Wordless Wednesday…………………

stained glass quilt 007

stained glass quilt 008

stained glass quilt 013

And the back………………………….stained glass quilt 010

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Wordless Wednesday…………………

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you!!! One of my “stash buster” quilts (although I blew it and increased my fabric stash today by a few yards!!!!!) in stitching progress. A bit more tedious than I initially thought it was going to be…….learning patience!!!!!! (with myself!!)

  1. Lynda says:

    The rays are randomly placed? You have such restraint, Doreen! I would not have been able to resist doing all the blocks, and then I would have ruined it.

    • treadlemusic says:

      No restraint here, Lynda!!!!! I’m just posting as an “in progress” stitching, although I am rethinking how the borders are going to be done (or not!)!!!!! Thanks so much for you visit and comment!!! Hugs…….

      • Lynda says:

        Aha! Well, I thought randomness was a good thing. I just can’t pull it off myself. At any rate, this quilt is going to be great and I really love those rays, even if they aren’t random. 😀

  2. OOOO! Loving these straight line quilting. The look like light is radiating from the blocks!

  3. Some of those prints (green and blue especially) resemble batik. Another lovely project…

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are right…..about half are batiks that I had in my stash. I have no idea why ‘cuz I’m really not fond of sewing with them (a bit different than my “usual” style!).

  4. Jackie says:

    I think I’m seeing some “Spring” in this quilt, it’s very pretty !

  5. mtetar says:

    The back is even more prettier. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you for that sweet comment! That fabric is from a very small, more “local” little shop in a very small town near me. I picked it for the color and it’s perfect! Hugs……

  6. Thread crazy says:

    Pretty colors. love the quilting – yes, straight lines can make a dramatic effect.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I must say that I’m kinda liking the effect but it’s so different from anything I’ve done that my muscles are getting used to the process yet!!! I would suspect that using rulers with a frame mounted long arm would be a tad easier than on a fixed mid arm (Sweet Sixteen). I really like the colors contrasted with the background. Thanks so much for stopping by!!!! Hugs……………

  7. witchylin says:

    The backing fabric is lovely and shows off the quilting so well. It is a different style to your usual one. Good to ring in the changes now and then. 😉

    • treadlemusic says:

      Definitely a “skill builder” , this one. Using a ruler for all the quilting is a bit slow going but is turning out to be a good discipline learning experience!!!!!!

  8. LB says:

    I thought of you yesterday when I went into a fabric store for the first time in forever! I went in search of fat quarters to take to a gathering this weekend. All the women will bring a few and we will make a quilt for the one turning 60.
    I went in and was surrounded by beautiful colors and fabrics and it made me look forward to a time when I might learn to quilt 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am very much touched by your sweet words!!!! I am glad that your errand brought such happy future thoughts to you!!!! Colors truly inspire and textiles are my “medium of choice” (others may use paints, flowers, descriptive words, etc) and, upon entering a shop, I find myself totally energized by its contents!!!!! Someday……………………. Hugs……………………………

  9. ivoryspring says:

    I love how your Stained Glass turned out. The straight line gives the quilt a lot of personality.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It does!!! I’ve been wanting to try something like this and this quilt seemed to be the perfect opportunity! Glad you like it!!!! On to the binding today……and will link to your post!!!! Hugs……………………….

Leave a Reply

