Decisions, decisions/choices, choices………

There are so many!!!! And, when we have that quilt top pieced and ready to be sandwiched/layered with backing and batting, we look at it ……….and……..draw a blank!!!!!! How to stitch it!!!????!!! How dense??? Curved…straight….outline, echo, in the ditch, edge to edge, block by block, etc, etc, ……….well, you get the picture…….you’ve been there, right???? Well, there’s major help available and it’s in the form of this fab book…….Quilting Wide Open Spaces by Judi Madsen of “Green Fairy Quilts”.

Misc 003

Her blog is here and her store is here. I purchased her book directly from her so I got a signed copy!!Misc 004

Each book comes with a CD containing the full sized templates needed for the projects.Misc 006

The outside back cover says it all “in a nut shell”……….Misc 005

The first couple of pages give a good list of basic tools that are beneficial to have. The term “longarm” is used but don’t be put-off by it, there is nothing in this book that isn’t applicable to a DSM (domestic sewing machine)!!!!! My quilting is done on a sit-down mid-arm (HQ Sweet Sixteen) and many of the issues/principles that work with a DSM are the same for me and I found this book to be a quilting manual that will grow with me on my road to better quilting.

The “traditional” quilts we are all used to seeing seem to have smaller wide open (today’s word……”negative”) spaces but more and more of today’s quilts are  leaving more unbroken vacant(?) space. This provides added “punch”/focus on the piecing but adds a dimension that can be a challenge……..just ‘what’ do I put in those spaces??? This book provides tons of awesome inspiration that will get your “creative juices” flowing!!!! Whether you have just pieced an “Ohio Star” or “Wedding Ring” or have taken the plunge and gone toward the ‘modern’, possibly minimalist, direction, there is something for you in this beautifully done publication. Quilting “newbies” and the more experienced will find much to excite the imagination!!!!! Misc 007

Misc 008

Included in the book are directions for 6 outstanding quilts that are the perfect “blank slate” for stitching and Judi is right there with her perfect suggestions….and the step by step process to achieve great results.

I will have to say, I own many quilting books and they all have been a great help in my FMQ (free motion quilting) journey but this one is ‘tops’ in my estimation!!!

This, and many more excellent publications, may be found on the AQS Publishing site!

This review was done because I believe this is quality product and I have not been reimbursed in any way for this endorsement!!!!

Now, it’s time to go quilting!!!………………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Decisions, decisions/choices, choices………

  1. Karen says:

    she does pretty work and I read her blog. Sometimes I think there is too much quilting in some quilts now and that it takes away from the design of the quilt. Just my opinion as I know there are a lot of quilters now that quilt every square inch of a quilt – too me for some quilters it is more about the quilting and not the quilt design itself.

    • treadlemusic says:

      And therein lies the delicate balance of “the whole”!!! Determining just ‘what’ the quilt is to be about when it is a “finish” is totally a subjective decision, just as an artist will determine how a painting will finish (will a heavy texture created by the paint application overshadow the picture itself). Good point you made. Thanks so much for your visit!!! Hugs……………..

  2. Thank you, Doreen! for the insights into this book. It does seem like promising and great book to have on free motion quilting. I have to order the book soon!
    Hugs,
    Malini

    • treadlemusic says:

      There are so many worthwhile publications ‘out there’ but this one really tags my creativity style. It’s seems to be a reference that will be timeless in my sewing journey!!!! Thanks for popping in!!!! Hugs…………….

  3. Beth Ann says:

    You must be in heaven with that book!!!

  4. I bet you’re doing a lot of reading and dreaming…

  5. Thread crazy says:

    Oh I just bet you’re having a great time with that book – looks very interesting. I too have my favorites and look to them some for inspiration when starting on a quilt. Sometimes it’s hard to break out and try new designs – and yes, you have to practice, practice, practice, but the results are rewarding. Enjoy that book!

  6. Michele says:

    It is on my wish list and I just need to find time to complete my order and get it on its way to me.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I don’t generally recommend something strongly ‘cuz I feel there’s so much personal opinion in such choices but I do feel this is a really good product!!!!! Hugs……….

  7. Doreen, thanks for this review. I’ve thought about getting this book but wasn’t sure, now I am. It’s on my list! Thanks also for the info about your machine. I’m thinking of getting a mid-arm. Is there any advice/suggestions for me before I start spending my money?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Check such places as Craigslist to see if there’s a gently used model for sale by someone who has upgraded. If you have a local quilt shop….let it be known to them, also. Networking that way can have great results. I did all my checking on the ‘puter (for machines of that type). Check out on-line forums ( ex:https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/HQ_Sit_down_Model/info ) that will give you ppl feed back/questions/problems and opinions. I am very impressed with the Handi Quilter company and the Sweet Sixteen product. I “test drove” this at a couple of quilt shows (along with other such models). It, along with the “Tiara”….same machine! different company NAME only, are among the more expensive but I would purchase the HQ again. Some is aesthetics (for me). I very much like the look of the machine. A MUST for me (now that I have some experience with this) is a separate bobbin winder……included with the SS!!!!! A quality product, also!!! Use “Google Search” to find others who own this model. Even if I had the room for a frame mounted machine, I would have chosen the SS. I like moving the fabric rather than the machine!!!! And the HQ brand makes great machines…..”Fusion” & “Avante” (frame mounted long arms) are, also, great. Minimal problems getting used to using the machine itself. If you have any further questions, feel totally free to contact me!!!!! Enjoy your search/research!!!!!

Leave a Reply

