Proficiency level is much higher…..

With my “ruler work” after all the straight line stitching for the last few days!!! Since I have a sit-down mid-arm quilting machine (HQ Sweet Sixteen), ruler/straight-edge stitching is a skill that takes a bit of coordination (and a few muscles that I didn’t know I had!!!!). I stabilized the quilt, first, by SID (stitch in the ditch) both vertically and horizontally. That left me free to start quilting wherever I chose (usually I begin in the center area and work outwards in quadrants). For that process I used a ruler called the Line Tamer. Some quilt shops now handle these but I did get mine on-line from Four Paws Quilting. For all the rest of the straight lines, I used my handy-dandy, homemade straight edge. I had hoped to get one from my HQ dealer but she was out and had to order it. Of course I needed it NOW! (sorry for shouting!) These rulers work for all quilting done on DSM, also!!! Slick!!!!

Anyhow, I’m now half done with the outer border on the stained glass quilt and I’m really loving it!!! Here are some photos……………………………………………………Stained Glass Quilt 002

A photo with my impromptu/make-do-just-fine straight edge………………………………………….Stained Glass Quilt 004  Note: when using rulers for quilting with a hopping foot, the thickness must be 1/4” which is thicker than the rotary cutter rulers!!!!!! They really aren’t interchangeable!!!……….Stained Glass Quilt 005

Now, I have to figure out the binding. Usually I cut that and have it ready before I even begin the quilting but not this time. I’m not even sure what fabric is left (I know I have lots of scraps as I grossly overcut……..got a bit carried away with the rotary cutter!!!! LOL!).

Back to the machine. Stay tuned………………………………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Proficiency level is much higher…..

  1. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here:
    This is beautiful, and well done.
    maybe it is good not to have the binding picked out yet. Now you can change your mind still hee

  2. Karen Miller says:

    Love this Doreen — fantastic job — and so “modern” 😉 Thanks for sharing the great tips. Hugs, Karen

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so welcome!!! The border motif is one that goes really fast!!!! I think I had better do some type of tutorial (so I remember it!!!! LOL!!)……Thanks for stopping by!!!! Hugs……….

  3. Thanks for linking to the ruler. YES I am learning to ruler, too, with my long-arm. And YES! It does take some new muscles, plus I do well to remember to use my elbow brace. Your work looks great, so you must be picking it up okay.

    Thanks for sharing. I’ll look forward to more.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Keeping the ruler and fabric together to stitch is a trick. I would be curious to try it on a framed long arm. I really do like the technique, though!!!! Thanks for the encouraging words!!!!! Hugs……………………………

  4. Jackie says:

    This is so pretty, I really like the big white boarder!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you! That was a bit of a departure for me but it fits with the rest of the design (it was not in the original pattern that Wendy Sheppard designed but I wanted it larger so on went the border!!!). I’m glad it appeals to you!!!! Hugs………………….

  5. mtetar says:

    Soooo gifted and talented you’re. Blessings, Mtetar

    • treadlemusic says:

      And a bit cross-eyed and muscle weary at the moment!!! LOL! My old muscles aren’t in shape for this!!!! Your sweet comment is the encouragement I need, though!!!! Hugs to you!!!!!

  6. WOW! Your ruler work is just stunning! I know ruler work takes a little bit of practice before getting comfortable with it. Even the long arm, by the end of my quilt I finally felt comfortable quilting with straight line.

  7. Thread crazy says:

    It’s looking good Doreen – maybe for your binding, use all your scraps and make the binding a variety of colors. I do that sometimes when I have a lot of material left. I too have the line tamer ruler and a few others. I do like the line tamer but it does take a lot of practice…or so I’m finding out. To help keep your ruler in place while stitching, try using the “dot runner”; it’s clear adhesive high tacks (made by Elmer’s – Craft Bond ) that you put on bottom of your ruler. Keeps rulers from slipping – learned about using those from an HQ instructor. From time to time they will come off, just apply new ones. I get mine at Michaels, Hobby Lobby or anywhere they sell scrap booking supplies. Can’t wait to see the finished product….

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you!!! Great tip, too!!! I have started using 3M Transpore tape. It’s not the “paper tape”/Micropore type. It’s clear plastic with a slight texture that tears easily. A couple of small strips on a ruler keeps it steady and you can see through it. I find the Line Tamer works great for long stretches of straight line ditch stitching (like borders and the outside edge stitching). For other, shorter seams/lines I use my straight edge that I put together. Hope to get the binding put together tomorrow…..and your suggestion is the one I’m going with!!!!!!! It’s perfect!!!!! Hugs…….

      • Thread crazy says:

        Great to hear – I’ve always tried using all of my left over material when I can. To be honest I’m tired of leftovers and it always means I have to go get something else to use them up!! Ugh! Raining here today so I’m heading to quilt machine in a bit.

  8. That’s a lot of straight line work!! Looks fabulous too!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I learned a ‘ton’…….mostly that ruler work is NOT FAST!!!! LOL!!! Learning “PATIENCE”!!!! Hmmmmmm…..that’s tougher than anything else for me!!!! Hugs………….

  9. Michele says:

    It really looks fantastic. I just got a base and a SID ruler for my machine and am looking forward to shopping for some other rulers at MQX in a few weeks.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Sigh…………I can’t wait for your report(s) after MQX!!!! Take lots of photos for us!!!!!!! I really did enjoy the ruler technique, once I settled into the fact it wasn’t going to be a fast process!!!!! LOL! Hugs………………….

  10. witchylin says:

    Straight line stitching does not always lend itself to quilting but it does to this one. I think it looks just perfect. I especially like the stitching on the white border.

  11. Wow, wow, wow. I am loving this quilt a lot.

  12. Sometimes it’s OK to journey along a different path.

Leave a Reply

