A rebellion……………….

A quilt rebellion, that is. I always say that, when it comes to choosing a quilting motif, just “listen” to the quilt. Well, while auditioning those feathers I was going to do, the ‘noise’ was a bit much!!!!!!Aaron's quilt 002Aaron's quilt 001  Yup, way too much bling!!!!!!

I’m not sure which didn’t fit more…..the formal feathers or the (too) bright metallic thread. So, “Take 2”! I pulled a second thread choice…..not metallic but nicely shiny. Aaron's quilt 005

I’ve really had great experience with this thread. It’s 40wt poly in color #2276. The photo is pretty accurate for color. And the “new” motif choice: a vine and leaf stitching. Aaron's quilt 009  This is definitely a better fit for the “woodsy” theme of this quilt with a more “earthy” feel.Aaron's quilt 006  This trial (above) proved to be the answer and all is quiet in the sewing room!!!!!! Let the stitching begin…………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A rebellion……………….

  1. love it . The little bit of shine looks perfect.
    Hope you are staying warm and cozy

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh Annie!!!! How I miss seeing you (and how is DH????)! We’ll be coming your direction again in the Spring!!!! -20 to -30 on the thermometer tonight!!!!! Ugh!!!!!!! We are staying warm and are very thankful but we’re tired of it (especially DH who has to keep feeding the stove!!!!). Hugs…….

  2. Gloria says:

    Good choices, says she who is not a quilter. The leaf and vine are perfect!

  3. Karen says:

    I think the second choice looks great!!

  4. YES, SO MUCH BETTER!!! You and I know we love feathers, but sometimes we need to go for something else. This is just perfect!
    Hugs,
    Esther

  5. Fiona says:

    I love the way you play with your thread and quilting… great idea with pieces of the actual fabric you have used…
    Hugz

    • treadlemusic says:

      Sometimes it’s really difficult to see exactly how the thread will show off so I’ve started putting scraps of the fabric on the practice sandwich to get an idea. It has really helped. What looks good in my mind’s eye doesn’t always play out well in real life!!!!! Hugs……………..

  6. witchylin says:

    I said in a previous post vines and leaves would be my choice, so of course I love it. The thread is just perfect too. 🙂

  7. I read that head and thought, “Doreen rebelling? No, can’t be.” Whew.

    I really really love this leaves and vine design. A lot.

  8. LB says:

    You are such a good listener 🙂

  9. Glad you listened – the second pattern is much better for this quilt (much as I love feathers!!)

  10. Thread crazy says:

    As much as I love feathers, you are so right. I just love the vine and the leaves and yes it adds to the woodsy feeling.

Leave a Reply

