“Stained Glass”…..a finish………….

Yay!  This was a “learning” project, at least the final quilting was, as the ruler work was something I had not done before (except as an assist when stitching in the ditch to stabilize a quilt for FMQ). I am happy with it. The photo finish………Challenge...stained glass 006

Challenge...stained glass 008

Challenge...stained glass 010

And a full length view………………………………………Challenge...stained glass 005 

The colors are a little “funky” cuz I decided to take the pictures before the sun came in the windows too strongly and washed out the batiks. This has been machine washed and dried. Several “Color Catcher” sheets were thrown in for each process and most, not all, of the bleed was caught!! It was a weird result. Only the small red blocks seemed to run a bit and only through to the back……NOT to the sides/the muslin background!!!! Now, that’s odd!!!!!! I don’t have a good picture to show this and it’s hardly noticeable on the pale yellow backing.  Have no clue!!!!!!

The finish is approx. 54”x65” and if you want to go back to the beginnings of this project, the first post is here and here. Then, merely put in “stained glass” in my blog ‘search’ box and the other posts will come up.

The Coats and Clark trilobal is not my favorite to quilt with. It doesn’t have the smooth finish that glides through the machine nicely, so it did break twice(!). The color was right so I went with it!!!! The fabrics are all from my stash. The pattern is from the magazine “Simple Quilts”, the Fall of 2013. The pattern is by Wendy Sheppard (Ivory Spring). I made it a bit larger with the addition of the outer border.

Onward……to the “challenge”………………………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to “Stained Glass”…..a finish………….

  1. It looks wonderful! Very pretty…

  2. This is very pretty, cheery! I’m learning to use a ruler, too. It’s a different process, isn’t it?

    Thread: I’m not as fussy as some people, and also not as adventurous as some. I will say Superior So Fine 50 is sure easy to use. I’ve also bought C&C cotton and not been very happy with it. As it is right now, I don’t quilt enough to have a much bigger inventory of thread than I do right now. All my quilting is for me, only. And even at 12-15 or so quilts a year (typical), you don’t use up a lot of the big cones very fast.

    Thanks for showing it. I hope you’re happy with it. I would LOVE to have it. 😉

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am happy with it and all that I learned in doing it. I probably will not be using C&C thread in the future. I like the Superior threads,also. I use the Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly thread for most all my bobbin thread. It’s about a 50wt. Top threads are a variety. I really like Aurifil (cotton) and am using that on my upcoming “Challenge” project (color dictated this choice!). I love Isocord. Both of those are a bit spendy. There are some others that I’ve “stumbled” on, too. They are mostly special effects (metallics, etc). I find that the Sweet Sixteen is very forgiving and will work with just about anything I choose….very nice!!!! The Connecting Threads Poly works great as the top thread, also. Hugs…………………….

  3. Karen says:

    very pretty quilt – nice and eye catching!

  4. mtetar says:

    Finished with Class of course. Blessings, Mtetar

  5. Jeanne says:

    Very nice! Love all of the colors – of course, I love batiks. Your quilting is awesome – perfect for the quilt, as usual! ~Jeanne

    • treadlemusic says:

      A departure for me but fun. A stash buster that surprised me! I don’t work with batiks so where did they all come from??? LOL!!!!! So good to ‘see’ you!!! Hugs…………..

  6. nsturgill says:

    Very nice! And isn’t every quilt a “learning” experience?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, each one is a little different! I just read a quote that said if the project isn’t a bit challenging then your comfort zone hasn’t been pushed and learning hasn’t taken place!!!! So true!!!!! No “boredom”/”same old” here!!!!!!! Hugs……………………………..

  7. witchylin says:

    Your ruler work is just perfect for this quilt. How strange the way the red colour ran. Those colour catchers are amazing and necessary when washing multicoloured quilts. Your stash will have gone down a little after this but I bet there is enough to make heaps more quilts. 😉

    • treadlemusic says:

      There is more!!! And more of the batiks!!!! I am always amazed at the amount of “leftovers”!!!!! Several projects possible (nice for table runners!!!!/gifts). I’m so happy you stopped by!!! Hope all’s well your direction. Winter is holding on yet…..13F today and snow tomorrow!!!! Sigh…………………………………..

  8. Teje says:

    Adorable quilt, Doreen! Simple pattern and make most beautiful quilt! That quilting is also perfect for those blocks! Lovely colours! Hugs! x Teje
    PS. I’m felting with dog wool outside!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I should see about sending you some dog wool. Daughter-in-law/son (just up our driveway) have a Samoyed (spelling?). Beautiful white double coat that is gorgeous. I would imagine that it would be perfect for felting.
      Thanks for your kind words about this quilt. Something a bit different for me. I do like the results!!!! Hugs……….

  9. Michele says:

    It really looks great and you know I’d love all the bright colors.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup!!! Bright and ‘clean’ and…………..”stained glass” appearing!!!! I really like the finish, too!!! Wendy Sheppard’s design is the ‘key’ in this one.!!!! So glad you popped in!!!! Hugs……………

  10. Thread crazy says:

    You know me and bright colors – love them and your quilt is so pretty. I’m wondering too about the red bleeding; possibly the way the fabric with the liquid was laying in one of the spin cycles…just a wild guess. Seems though the color catchers should have caught that; I swear by those color catchers. Possibly they are reason the bleed wasn’t any more than it was. I too love Aurifil thread and Isacord; they both adds so much to the quilting. That C&C trilobal thread – does it also have the name “Sylko” on it? If so, several years ago when I was doing custom embroidery, I ordered a lot of in many colors – had thought of using it in quilting but now unsure. Give me a shout at my email (gaylel2001@yahoo.com) if so…

    • Thread crazy says:

      Doreen – I forgot to mention my “Sweetie” likes YLI and King Tut. I seem to get greating stitching with both and Aurifil. Only problem with YLI is the fuzz; just requires a bit more cleaning. While I order quite a bit from Superior, Ihaven’t tried connecting threads. Will look at them next time. Enjoy the snow melt!

  11. LB says:

    It’s like a foreign language “except to assist when stitching in the ditch for the FMQ”. LOL!!!
    (so pretty!)

  12. This is so beautiful! I love all the straight line quilt. Looks awesome!

  13. ruthiequilts says:

    Wowza!!! This quilt has pizazz! I’ve got to branch out and try some different things…

  14. I absolutely love the quilting! Wonderful design.

  15. Where did the idea for the quilting come from? Did you have to mark all the lines?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ummmm, well, first I thought of light coming through a stained glass window and radiating outward. Then, I looked at the piecing to see how that would fit. I decided on how the piecing would ‘break’ into a block motif, where the center of the radiance would be and how I would quilt the very center. After that it was a matter of dividing each seam line. I did it all visually. If you compare the stitching motifs/blocks, they are not identical……I did not mark them. I’ll put up a quick tutorial today on how I did it…..that will be easier!!! LOL!!!!!

Leave a Reply

