It’s February!!!!……………..

And everyone knows what that means!!!! “Valentine’s Day” is fast approaching. I made a couple of little quilted hangings to gift to a friend who resides in our local long term care facility. I had taken her this to hang on her door to ‘ring’ in 2014 so I thought an update was needed.

 Leah's Valentine, snow, Stained Glass 015  The heart (on the left)  was done very simply. I had purchased the fabric a while back (1/4 yd), cut a heart shape and fused it to a larger black heart. Putting batting on the back, I stitched swirls on the printed portion and feathers on the black ‘border’.  I, then, layered it with a larger piece of black fabric (right sides together) and stitched around the heart shape (leaving an opening for turning).Leah's Valentine, snow, Stained Glass 001 I cut away the excess fabric using a pinking shears. This eliminates the need to clip the curves in order to get a smooth edge.Leah's Valentine, snow, Stained Glass 003 Leah's Valentine, snow, Stained Glass 002 This little “trick” is one I used a lot when I had my (bridal/formal wear) sewing business. It, also, alleviates the fraying problem. Cool, huh??? I love short cuts that work!!!

The other little project is a small hanging that will go above my friend’s bed. Leah's Valentine, snow, Stained Glass 005 Taking a piece of the black fabric, I “fussy cut”, again using the pinking shears, some hearts from the fabric and fused them to the backing. This time, I “sandwiched” it, quilted and bound it. Here are some close-ups of both. Leah's Valentine, snow, Stained Glass 021Leah's Valentine, snow, Stained Glass 024

Leah's Valentine, snow, Stained Glass 028

You may ‘click’ on any photo to enlarge it. Maybe this will be an idea for that special gift that is needed in your life!

Til next time……………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to It’s February!!!!……………..

  1. I love them, and you make them seem so simple… well, fancy stitching I can’t do yet aside. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I really think the heart hanging would have been equally stunning without the stitching on the black. It/they really are simple, fused projects and can be done at whatever level of expertise you are at!!! You are one talented lady and would be able to do this…..for sure!!!!!! Hugs………

  2. Oh my . . . these just make my heart sing! ❤

  3. mtetar says:

    Beautiful display and I would love this. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  4. Beth Ann says:

    Adorable! And just the perfect thing to cheer up your friend’s room! You are so thoughtful!

    • treadlemusic says:

      A self-challenge for this year…..make appropriate door decorations for her room each month!!! And, maybe, a little something for above her bed. Nursing homes can be a bit dreary sometimes (ours is absolutely super, however. There’s probably already a heart on her door….they’re so good about such!!!!).

  5. Pat says:

    What a nice idea and so pretty, I’m sure it will be loved.

  6. Karen Miller says:

    Just precious Doreen and thanks so much for the “pinking” tip — oh yeah! Love these and you did a great job on those little swirls… gotta try that ; ) Hugs, Karen

    • treadlemusic says:

      The swirls have finally gotten to where I can relax while doing them. I think I had some type of mental block about how to form them and change direction. Doodled in my sketch book and did a ton of practice sandwiches. My brain has finally “got it”…..I hope!!! LOL!

  7. jennyklyon says:

    These are fabulous! And the tip on using the pinking shears-worth the price of admission!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Isn’t that the most brilliant????!!!!!!!!??? I wish I had thought of it but, at least, I can pass it along!!!! It’s one of the best for garments, crafts……anytime a curve needs such treatment!!! Really a ‘duh’ moment!!! LOL!

  8. Jackie says:

    How fun for your friend to have some new hangings, they are adorable! I love the pink and brown together 🙂

  9. Fiona says:

    those are great and dimensional…. I do love your twirly quilting… goes perfectly with the res to f the project…
    Hugz

    • treadlemusic says:

      I love the puffiness that was created. I don’t do much applique but the texture/dimension created when it’s quilted may get me back to it!!!!! Thanks for stopping by and for the e-mail note!!!!!!!!!!Hugs……………

  10. These are so cute. Perfect for Valentine’s Day and a perfect way to share the love. Your friend is going to LOVE these.

    Guess what? JoAnn Fabric is opening tomorrow in Faribault. It was here for a long time, but closed in 2006 when Wally World moved in. Exciting, huh?

    • treadlemusic says:

      That is great!!! There used to be one in LaX but it closed years ago. The closest to me is Rochester…… on-line shopping works well!!! Now you’ll be able to go the sewing direction!!!!!!!!!

  11. This is darling. Beautiful job!

  12. witchylin says:

    They are lovely Doreen. Your friend will be so happy to have them cheer up her room. What a thoughtful person you are and a clever one too. 😉

  13. Michele says:

    They both are very cute and I’m sure she will treasure them.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Good morning!!!! I took them to her yesterday and she was thrilled. Her birthday is this week and these were the perfect gift! Glad to stopped by!!!! Hugs……………………..

  14. LB says:

    I very much love the bright colors against the black. Very pretty but not sickly sweet for VDay! Does that make sense?

  15. Thread crazy says:

    You did a beautiful job and I know your friend was touched by your kindness. Yes, nursing homes can be drab,; some individuals never have visitors. I always like to do something extra for the gentleman that was in with my Dad as he had no one. Again, sweet idea and know you brought a big smile to her face.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I did and when I went to take home the previous decorations (the “Happy New Year” door quilt and the Christmas stocking) she had a ‘fit’. Finally relented and let me take the New Year’s banner but NOT the stocking!!!! So funny!!! Next month it’s shamrocks. We’ll see what happens then!!!!!!!

  16. Christa says:

    Ooh! These are just scrumptious!!

  17. ivoryspring says:

    Very nice, Doreen! You are amazing.

Leave a Reply

