Design wall Monday………..

And a new home for some orphan blocks created when I did a little tutorial for my local little quilt group. It’s some dimensional pinwheel blocks that are so easy to modify to whatever size is needed/wanted.

pin-wheel 001 

I need some borders and this top will be done for now. It’s 36”x36” now so I’m off to find some significant yardage in my stash or…………., sigh, visit my LQS. I know, but someone has to help the local economy!!!! (Which I did a bit of last Saturday!!!)

On to the next…………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Design wall Monday………..

  1. Jeanne says:

    I love it! The 3-D pinwheels are so neat! I should make a larger quilt with them – maybe soon! ~Jeanne

    • treadlemusic says:

      I really like the mix of sizes. I had thought (if I had wanted it larger) of adding pinwheels that were not 3-D and made with hst/the traditional kind. It would add tons of interesting variety!!!! Borders were figured out last night and go on today. Stay tuned……………..

  2. JoAnn says:

    I like the two small pinwheels beside the larger one. How are you planning to quilt around the pinwheels. I put the bindings on the last two quilts,yesterday. Hope TV is good this week,so I can get them finished up. I love the quilts!!!!! I am sad to see the elephants go. The red one looked like spring/summer laying on the bed. Can not wait to lay it there for the spring and summer months. More snow tonight, so maybe putting the binding on it will feel like spring is on its way.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Looked at the quilt top last night and figured out the borders. Stitching around the ‘blades’ is something I’ve given a bit of thought to. The larger pin-wheels need the blades tacked at least once……a bit floppy. Glad you like the quilts!!!!!!! And thanks for pulling us all together for the shop hop!!!!!!!

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Oh I like those pinwheels a lot. Very cute!!! I have a feeling you will be going to the quilt shop!

  4. Karen says:

    those are neat I always like the 3 D in quilts

  5. Love your design walls! This pinwheel design will be so appropriate for March. The tiny prints you use are really pretty. This is a fun design. :>)

    • treadlemusic says:

      All compliments of a stash that is totally taking over my sewing area!!!! I’m thankful, and a might surprised, that I had large enough pieces for the borders! The fabric is from “back in the day” of calicos! I’m so glad you enjoy seeing my projects!!!! Please, stop by again……….hugs……….

  6. jennyklyon says:

    Very cute!

  7. Barb N says:

    Ah, ha! Light bulb moment. I just knew there was a reason I keep buying fabric – to support the economy! Thanks for shedding light on my buying habits 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am ALWAYS here for ya!!!!!! Let me know if there’s any further support/reasons you may need…..I’m really quite creative in that area, too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hugs……………….

  8. Lucky little orphans. They now have a great home.

    I love the whimsical design of this quilt with the pinwheels.

    Happy shopping!

  9. Love those pinwheels! Someday I’ll need to learn to make them. Can already envision the quilt too!

  10. ruthiequilts says:

    Lovely!!! It’s all about supporting your local economy… LOL!

  11. This is fantastic!! Love it.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much!!!! It’s always amazing to me how such a project is created/comes together using what’s on hand (ok, so I have tons of “on hand” supplies!!!!!! LOL!). Hugs to you…………………

  12. witchylin says:

    I love the pinwheels. Just have to make some for myself so look forward to seeing your tutorial. They would look great on a quilt that I am ‘thinking out’ right now. I love the colours too. It is always nice to give orphan blocks a permanent home. Via the quilt shop of course! I don’t have a problem with supporting the local economy.:-)

Leave a Reply

