Questions asked……..hopefully, answered…………..

Yesterday’s post, found here, resulted in quite a few inquiries as to how I learned the stitching motif used (and will be used in the mystery project) in the test piece.testing silk 003 

There are many ways to learn various quilting techniques but my favorite, and most practical, is via blogs and YouTube. My location, and finances, prohibit my taking part in workshops or classes that would give me a “hands-on” experience and, I believe, many of you may find yourselves in a similar situation. This post is a partial listing of the links I’ve found helpful in my quilting journey. It is by no means exhaustive, as I have stumbled on many talented people’s blogs and videos over the past couple of years that I’ve been seriously pursuing this art of quilting. “Google” has become a close friend as I searched the ‘net for tutorials on the subject of FMQ.

So, here are a few places to visit that will inspire and challenge you. BUT, remember, nothing takes the place of practicing at your machine!!!! Take time, daily, (if only for 10 or 15 minutes) to “play”. Have a muslin/batting sandwich always ready. Doodle, sketch, stitch. And have fun!!!!!!!!! You can do it, remembering that any skill development does take a bit of work (but this is “fun” work!!!!!).

The list:

McTavishing: here, here, here, here

Pinterest: here (there are many other such collections to be found on this site)

Cindy Needham: here, here

Leah Day: here

Jamie Wallen: here

Wendy Sheppard (Ivory Spring): here (check her side bar for step by step tutorials….”Thread Talk”)

Craftsy (I have purchased many of these classes and they are wonderful. Watch for special pricing!!!): here

Angela Walters: here

The above (partial) list is, hopefully, a “springboard” that will help to open up the world of resources that are available on the ‘net. I have used these particular ones the most, but the links with each will take you to many other most capable teachers/quilters.

If you have further questions, or suggestions/comments, please, leave a note and I will most definitely respond.

Now, off to the machine…………………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Questions asked……..hopefully, answered…………..

  1. Beth Ann says:

    That was a lot of work to put all those links in there!!! What a wonderful sharing soul you are!

  2. Thanks so much. I will take a look at all of these. And yes, nothing takes the place of practice.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I so hope this gives you some helpful direction and ideas/inspiration!!!!! They have been invaluable for me. The ones by Jamie Wallen are a variety of info…..both machine technical and quilting techniques. It is all mesmerizing to watch!!!!!! Hugs………………………….

  3. Thread crazy says:

    Thanks Doreen for sharing the info; yes, I too have many “bookmarks” and “puter trails” to follow1 Sometimes I feel like all my searching takes valuable time away from my quilting, but it’s needed to improve stitching. One thing I’ve found helpful is to have and erasable board that I can draw on experience moving my hand in different directions, in stitching a design. I too like Jamie Walden, Cindy Needham and Leah Day – so helpful. One thing I’ll share here is that I was the first person (or so that I’ve been able to find) in my area that has a mid-arm, HQ Sweet 16. I’d searched internet for long time looking at mid-arms before getting mine. Since I purchased a “gently used” machine, I did not receive lessons of any type. So just imagine the screams that could be heard around our home for awhile!! But I FMQ on my DSM so had some knowledge of FMQ. Thanks again for sharing your info….while we all live in different directions of our great nation, it’s wonderful that we can share information this way!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I can echo all that you have stated! Although I purchased my SS new, I received nothing with it (my dealer would have helped with any questions but I had none)……no lessons, or anything, but, after doing so much on my Juki (for the previous year) I felt I could work through the learning curve on my own……and I have!!!! It’s a great machine for me and performs all that I expect of it!!!!! My dry erase board, along with a piece of plexiglass for auditioning, are my “go to” tools for specific projects, too. Have a great day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Thank you so much for all this information!!!ni hope to do some more FMQ in the weekend. For now, I am extremely busy with grading art works and finishing two baby quilts….. I am tired, ha ha!
    Hugs
    Esther

  5. Rosemary says:

    Your quilting is awesome! So glad I found your blog. I’ll be visiting to keep up with your beautiful FMQ. Thanks for the bookmarks. I’ll be checking them out too!

    • treadlemusic says:

      There are so many!!!! One leads to another……but there’s so many opportunities for learning!!!! The “black hole” of time does ‘kick in’, so be careful!!! LOL!!!!! Hugs…………….”See” you again………………….

  6. Your Mctavishing is ravashing,lol! I couldn’t help myself, but it really is beautiful! Yes, i’m in the same boat. I’m not close enough nor can I afford, all of the summists, retreats, Quiltcons, or shows. It’s ok, though. I like learning on my own and sharing ideas through great people one the web like you! Maybe one day…..I’d love to go to Quitcon:)

    • treadlemusic says:

      I couldn’t agree more! The ‘net has brought me in contact with great “teachers”. I have been challenged beyond anything I could have imagined!!! It is new “bloggy friends” like you who have inspired me to seek and refine “my style” of quilting, rather than merely copying and being satisfied with that. I am so glad I have “found” your place on the ‘net and, maybe, we will do a meet-up someday (I’ll have to figure out where your location is). Hugs………………………

Leave a Reply

