……..

Of the eatable kind………………

challah 001

I first posted about this technique here. I had moved away from baking with this dough (in favor of using a sourdough starter, etc) but have returned and put my little batch of starter in the frig to ‘chill’ for a while! The challah dough recipe I used for these cinnamon raisin buns is found in the above pictured book. If you go to the ABin5 site,here, you will find the recipe for the brioche mix that will work equally well. The only difference is that the challah has half the number of eggs and a 1/2 cup of butter making it a less rich dough but wonderful none-the-less!!!

The convenience of having the dough mixture in the frig, ready to shape/raise & bake, is a “no brainer” for sure! So, Sunday morning breakfast is ready to serve….just get the coffee brewing!!!!!!

Til next time………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Another finish……..

  1. I love this book. I make the bread all the time. Those look sooooo good. I love it when others have the same book and love it too. 😃👍

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’ve been using these recipes for years (and the ones on their site!!!). It is the best….really. The pizza crust and pitas are really what top the list, right after the Apple Strudel Bread, that is!!!!!! Hugs……………………..

  2. Jackie says:

    A friend of mine has this book and I love the bread she makes. After reading this post I might have to get this book myself, those rolls look amazing…yummy!

    • treadlemusic says:

      They are amazing and I would recommend taking a look at their site. There is a new/updated version just out that has some really nice additions!!! Amazon is where I got mine. Their site has the basic boule recipe on it and I still use this one most of the time. Go for it!!!!!………………….

  3. Debbierose says:

    Looks yummy, my MOTH is the bread maker in the family I might have to get him to try scrolls one day – although not good for the waist line

  4. Ohhhhh, now I am hungry and your bread is so far away from me. What to do?
    Firstly, get out of my bed and get tea/coffeeand see what I can whip up… Surely nothing as good as your yummy bread!
    Ohhhhh….
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      I knew this was going up at a “bad” time but…………if you check out the bread site I linked to in my Apple Strudel Bread post, you will find the boule recipe. No special ingredients are needed!!! It doesn’t even use “bread” flour……just regular all-purpose!!!!!!!!!! Go ahead…………………..Hugs…………..

  5. the woman has been cooking and making us drool!! 🙂

  6. CJ says:

    Oh those look so tasty! Jim’s been asking me to bake cinnamon rolls again… maybe I’ll whip up a batch tonight and send them to work with him in the morning, otherwise, miss piggy here will eat them all 🙂

  7. witchylin says:

    Trying to cut the calories after the holiday season so will just drool at these on the pictures. Once those extra pounds are off who knows how many I will make. Then put all the pounds back on again. LOL

  8. Beth Ann says:

    Yummers…..simply yummers.

  9. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! I wish I had that now and good mug of coffee! Cinnamon rolls are tradition in Finland and if they are like yours, we call it Boston Cake. I can even smell them … need to make soon! Hugs! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      LOL! They are/were really yummy. I may have to do some more tomorrow. It’s so easy when the dough is in the ‘frig and ready to go……..way too easy!!!! A very good cup of coffee is mandatory!!!!!!! Hugs……………………

  10. I’m pretty certain I checked this book out from the library once and made some bread. Time to search for that recipe. Bread and rolls are such a comfort food, especially in winter.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think I recall that you did. The nice thing about their web site is that there is enough info/recipes available to avoid a purchase if one doesn’t do that much baking!!! It does make a great product!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

