Completed…………..

The floral prints required a floral stitching. I first posted about this quilt here and now it’s in the first stage of crinkly goodness (the rest will be achieved when washed and dried…….lovely!!!!)!

Challah meat-cheese bread 010

Once again, DH (a.k.a. “Awesome Quilt Holder”) was ready and, well not exactly, waiting!! The quilt is 63”x 90”. I don’t know the names of the top fabrics but the backing is from Connecting Threads. Perfect.Challah meat-cheese bread 005  Challah meat-cheese bread 006

In the larger white blocks I did a FMQ “chrysanthemum” type flower and in the slightly smaller ones I did a 3-leaf grouping. It’s an all-over design stitched in the center portion. I SID (stitch in the ditch) to define the narrow border and then did a slightly different pattern in the 9” floral outer border. I “auditioned” the idea on my white board before starting.

Challah meat-cheese bread 003

The slight dilemma I had is that the wide border is a floral that would not show the stitching but was in need of something with the same character/feel as the center.  Challah meat-cheese bread 007

Challah meat-cheese bread 008

The above 2 photos of the back (I really need to get better at picking off the stray threads!!!!) give you a pretty good idea of how the motif translated to the fabric from the white board. The stitching doesn’t show from the front (on the floral) but will have awesome texture once washed.

I used Isacord poly 40 wt thread (“violet”) on top and King Tut cotton 40 wt (variegated blue, #904) in the bobbin (perfect match for the backing).

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Completed…………..

  1. CJ says:

    Just lovely Doreen, you are a natural!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Maybe partly….but I am a voracious learner and I have learned so much from YOU!!!!!! When I look around my little sewing area, there is so much that is attributable to your wonderful expertise!!! (I think my Juki purchase has been the single most amazing addition and has resulted in many others purchasing same!!!!!!!) This obsession pairs well with DH’s wine making/woodworking and my baking…don’t you think????? LOL! Hugs……………….

  2. Michele says:

    Very pretty. The colors are very calming.

    • treadlemusic says:

      This quilt is a very special anniversary gift for friends(?) of the client. I’m sure it will be well loved. So glad you could stop by!!!! Have a great day…………….

  3. Can you explain to me how you get the design onto the fabric to stitch? All of you quilters out there can skip right over this. But I don’t quilt, thus I don’t know. I am always impressed by your designs, but just don’t “get” how you actually can stitch the design you want. Do you trace it onto the fabric or what?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Maybe some do (and I did do some of that with Beth Ann’s red/white quilt) but I just do a bit of “warm-up”/practice stitching (to check tension, etc) after, maybe, a quick white-board sketch and then I “go to it” on the quilt…….FMQ (free motion quilting….a.k.a. “thread sketching”??). No marking is used most of the time.

  4. Only if I could quilt like this *sighs* ! way to go 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Even just 15 min. a day “playing” (doing FMQ) at the machine really makes a big difference! I really didn’t believe this til after I had been at it for about a year steady. We live in an age of “instant” everything, but this isn’t a skill that comes that way!!!!!!! You can do it!!!!!!! Start simple……..and you’re on your way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hugs..

  5. LB says:

    The stitching is amazing, but I really like the blue on white colors. Lovely!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The colors are so fresh and clean and the floral touch in the border adds a nice softness/romance to the finish. Thanks so much for stopping by and your kind words. Hugs…………..

  6. witchylin says:

    So the quilting doesn’t show on the front but it does on the back and it works well. Sometimes texture is more important than appearance. 😉

    • treadlemusic says:

      There were many thoughts on what to do in that floral border but decided to do something that would be similar to the center (and could be seen, if one looked closely or seen on the back) and would give the texture that the center is going to have once it’s washed/dried. Won’t know until that last process is done at some point by the recipient!

Leave a Reply

