Preserving the past………..

In a way that is quite practical……..why, in a quilt of course. I inherited many of my grandma’s linen’s, doilies, embroideries, tablecloths, etc, etc. Have you been in that position?? Not being able to say no, when the alternative is sending them off to total strangers, is what leads to my closet being filled to overflowing. Among them was a very ‘daily’ tablecloth that, for the most part, had protein stains and small holes but had bouquets of carnations printed on it. I put together a quilt top and fussy-cut the flowers to applique them on the top. This was in 2010 and the completed quilt was gifted to our DIL that Christmas. Here’s some old photos………..143214311433

The colors are not at all accurate but the idea is there. I had enough of the black/white charm squares , plus the light green sashing and Stonehenge border fabrics left to make myself one like it. I used half of the flowers on this one.

Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago when I got busy and pieced another top and fused the rest of the flowers. This top will be much larger…..approx. 81”x88”. The previous one was around 55”x65”. I added a very wide pink outer border to get the larger size as this will be for our double sized bed. Although it has the appearance of a Spring/Summer bed covering, it will be our winter quilt. I am using a wool batt in this.

So tomorrow, as our latest blizzard races towards us, I will be starting to quilt this:Gram's 001

Gram's 002   The thread is Sulky rayon and is perfect!!!! The fabric colors in these photos are pretty close to spot on!Gram's 003

I used paper-backed fusible web and “thread sketched” the appliques to secure them on the top. I’m not one to do an edge stitch to secure the pieces. Most of the fabrics are from the Moda “Half Moon” charm pack. Updates soon………………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Preserving the past………..

  1. Karen Miller says:

    WOW — this is just beautiful Doreen — I can’t wait to see what you do with your quilting!!

  2. Peggy says:

    Beautiful quilt. Can you use that thread in the bobbin of your sweet 16? I love that thread but my 16 won’t tolerate it in her bobbin, just breaks and breaks.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I generally use such threads only on the top (partially a cost factor and partially ‘cuz I don’t do totally reversible quilts where the thread needs to have shininess, etc). I mostly use Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly (cones). It’s super easy to get wonderful tension and that thread “plays” so well with all the others I use. A #16 needle is the only size I use. I hope this answers your questions. Feel free to contact me if more “???” develop. I have absolutely NO problem with thread breakage when I quilt with any thread. SS=awesome!!!!! Hugs…………

  3. ivoryspring says:

    Very nice! Happy Quilting, and stay warm.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Quilting soon….after breakfast. Woke up to 35F (yay!) and the weather to our south thus far (double ‘yay’!). We’re ready for this one……..DH got gas for all the snow moving equipment yesterday (and we have much!!!!!).

  4. Christa says:

    What wonderful quilts!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Starting with the use of such pieces gives rise to so many possibilities!!!!!!! And I have so many!!! (And so many I have picked up at the Salvation Army and used as whole cloth donation quilts).

  5. catpatches says:

    Very pretty. I have a whole cedar chest full of that stuff. I’m going to make something with it later this year.

  6. That is a great idea to showcase pretty but damaged/stained vintage fabrics!
    Hugs,
    Esther

  7. witchylin says:

    It is so good to take those old family fabrics that are no longer suitable for their original use and give them a new life. I wish I had kept some of my families old tablecloths and sheets. However moving from one country to another it wasn’t practical. 😦
    This will be a good winter quilt, to remind you of the spring to come while snuggling under it with snow outside. I’m sure you will find the perfect quilting for it……..feathers? 😉

  8. Lynda says:

    Doreen, thank you! I have many items from my MIL that I don’t know what to do with. Now I know! 😀

  9. What a great idea on a way to repurpose an old and otherwise unusable tablecloth. I collect vintage tablecloths and use them whenever we have guests and for other special occasions and holidays. For my kids’ graduations, I draped them across banquet and card tables to create a garden mood setting in my yard. Beautiful. Pots of flowers on each table.

    I love that you saved a precious family linen in this way.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I so fell in love with the wedding/reception photos you posted. That banquet venue (inside and out) was gorgeous thanks to your creativity!!!!

      • Thank you, Doreen. It was a joint effort b/n families and the bride and groom. I was honored the newlyweds chose to use one of my vintage tablecloths on their sweetheart table.

        And, yes, The Loft in the Bachrach building in downtown Faribault is absolutely gorgeous with its exposed brick walls, bank of windows and wood floors. It was perfect.

  10. Oh wow! That is gorgeous and what a great idea – right up my alley. I love the stitching you did on the applique. I’ve used some fusible pieces on small things, but was under the quilt police instructions of edge stitching and I didn’t want to do that – another new inspiration from you. Have I told you I think your wonderful?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so glad you found me. a return Hug!

  11. Thread crazy says:

    I do so remember you doing the blocks n sashing rarlier. Love the idea of using an old tablecloth. I have all of the same type linens from my Mom that I too did not want to discard or part with. This eay we can keep our memories alive!

  12. ruthiequilts says:

    This is awesome D!!! I love it! What a great way to recycle something with sentimental value… Thanks for sharing my friend!

Leave a Reply

