When the ‘postie’ knocks…….

I definitely answer that door!!!! And this is the most recent delivery…………Misc 009

Yup……I believe in doing my part for the economy…on-line and in my LQS (local quilt shop)!!!!!! For an upcoming “challenge” project (FYI…..the guidelines will be a future post) I decided to try (maybe/maybe not) to double up on the batting…..1 layer 80/20 (cotton/poly) and 1 layer silk…I think….possibly…….. The silk batting is a “sure thing” and I want definite dimension in the quilting so……I was thinking this combo might be the answer.

Also, a couple of fabric pieces must have jumped in the box before it was sealed!!!!!! Misc 010

I do have a spot for these already so they’re not “stash bound”!!!! The close-out/clearance fabrics are a huge tease for me…..but the prices on all were great……batting was 35% off and the fabric was way down……….Misc 011

I received another delivery but that is a post for another day. Til next time…………………………………..

 

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to When the ‘postie’ knocks…….

  1. Michele says:

    Oh those bargains are fantastic. I might have to take a look to see what they have left.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The 2 fabric pieces are awesome!!! The finish and the “hand” of the fabrics is wonderful!!! The price really can’t be beat!!!! Hugs…………………………

  2. I’ve doubled Hobbs 80/20 before, when I needed poof to fill out an unevenly pieced group project. It worked well for the purpose. Right now I’m using wool to mimic the texture in a particular antique quilt. And the last few things I’ve done have been using up chunks, mostly of Warm’s Soft & Bright poly and Warm & Natural cotton battings. I’m tired of all the big pieces hanging around, none of them big enough by themselves to do ANYTHING! But usually I buy rolls of Soft & Bright. I like that it gives a bit of loft but isn’t puffy, and especially on sale it’s relatively inexpensive.

    Have a great day!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much for your input/comment!!! I have really only used the 80/20 and have been very pleased The “Carnation Quilt” I just finished is a wool batt alone. I like that, too. The silk has the wool qualities and I know some have layered wool with the 80/20 for additional dimension so I thought possibly the silk would work. Wendy (Ivory Spring) uses silk batts exclusively and the dimension on her quilts are very nice. I’ll have to do some experimenting!!!!

      • I’ve found the wool batting spongey and elastic. On the long-arm frame I do better pinning it in place along a horizontal line, quilting beyond the line and then moving the process along. That way it doesn’t bunch up into the space where I am quilting. If you’ve pre-basted for DSM quilting or hand-quilting, that might already be managed.

        • treadlemusic says:

          I know exactly what you are referring to (“spongy”). I noticed that while sandwiching so I pin basted closer together than I normally would and was careful when handling it during the the quilting process (the “Carnation Quilt” was a dble/full size so not too awfully large to handle on the Sweet Sixteen). I will test the combo on a sample and report my findings……………….

  3. mtetar says:

    I’m believing as always it’s going to be worth it. Blessings, Mtetar

  4. kathyinozarks says:

    I really love connecting threads too-great batting sales-I buy my wool batting from them

    • treadlemusic says:

      For specialty battings, there is nowhere else around here. Even in Rochester(MN), which is 60 miles away, the selection is limited to cotton or cotton/poly and I really like Hobbs, which is not always the brand carried. Gas is too expensive to be chasing all over for needed items!!!!!!

  5. Always fun to get packages instead of bills. 🙂

  6. Beth Ann says:

    Oooh…..looks intriguing ! The brown truck is always welcome here!!!

  7. jennyklyon says:

    I double batt a lot. I usually choose Orient for stability and Wool for loft. But of course I’m a short armer. Lots of competition quilters are doing double 80/20. I loooove silk-such drape but low loft. I’ll be very interested in your thoughts on this combo.

    • treadlemusic says:

      At first I thought it may be a waste of a silk batt but the price seems to have come in to line with wool batt prices which is not too bad for those special projects. I will do some samples and report. My Sweet Sixteen would do a double 80/20 but I’m not really interested in doing that especially since the top fabric I’m using is dupioni silk! I’ll let you know………………………….

  8. ivoryspring says:

    You will so love that Silk Batting. My world would crumble if they ever discontinue that silk batting!!!

    Loved reading about the Owl Event…. thanks for sharing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I almost gave you a call about that batting this morning. I’m doing a test sample right now……..double layer silk/80-20 and wool/80-20 in preparation for an upcoming quilt challenge. I’ll be doing it in silk dupioni. So far, the results are that the silk/cotton/poly combo remains soft but the wool combo gets quite stiff but the loft is amazing!!!!! Post to follow soon…………………….. Glad you enjoyed the owl info……………..

  9. Jackie says:

    Nothing like a some great bargins and a package at the door….have fun with your treasures!

  10. Thread crazy says:

    I’ve used a variety of battings; loved the Quilter’s Dream cotton batting. So soft and cuddly but hard to find, so started buying Hobbs 80/20 by the roll (factory is only 45 minutes north of us). I’ve wanted to try the Tuscon silk, but price has been up there a little I thought… so hoping it will come down some. I’ve layered the Hobbs 80/20 and have had good results; I’ve only used wool a couple of times and yes, it does seem to be spongy. Have you tried “Bamboo” batting yet? I haven’t and was just wondering if you or anyone else has. Have fun experimenting!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I have a small bamboo batt here but haven’t tried that yet. Quilter’s Dream is one I’ve wanted to try, too. Mail-order is the answer for that brand, I guess. Connecting Threads just started handling the Tuscan Silk and it was just on their batting sale (35% off) so I got a lap sized (60×60″) piece to try for this project. Hugs…………..

Leave a Reply

