Because you asked……………

 Here are the instructions for the pinwheel quilt block pattern I used here and here……………….

3-D pinwheel 

I worked with 6” squares, instead of 2”& 1/2” sq., for the large pinwheels and 3” sq. for the smaller. You can use any size you wish, but you need to remember that the block will finish 1/2” smaller. If you would want a 6” finished block, you would start with 6”& 1/2” squares. I’m not sure I would make the pinwheels any larger than this, as they get a bit “floppy”. Mine will be tacked down at one point as soon as I’m done with the quilting.

If you have any questions, just let me know. The above directions were gotten at a quilt shop in a little kit but Moda Bake Shop has a quilt with the same idea here.

The above image is from the Moda site and their version.

Happy “stash busting”!!!!!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Because you asked……………

  1. CJ says:

    That is just too darn cute Doreen, I love pinwheels!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do, too! And that’s what caught my attention at the quilt shop! I like the fact that they can easily be made with any size squares…..as long as you have at least 8 (4-light/4-dark) squares the same size.

  2. So lovely. I believe that quilting is like comfort food. good for the soul.

  3. Laura says:

    I see the Moda technique is slightly different than yours. Always learning! Thanks for sharing. I am so happy I found your blog 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes. The biggest/most obvious difference is the Moda pattern uses 2 different fabrics. The method I used is so easy and really fun. I’m thrilled that our paths crossed, also!!!! Hugs……………

  4. witchylin says:

    Thank you for the instructions. My little quilting group will be at my home on Friday and I have decided to make a block with a 3D pinwheel to show them. It will probably be a 6″ finished then it can be added to other 6″ blocks to eventually make up a whole top.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Isn’t it, though????? Dimensional piecings aren’t always appealing to me but this one……..I couldn’t resist!!!!!! And pinwheels…….what’s not to love, hmmmmmmmmmm??? Hugs…….

Leave a Reply

