And with every sandwich…………..

Aaron's quilt 004

There must be some “sides”…….yes?? I give you a couple of pillow cases to add to the ensemble……………Aaron's quilt 001  Did I mention that GS is very much into woodworking??? These fabric finds pretty much “nail” it!!!! Sorry!!! Hehe…….. Next, I think there is some glisten needed…………..Aaron's quilt 005Aaron's quilt 007  I couldn’t decide which photo shows the thread best, so I give you both shots. It’s Superior Metallics variegated gold #025 (40wt). It is a gorgeous thread to work with…..fine enough so there’s no thread build-up when doing such motifs as feathers yet has a shine that is delicately ‘there’, not overwhelming the total look of the piecing. As of this moment, I’m leaning toward some type of feather stitching (surprised???? Nah……). Now….on to the fun…………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to And with every sandwich…………..

  1. jennyklyon says:

    I really like how this is shaping up. Feathers in metallic?? Yummm!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    The metallic thread is really pretty –is it more difficult to work with that type of thread ? I always had issues cross stitching with metallic thread—it would ravel and separate so I wonder if the same is true for quilting threads…..

  3. kathyinozarks says:

    your feathers sound like they will be gorgeous-have fun!

  4. Thread crazy says:

    Threads from years ago, especially metallic, were different than they have now for quilters…or at least that’s what I’ve been told! I want to see the feathers! I need some extra direction sometime Doreen on doing feathers!! HA.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think, after a bit of auditioning, the vote has resulted in “scrapping” the metallic in favor of a shiny poly in a burnished gold and a motif that is less formal. Took a day away from the machine today. Stay tuned. I have made a special note on that last part……………Hugs…………

  5. LB says:

    That bricky color with the leaf pattern is gorgeous!

  6. mandymunroe says:

    I’m surprised to see you use polyester thread. I’ve been taught (and teach) cotton thread with cotton fabric. Sounds like you’ve tried a lot and have your favourites, what’s your take?

    • treadlemusic says:

      The thought years ago was that the polyester thread would cut through the cotton fiber strands. Today’s fabrics are not that way. It doesn’t really affect today’s textiles, so use whatever your machine likes, or has the “look” you desire. I love the polys……very low/no lint is the biggest factor for bobbin use. I have begun using it exclusively for the bobbins in my Sweet Sixteen and use whatever I like on the top (mostly poly and metallics). This topic has come up a lot lately. Probably cuz so many have gone back to some type of sewing. Yay!!!!! I hope this answers your thoughts. Hugs………………

Leave a Reply

