Ready for a sandwich??????

No, this isn’t a food post! A quilt sandwich!!! The ingredients are prepped……………..

The backing is pieced and the binding is made and ready..Aaron's quilt 005

The top has its borders and is pressed…………………….Aaron's quilt 003

Sorry for the angle on that photo….is this one better?Aaron's quilt 004

The dimensions are 78”x 88”, which are a tad bigger than my “design wall”, making it a bit difficult to get a good ‘shot’! Now, on to putting all the parts together and the quilting!!!!!! Yay!!! I pressed all the seams open (ugh! Very time consuming!!) but the top lays perfectly flat and will stitch beautifully without dealing with all the piled up seam allowances. I’m really thinkin’ feathers……everywhere!!! Maybe……………………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Ready for a sandwich??????

  1. Thread crazy says:

    Whomever received this quilt will get a beautiful colored quilt. Wow the colors n textures just pop and I love the outside border fabric. That made it pop!!! Simply love it and feathers what a splendid idea!!

  2. Michele says:

    Great colors. It will be wonderful to see it all quilted up.

  3. Beth Ann says:

    It is beautiful and I can almost see the feathers already!

  4. My favourite kind of sandwich! Looks great! Can’t wait to see the quilting!

  5. Yes, feathers would fit perfectly with the prints.

    So…about that design wall. Could you explain what exactly this is or did I miss that post?

    • treadlemusic says:

      A design wall is a very large area/wall that is like a giant “flannel-graph” (remember VBS and SS Bible lessons??). Fabric, blocks, quilt pieces and parts ‘stick to the flannel and can be “auditioned” for final placement before sewing. The most obvious advantage is sight-line…..a vertical vantage point to observe color balance, etc. Mine is a piece of vinyl with a flannel backing (tablecloth ‘material’) suspended from hooks in the ceiling. I hope this helps…..

  6. It’s beautiful. I have actually done two with that block design. it’s an easy and fun thing to do. Enjoy your sandwiching 🙂

  7. Lynda says:

    Looking at your beautiful quilt top makes me thinking. With the right fabrics I could make a smaller version to look like a woven table mat. (think baskets) And I have the fabric left over from another project. 😉 Thank you for the inspiration!

    OK, I’m off to the studio!

  8. Wow Doreen! It is already so sophisticated! Feathers will make it sublime!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      I did some samples…….DH thought they would be too formal/sophisticated and maybe some type of leaf/vine would work better. The metallic thread did not work…..stood out too much. We’ll see……………..

  9. You are one busy, talented lady!

  10. Debbierose says:

    love it, just like the last one I did, amazing to see it in golden tones

    • treadlemusic says:

      I know I will be doing this pattern again. I have some Asian prints and I would like to do it with black as the short “lattice” strips. But first…………………….

  11. witchylin says:

    Feathers will be good but I would like to see the vine design. Sorry.

  12. ivoryspring says:

    Love that quilt top!!!

Leave a Reply

