Kicking off the next season………

And what season is that are you asking???? It’s biking season!!!!!!! Yup, it’s coming…….and I don’t mean the kind that requires peddling…….nope!!! I mean the kind that requires burning good ole fossil fuel! Last eve we journeyed to LaCrosse (WI) to Rod’s Ride On Power Sports for a time of pizza, popcorn and a movie (“Why We Ride”). Although the weather wasn’t too bad outside, indoors it was all about the warm riding weather that is coming up!! My bike just needs a fresh tank of gas and I’m more than ready!!!!!

More photos of the event can be found here.

004

Here’s a photo of DH and I at the campground near LaCrosse (Pettibone RV Campground) taken last July. It’s just 20 miles from home and right on the river. This is where we park our 5th wheel during the summer months and “get-away” many days of the week. This year, though, I’m taking one of my smaller sewing machines along to do some piecing, along with some smaller projects for hand work. We’ll see. Anyhow………….Who’s ready for some nice green grass and warm breezes?????

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Kicking off the next season………

  1. janprytz says:

    How wonderful. I look forward to your updates. I rode, as a copilot, for ten years; every weekend, unless it was raining, and we don’t get much rain here.

    • treadlemusic says:

      We used to do many more miles each summer than more recently but, hopefully, this summer will give us more of a chance to get out there!!!! I’m sure there will be photos!!!!! LOL!

  2. Me! See my hand raised super high.

  3. Karen says:

    always look forward to warmer weather especially after this weird winter of colder than normal temperatures.

  4. jennyklyon says:

    Lookin good girl!!

  5. Thread crazy says:

    If you ever get the urge to ride south, let me know. I’m near “Austin, Texas” and would love to see you! You won’t regret taking a sewing machine along in your camper as I always take my featherweight with me in our RV. I sure enjoy having it along so I can sew a bit when I get the urge.

  6. Linda Broere says:

    Great pic. Get my bike out of storage in 2 weeks. Going to travel the states for summer and longer, out of Montana (we’re from Canada). Getting antsy. Happy trails!

    • treadlemusic says:

      “Antsy” for sure!!!!! We do a lot of riding around here (Coulee Region…SE MN,WI,IA). The roads along the Mississippi River are so gorgeous!!! May be doing a ride to Sturgis in August. I haven’t been there for the rally in several years. I miss riding the Black Hills!!! Sigh…..I’m so ready!!!!!!! Ride invisible!!! Hugs………………

  7. mtetar says:

    I’m ready and you both look great. Enjoy every minute. Blessings, Mtetar

    • treadlemusic says:

      This crazy weather doesn’t seem to be letting up for some out your direction!! I think the Eastern 1/3 of the US have had enough snowy weather for several winters!!!!! Hugs……………………..

  8. KrisR says:

    You are certainly two HOT and HAPPENING seniors! 🙂 Greet The Mister from us.

  9. witchylin says:

    Hope I can remember what dry warm weather is when it arrives so it doesn’t shock me too much. Sewing machine at the 5th wheel, great idea. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I had thought about the machine last summer, but our camper just didn’t seem to have a good spot. DH shopped and found a super deal on a different/bigger camper so I think it might work this year. The storms have gone south of us the last couple of days but the temps are really chilly again….15F at the moment. Oh Spring…..where art thou?????

  10. jmorrical says:

    We are itching to set out in our motor home and will probably come east at one point this summer. Last year on our trip east we stayed at Neshonoc Lakeside Camping Resort near West Salem, Wi. I love the lush, green rolling hills of Wisconsin. I’m looking forward to hauling my little machine with me when we travel. There are lots of evenings on the road when we just want to unwind in front of TV and I always feel like I’m wasting time if I’m not doing something. This year I’ll be piecing small projects. All we need now is some nice weather and for it to be May!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Unless you are really into the lake scene, Pettibone RV and Campground is on the river between LaCrescent (MN) and LaCrosse (WI). That’s where we park our camper for the summer months. It’s a lovely spot and they have over-night spots, too. Here’s a link to photos of some of the RV sites: http://www.pettiboneresort.com/picture-gallery/nggallery/page/2 We spend a ton of time there. Let me know if you come this direction (even Neshonoc) and maybe we can do a “meet-up”!!!!!! Hugs…………………………

  11. LB says:

    You and your bike are both beauties!! I too am anxious to get riding … sigh … it’s taking longer to get a replacement bike in the driveway but it will happen!

  12. I love the bike photos Doreen 🙂 I decided to take my sewing machine away with me last year but then when I mentioned I needed to also take an ironing board and an iron for patchwork, someone put their foot down LOL. I took hand sewing instead so it wasn’t too much of a hardship 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, there’s so much to consider. One item leads to another and so on!!! I do have a very small travel iron and use a fluffy bath towel as the “board” so it mostly does work for me.

Leave a Reply

