Mini Road Trip…………

Last week, DH and I made the short trek to Rochester (MN). I needed to pick out a piece of fabric for an upcoming quilt project. There are several fabric and quilt shops closer to me/us than this, but I needed some dupioni silk, which isn’t that easy to come by. The shop of choice is Ginny’s fine fabrics & support group. This shop is the most awesome source of natural fabrics: silks, in so many forms, wools, linens, cottons and rayons AND sewing expertise and info. Years ago, when I still had my own custom sewing business (bridal/formal wear) many of my clients purchased their supplies at Ginny’s. She is about to change her downtown location and I canNOT imagine packing up all those gorgeous fabrics!!!!! A few photos:stained glass quilt 001  There’s Ginny cutting my gorgeous fabric!! Say “Hi!” to Ginny!!!!…………………………………… A glimpse of some of her fabric-liousnes…………………………………………..stained glass quilt 002

stained glass quilt 003  Do you see all those little drawers in the cabinets along the wall?????? They are packed with incredible buttons of all sizes, colors and shapes. The natural shell buttons are amazing!!!!stained glass quilt 004

stained glass quilt 005

I could spend hours taking in all that is contained inside these walls!!!

Anyhow, my purchase was made and the trip labeled a success!! This mystery project is due in May but must be in progress much before then. Stay tuned………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Mini Road Trip…………

  1. Jeanne says:

    OMGoodness! What an interesting shop. Hope I get the chance to visit Ginny’s one day.

    • treadlemusic says:

      As a quilter, there is so much there and so many possibilities, but as a garment seamstress……..well, let’s just say it’s totally intoxicating!!!!!!! And Ginny, and staff, are so knowledgeable, ready to assist with any pattern alteration/problem one might encounter. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit!! Hugs……………….

  2. Mystery to you or to us? Just wondering if you can do the not knowing mystery quilt? Lovely store and happy to know your trip was good and safe. Enjoy your night 🙂

  3. Jackie says:

    Welcome to my City, glad you had so much fun at ginny’s, I have never been in her place, but then I’ve never had a reason since I’m not a sewer or a quilter. Sounds like you really enjoyed your time there. Cant wait to see your project 🙂

  4. Looks like a great store!

  5. That shop looks like a little piece of heaven! Can you show the fabric you got or do you have to keep it hidden from spying eyes?

  6. LB says:

    YAY! You got out from under the deep freeze for a road trip! Beautiful shop!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I did!!!!!! Yesterday it was even ABOVE 50F!!!!!!! That day (last week) it was still blustery and cold but great to be out!!!!! The shop is a fabric lover’s dream!!!!!!!

  7. witchylin says:

    What a wonderful selection of fabrics. You could spend hours in there just looking. I visited our local furnishing fabric shop today. I wanted fabric for a chair I am covering at upholstery class. There was so much to choose from I didn’t know where to start. Compared to Ginny’s shop it is tiny so in her place I would be over fazed for sure. One thing I did find that was great is our fabric shop now sells quilting fabrics and will cut fat quarters. YEAH!!!!

Leave a Reply

