“15 Minutes of Play”………

Is the title of a book written by Victoria Findlay Wolfe/”Bumblebeans”. I do not own this publication, but the premise is that even spending a brief 15 minutes at the machine doing FMQ (free motion quilting) will have great results. A while back I decided to try to do “some” doodle quilting each day, no matter how brief the time allotment I had. I really couldn’t do it every day but doing it with some regularity helped me become more and more comfortable with the whole process and allowed me to venture into motifs that I had seen but not tested/tried out myself. These moments gave me the opportunity to test out, and possibly refine, designs that didn’t have the “pressure” of being needed for an immediate quilt finish. Not having that sense of “urgency to create” for a specific quilt is extremely ‘freeing’ and relaxing.

I have been playing with the stitching known as “McTavishing”. It’s name derives from a style of quilting that Karen McTavish introduced some years ago. Its free-flowing lines are a glorious background fill or feature in themselves. More on her designs may be found here and here.

In order to perfect(?) this, I have produced a few/many test pieces!!!!! Houston quilt @ Ann's 029

Houston quilt @ Ann's 021

The second photo started out to have the goal of 15 minutes but quickly stretched to 45!!!!! The first photo is closer to the 15 min. goal. It’s totally addictive!!!!!!!!

Over at Amy’s Free Motion Quilting Adventures, she has been posting a Monday link-up for all those who are practicing her current series on McTavishing. Hop on over to her place for others’ examples who are participating in this sew-along. Feel free to join us!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to “15 Minutes of Play”………

  1. Victoria actually makes fabric from her scraps in the 15mins and then uses it in her quilts. Its amazing what 15mins could do. But like you showed I think for FMQ we need anywhere from 30mins to an hour daily.

  2. Michele says:

    It does look great!

  3. Reading your first paragraph, I see the similarities b/n writing and photography. The more you do each, the better you become.

    And, yes, both are totally addictive, just like FMQ, which looks mighty challenging to me.

  4. Thread crazy says:

    The McTavishing looks intriguing and totally agree on setting time aside each day to “doodle”. I’m hoping once I can get back to my room and get these two tops quilted, then I can get back to “doodling”. I keep 16″ square sandwiches next to my sweetie to practice on…by the way, 15 minutes is not enough…I so agree!

  5. Wow Beautiful! Now to just find 15 minutes a day to spend 🙂
    What a great idea.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I find that if I want to spend a short period of time like this, I HAVE to set a timer!!!!! Time flies when you’re having fun!!!!!!!! I do hope you find those ‘few’ moments!!!! Hugs……………………..

  6. I have Victoria’s book, and it’s a good one! Your McTavishing looks wonderful! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      That type of echo quilting really is so much fun to do and has so many possible applications!!!! I think it’s overlooked ‘cuz it’s so simple!!! Thanks for the kind encouragement! Hugs…………………….from soon-to-be-white-again S.E. MN!!!!!!!!

  7. ivoryspring says:

    Beautiful quilting, as always. Isn’t Karen McTavish from MN?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup, from Duluth!! Funny how her name and technique are “popping” up all over the place again. The all-over echo motif of hers is the same wonderful “feel”/look I see in some of your stitchings. My inspiration comes from the best!!!!! Hugs………………

Leave a Reply

