It is finished……………..

The “quilt” begun here is now completed. It is more of a lap robe, all cozy and comforting. I didn’t use batting in the construction as I think it will be more of a light weight cover-up rather than something needed for major warmth. It’s super drape-y like a piece of fleece but with the added stability of the cotton piecing. It was not a project that I would recommend for a beginner quilter as the backing was totally “squirrelly”. But, let’s move on to the photos. The quilting shows up better from the back, so…………………………………Lynn 003

Lynn 008

And the top layer……………………………….Lynn 005

Lynn 009

And, some of the “ingredients”…………………….Lynn 011

Lynn 012

Lynn 013

Lynn 010  Sorry for the out of focus attempt!!!! The Sulky thread was a perfect quilting ‘thread’, adding the black ‘glisten’ that was needed for the “biker chic” who will receive this. And now my faithful quilt holder with the finish……..

Lynn 015

The borders and sashings were fabric from Hancock Fabrics and Crafts. Although the price was decent  ($12.99 per yd. and 58” wide in the sportswear fabric section), it left white spots where the needle pierced the dye layer, exposing the white threads beneath. The pattern seemed to be a printed layer on top of the weave, with no dye penetration. Granted, it is a sportswear cotton but I question how it would hold up in a garment.

The final dimensions are a nice 55”x 60”.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to It is finished……………..

  1. mtetar says:

    Beautifully made and mixed. Great job blending. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  2. How lovely! I’m sure your friend will love it. Hope she’s ok.

  3. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here:
    Yes, I am praying fervently for the miracle.
    This is such a pretty quilt. What an honorable and loving friend you are, my dear, to create this and
    have it all ready to go.
    I will keep your friend in my prayers. I hope she gets the best care and the smartest doctors!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Your words remind me of a saying another dear friend of mine told me many years ago…….A sorrow shared, is a sorrow halved and a joy shared is a joy doubled!!!!! Thank you, dearheart.

  4. Hema says:

    This looks fabulous. I love the minky or cuddle fabrics. They are so soft and comfy. When quilting with Minky as my back, I usually take my super slider off and it seems to help a little.

    Lovely quilt!

  5. Am sure your friend in need of comforting will love it!

  6. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. You made beautiful quilt and with Special Fabrics and I’m sure she will love it. Hugs! x Teje

  7. witchylin says:

    This is just the sort of quilt to cuddle into when you are not enjoying the moment, like being held by a special friend. It will let her know how much she is thought of and how many people she doesn’t even know are thinking of her. The top is guaranteed to raise a smile, such a happy quilt. There is a candle burning here in the UK for her. Blessings to you both.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I will certainly pass along your sweet words. They will mean so much to her!!!! We are truly praying for a miracle. Yes, I think the quilt will be a cuddly hug, too!! Blessings……………

  8. It’s lovely Doreen, and I know it will bring her much comfort.

  9. Michele says:

    It turned out really fabulous and I know that it will help comfort her in the days and weeks ahead.

  10. catpatches says:

    Oh my…what a fun quilt! Love the quilting, and the fabrics are so yummy!

  11. Jackie says:

    I love every bit of it Doreen, it looks so soft and cozy!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is softer than I expected it would be (although the gal at the quilt shop in Rochester -“Quilting Cupboard”- had made a baby floor quilt w/o batting, using Cuddle Fleece as a backing and had it on display, which I saw and touched). I would make another, even though it was just a bit unstable to quilt.

  12. Fabulous quilt, i love the reds in there! As i said before: joyful and loving!
    Esther

  13. Hearts and crosses and love…

    Your friend will love this and it is certain to comfort and uplift her. Well done, Doreen. Well done.

  14. LB says:

    It is finished … and it is beautiful!

  15. Thread crazy says:

    I know it will definitely bring a smile to your friend’s face, as it did mine. She’ll cherish it and remember her good friend that made it for her and I think it’ll give her that extra “umph” on days when she’s alittle tired. You did well my friend.

Leave a Reply

