“Pinwheels and Double Bubbles”…………….

That’s what I’m calling this next finish. It’s a little quilt for great granddaughter’s birthday this summer, first posted about here. I did a quick demo on this dimensional pinwheel block for one of the quilt groups I belong to and that resulted in some finished and not-so-finished blocks that came together in this cutie. Get ready for a photo heavy post……………………………..Paige's pinwheel quilt 013  Yes, my favorite Mr. Quilt Holder was available but is camera shy! Paige's pinwheel quilt 001  The center portion has my version of some McTavishing/echo stitching.       Paige's pinwheel quilt 002Paige's pinwheel quilt 004Paige's pinwheel quilt 008  I did a “double bubble” in the second/pink-ish border and repeated that motif, adding a pinwheel on a stick in the wider outer border.Paige's pinwheel quilt 005Paige's pinwheel quilt 007Paige's pinwheel quilt 012

   The backing is a very feminine floral…………..Paige's pinwheel quilt 009

The binding used every scrap of material I had leftover from the making of this quilt!!!!!!!Paige's pinwheel quilt 015

Isacord 40 wt poly thread was used in the top and the bobbin thread was Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly. Batting was Hobbs 80/20 cotton/poly. The finished size is approximately 55”x 58”. The pinwheels need to be tacked down in a couple of places. I will probably use a length of embroidery floss strands to tie the centers of the pinwheels. I outline stitched around each of them and SID (stitch in the ditch) to define the borders.

Next on the “stack” is the stained glass quilt but I have some curtains to alter for one client and a bridal gown that will need some attention for another.  Til next time………………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to “Pinwheels and Double Bubbles”…………….

  1. Michele says:

    Really nice. I love the quilt pinwheels.

  2. Jeanne says:

    The larger 3D pinwheels are great – I must try some! Your GGD will love this quilt and someday, when she is older, she will find the quilted pinwheels and be delighted all over!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Neat thought!!!! It may not be the typical “snuggle” quilt but, definitely, has tons of texture!!!!! The smaller pinwheels are probably more versatile but the big ones are just plain fun! If GGD wasn’t so young, I would have put a decorative button in the center of the larger but the floss will work just fine!!! Hugs…………

  3. Beth Ann says:

    The pinwheels are amazing! Love this and I know your GGD will fall in love with it, too! Beautiful work, Doreen. Thanks for sharing. And tell that shy quilt holder guy to get back to work!!!

  4. I love it that the pinwheels have dimension-very pretty

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by and your kind words. Once in a while the “dimensional” idea strikes a chord with me and this was really a cute/easy idea!!!! Hugs………………

  5. Aside from the quilt, which is such a fun design, I noticed the really cute pillow on the chair (left in photo) and the blooming geranium. Is this a sunroom? I want to add it onto my house.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The pillow (which resides on a wood chair rescued from the downtown St.Paul Union (train) Depot) is felt applique and a gift from a quilt friend years ago, the geranium (alas!) is silk!!!! and the room is my living room w/ a 12′ wide bay window facing West and the setting sun. Floral carpet (my dream carpet finally realized a few years ago) and other “garden-y” items are the closest I will get to such a room. We checked and the $$$$ were too high w/o the winning lottery numbers!!!! LOL!

  6. fiammisday says:

    So lovely my dear!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love this!!!

  7. Thread crazy says:

    Love the 3D pinwheels…it’s so sweet for a little girl. Will give her something to cherish in the years to come. It was cool here today, but I managed to till the garden area a bit today. More tomorrow!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Our garden is under 4′-5′ of snow at the moment!!!! With 40-ish degree temps for the next couple of days and the possibility of drizzle/rain, we’re hoping to diminish that a bit!!!!
      Thank you for your sweet words!!! It did turn out well and is a great use for what could have been “orphan” demo blocks!!!! Hugs………………………….

  8. witchylin says:

    The pinwheels look lovely as a quilt. I made a sample from your tutorial and think I will use those samples to make a small quilt sometime soon. The quilting is perfect. You can see the pinwheels on sticks in the close up picture. You will have to get your ‘quilt holder’ to pop his head over the top of a quilt sometime, he deserves recognition. LOL.
    I love your living room it looks so cosy and welcoming.

    • treadlemusic says:

      That room is my fave!!! (other than the sewing room, of course!!! LOL!) With the Western exposure, it’s bright and golden with the setting sun (something that’s really needed these days!!!!!). I’m so glad you could use the tutorial!!!!! Send photos when finished!!!!!!! Hugs…………..

  9. Sartenada says:

    Very beautiful, well done and colors in harmony = beautiful.

  10. I see some McTavishing happening there! 😉 Very nice!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Trying. Will have to do a bit(?) more before I consider it “my thing”. It is much denser than I usually like to quilt, but this quilt is almost a “novelty” quilt (with the oversized, dimensional pinwheels. Fun, though!!!!!

  11. Cute quilt! I’m sure your great granddaughter will love it!

  12. jmorrical says:

    Wow! This is great. I love the pinwheels and the way you did the binding. What a wonderful quilt! I’m still new to quilting, so can you explain why you use different types of threads for the top and bobbin and how you arrive at your choices? Your fmq is beautiful and I like the way you have combined the various designs. Can’t wait to see your stained glass quilt!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The top thread (usually, but not always, a 40 wt) is dictated by the quilt top and the quilting stitches (if more dense I may go 50 wt {the higher the number/the THINNER or finer the thread). The shinier threads are mostly 40 wt (rayon, trilobel/poly) or cotton (30 to 40 wt) and have a duller appearance. The bobbin threads I use seem to be the polyester threads from Connecting Threads. They are quite fine/thin (40 wt ?), lots goes on one bobbin fill AND almost 100% lint free!!! That last factor is so important to cut down on wear & tear and lint build-up and the oil/lubricant doesn’t disappear. I have these threads in some basic colors…..black, white, natural, navy…..which seem to blend well with most of the top threads I use and the backings I have used. Thanks so much for your great comment and, please, stop by again soon!!!!! Hugs……………….

Leave a Reply

