Friday (close to) finish…………..

Another little bit of the “piano key” stitching on the outer border needs to be done and this will be a good finish. The only thing I marked (in water-erasable pen) are the swags, all else is either ruler work or FMQ feathers (no marking needed).  A couple of quick, almost done, photos………….Carnation quilt 004

Carnation quilt 005

This has been a very rewarding project for me. A way of preserving a sweet memory of a very special person in my growing up years. The binding has yet to be purchased and label needs some thought. Soon……………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Friday (close to) finish…………..

  1. WOW! Your quilting looks just awesome!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That outer border has taken more time than the whole rest of the quilt…..but I knew it would, with the ideas that were swirling in my head!!!! A little more of the “piano key” stitching and then to square it. Glad to have you stop by!!! Hugs…………..

  2. Lynda says:

    Can’t wait for the big reveal. Your work is always delightful!

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Beautiful!!!! As always!

  4. Karen says:

    Doreen your design and quilting are fantastic! Love, love, love! Thanks for the inspiration…hugs, Karen

    • treadlemusic says:

      I so appreciate the encouraging words. This on-line journal helps me to stay focused and, actually, inspires me, also!! It organizes my thoughts so I can refer to them in the future. My sketchbook helps with that, too. But, pulling together an idea….that comes from all my super creative friends in blogland!!!!!! A big “Thank you” to you, my Friend!!!! Hugs………………………

  5. Anita says:

    Amazing! I can’t wait to see the completed quilt.

  6. witchylin says:

    This is only my choice. A bright pink would ‘edge’ the quilt, were as the pink plaid would curve it over and not give a definable finished edging. That is how my mind works, however as I can’t touch and see the quilt in reality it could look a lot different. Your quilting on the plaid is amazing and really sets the border off. :-).

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am (not so patiently) waiting to get to a store and pick up some bright pink fabric for the binding. DH said (in a most emphatic way) that it MUST be a bright pink to finish!!!!!! He, then, told me to “chill” and have patience!!!!!! I am and I will…………………………Great advice you two!!!!!!

  7. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here:
    This is beautiful. I always enjoy your quilting. This fits so well. A treasure in the making and almost done. Thank you for sharing.

    Now I was going to email you but I can’t find your email 🙂 so I will ask here.
    Regarding the post you made yesterday with the pinwheel block.
    What is the measurement of the block when the four HST squares are sewn together and you are preparing to make the 4 cuts to break up the block?
    I made a zillion blocks just like this before mom had her stroke last year, and I am just pulling them out and looking at them. Mine measure 9 1/2 ” not including the 1/2 inch total seam allowance for both sides combined – you know what I mean, right?
    I want to do something with them, and your idea is really wonderful.
    You can email me your reply @ rosemarybolton@ icloud. com
    I cannot describe to you the happiness I have since I found your blog. I am learning a lot from you.
    Have a lovely week-end

  8. Thread crazy says:

    I’ll have to agree with the bright pink; I think something in the range of the bright pink in the flowers; that would both blend with the border/back fabric and still make those flowers pop! Looking good.

Leave a Reply

