“Stained Glass” quilt……………

Piecing is completed and the top is ready to be “sandwiched” (previous posts here, here and here),

Stained Glass-with border

  along with 2 other tops of mine and 1 client’s quilt top. Busy quilting days ahead!!! Yay!!!! The dimensions are 49”x 56”…….a very nice size, I think.  I added a bit to the original pattern making it 6 blocks across and 7 rows. I have no specific “need”/direction for this quilt; it was done as a “stash-buster” challenge to myself. I cut way more strips/small squares than I needed so you will be seeing more of this fabric in the future. It was the “lift” that was needed while in the midst of this current weather pattern!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to “Stained Glass” quilt……………

  1. Michele says:

    I love all the bright colors and using up stash is never a bad thing.

  2. daniellajoe says:

    I like the way it has like a 3D effect nice!!!

  3. Wow you are quick. I’ve wanted to know… what machine do you piece on? just curious as to how many you use LOL 🙂 enjoy your day.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I piece (and do some FMQ) on a Juki TL2010Q. It is an industrial styled machine for home use (industrial machines usually have an external motor mounted under the table, this model has it inside the machine as most do for home use). It is a straight stitch only machine…….if you “Google” search or put “Juki” in my blog’s search field there should be photos.

  4. Beth Ann says:

    It is beautiful! I absolutely love it. What you can come up with with what is in your stash is amazing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      This one amazed me, too!!!! LOL! I am definitely NOT a batik person, but over the years (many) I came across many $1 fat quarters that I “couldn’t pass by”!!!! They got scattered in my stash (I organize by color) so I didn’t realize how extensive the total was!!!! I still have much left. May have to add more to this quilt or get busy with another, since I did massive over cutting for this one. They really are beautiful!!!!!

  5. Gloria D. says:

    It does look like stained glass! I really like the bright border color, too! Will we see you in Winona on March 1?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Absolutely!!! I am surprised that this is a ‘go’ for this year and I’m glad!!!!!!!
      I’m glad you have a ‘puter again. I added another muslin border to do some stitching in and then it will be a scrappy binding.

  6. debby says:

    Looks fabulous!!! I went back to the birth of this idea and loved all the steps you showed. Quite the stash buster. Looks like one I’d like to do in the future. Thank you. Love your blog.
    debby

  7. Perfect to battle this “current weather pattern.” Love the colors. Truly.

    • treadlemusic says:

      And I still have pieces left!!!! BUT they aren’t going to be put away. I decided I will forge ahead with projects til nothing remains!!!! An interesting journey lies ahead!!!! LOL!

      • witchylin says:

        Oh! Yeah!. Till NOTHING remains. Some how I don’t think that will happen. If you are anything like me I see a fabric I just HAVE to buy and then there is a backing fabric to go with it and boarders etc………. This is certainly a great use for the batiks. It is so eye catching and you keep seeing different colours when you look at it. Happy feathering.

  8. CJ says:

    Absolutely wonderful Doreen, I love scrappy quilts!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ya know, it’s funny……I love ’em, too, but have never done one!!!!!! It’s long overdue and I’ve loved this one!!!! Hope you are able to get out to your land these days. Looking forward to your baking results…………………………

  9. vibrant, eye-candy colors! Beautiful! How do you quilt it though? – stitch in the ditch? I love piecing patterns like this – they’re geometrically pleasing, but oh so hard to quilt!

  10. This turned out lovely. I just love this size of quilt.

  11. Thread crazy says:

    A stash buster it is! Don’t you just love batiks and the depth of color in the batiks! With all your extra scraps, you could have some fun inventing a new pattern!

  12. Fiona says:

    Hiya… please can you send me your email in private message … in the comments I get from you on my blog they always come no reply .. (for some reason a few blogs do this to me)…
    Hugz

  13. Debbierose says:

    “Less is More” the simplicity of the block makes it simply stunning – and choice of colours brillant. Great work

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much……..but I don’t know if I can take credit for the stash “happening” that resulted in this combo. I don’t even remember purchasing most of these pieces (over the last 30 yrs)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL! Scary!!!!! Hugs…….

  14. This is so pretty… I just love the wash of colors!~

    • treadlemusic says:

      That is the surprise for me, too!!! I have always loved the “color-wash” style of quilt piecing but I absolutely knew I do NOT have the patience for it. This quilt satisfies the dream of doing that for me!!!! Yay!!!! Success is so sweet! I am so looking forward to quilting this, but first a graduation quilt must be completed……then dessert!!! LOL! Hugs………

  15. Lynda says:

    Easy AND pretty! I like this!

  16. ivoryspring says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished quilt, and how you are going to add personality to the quilt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

