Another ingredient………………

In the project I’ve posted about the last 2 days (here). While at Hancock Fabrics, I found this piece of absolutely gorgeous fabric……perfect for the backing!!!!! The quality/hand of the textile is superb. It is definitely “quilt shop” worthy. You will pardon my surprise, please. Generally, my purchases have been of acceptable quality (but constant vigilance is needed, as ‘flimsy’ best describes a significant percentage of their inventory) but this piece falls in to the ‘exceptional’ category. It was on the shelving labeled “Global Fabrics”. Interesting tag. This, and the other bolts, reminded me of some of the Ausie fabrics that are available these days.

So, you are saying….”Show me the fabric already!!!!!!”…..OK……………..

Aaron's quilt 001

Aaron's quilt 002

I am in love with this fabric!!!!! It has a somewhat ‘polished’ finish with a hint of gold metallic (which is not really there!). It will be the perfect backing for this quilt. Edit note: for more info on this type of fabric, see this link: http://museorigins.net/the-origin-of-ankara/

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Another ingredient………………

  1. CJ says:

    Oh that is pretty, and will be the perfect backing fabric for your quilt!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I wish you could see it “in person”!!! The polished finish reminds me of the ‘Chintz’ fabrics of years ago. If all goes well, the quilt should almost be reversible! I’m still a bit amazed that this piece/fabric line, with this quality, could be found at Hancock Fabrics/Crafts (can you tell it’s really not my fave place to fabric shop????).

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Fabulous—it is beautiful! Perfect find for your lovely quilt.

  3. It is beautiful. I love how it came along at just the right time. 🙂 Enjoy your day.

    • treadlemusic says:

      And you, also!!! I do hope that your recent weather hasn’t been a negative for you as it has for so many others!!!!! Hugs……………..

      • The advantage of living non-traditional life. I listen to the newscaster who tells me to stay home and use my time inside. Luckily I get to do that any day LOL I did have to go out twice this week, and somehow I managed to make it before and after wet roads. I still have power – that helps. Seems quite a few in the area don’t though. how about yours? are you just used to it, or has it been okay for you?

        • treadlemusic says:

          The cold just keep coming. DH is the one who keeps the outside wood fired boiler filled. I just stay in and quilt, or whatever. It is getting a bit wearisome, though. It’s -2F with a ferocious windchill. Ugh!!!!! The sun is shining so “passive solar” is working (sun coming through the windows really helps!!!!!).

  4. Sartenada says:

    It is indeed very beautiful. The word Ankara is the capital of Turkey. Does it mean anything in this case?

  5. Anita says:

    How fun to have everything come together! I love all those fabrics and can’t wait to see the final product.

  6. You do know your fabrics and fabric stores, don’t you? The selection of incredible prints you find continues to impress me. I bet you were giddy when you found this.

    • treadlemusic says:

      “Giddy” is exactly the word for it! DH was waiting in the car while I made the purchase and I fairly burst into the car with the ‘news’ of the fantastic find/purchase!!!! Startled quite a bit!!!!!! LOL!

  7. Thread crazy says:

    Only a quilter/sewer would .know about Hancock’s and their fabrics! But what a find you got. I just love it; the action and texture it brings for a backing – it is awesome. Good find I must say. Many years ago, I only bought at Hancock until I discovered the quilt shops. I do remember one time our shop was out of a particular fabric, so checked at Hancock. They did have a piece very similar, but thread count was very low as you could see through it and I was afraid if I washed it, it would fall apart! Stay warm my friend!

  8. Karen says:

    nice fabric, the closest Hancocks is about 45 miles from me so I rarely visit it as I just go with the Moda fabric line most of the time on line as i know it is the same as in the quilt shops – I think it best when ordering on line to stick to the name brands of fabric like Moda, Robert Kaufman, Free Spirit ect – at well known on line shops – you know you are getting quilt shop fabric. I was very disappointed with the wide back that I got from Connecting Threads for the quilt that I just finished – I do not order fabric much from them as it does seem to be a lower quality.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Interesting that you say that about CT. My last order was of far less quality than the previous (same fabric line and color……they must have changed mill suppliers for that fabric). I try to buy local……a little quilt shop, about 25 miles from me, in a very small town. She keeps the prices very little above her cost. The wide backing selection is limited but seems to cover all needs. It is brand names and $9.95/yd!!!!

  9. Pat says:

    That is an African print….lovely, too. If you google Ankara Africa fabric, it will come up. On Ebay just search for Ankara in the Crafts category.

  10. Michele says:

    Wow. That print is really cool. We don’t have Hancocks here so I’m not familiar with what they do and don’t have. I guess they are similar to Joanns.

    • treadlemusic says:

      That’s exactly correct. In both venues, one must be a savvy shopper ‘cuz the variance in the fabric quality is wide and not dictated by the dollars charged (unfortunately!!!)!!!!!

  11. KrisR says:

    likey, likey! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hello!!!!! How’s life ‘down under’?? Our bone chilling cold shows no sign of abating!!!!! So, a-quilting I must go…hehe! So glad you popped in!!!! Hugs…………….

  12. Jackie says:

    Now that is gonna looks perfect! Beautiful fabric!

  13. What an unusually fabric! Hmm, I think I like it……

  14. mtetar says:

    Perfect for either back or front I say and knowing your work of talent the back is going to look more like the front. It is truly a lovely fabric colors as well. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  15. Debbierose says:

    A first glance I thought it was an Australian Aboriginal art work – looks fantastic – wonderful colours

  16. witchylin says:

    Love the fabric. It certainly does have an Aussie look to it. I have used fabrics on those lines to make covers for my hubbies didgeridoos. They need protecting when he carries them around with him. You are right some fabrics are so flimsy they wouldn’t even work on a dress let alone a quilt.

  17. i always wash any thing i get from them because of running

Leave a Reply

