McTavishing Mug-Rug Monday………..

Once again…..I just canNOT resist alliteration (words beginning with the same letter in sequence)! And to answer the question that is possibly being whispered: NO, I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth!!! These past days have been busy ones (no real surprise there, I guess). Yes, I’ve finished the “challenge” piece that I’ve been working through (first hinted{?} at here). And, no I can’t do a reveal just yet………stay tuned. It will be a while….like May 16th, to be exact. Also, I’ve been busy with some little fun items. First, the above mentioned “mug-rugs”. I set up my DSM (Domestic Sewing Machine)….Ms. Juki (TL2010Q) and “went to town” a stitching merrily away. Both the construction and FMQ (Free Motion Quilting) were done on this wonderful machine. Note: if anyone out there is thinking of adding a machine to their “stable”, this one is awesome!!!! Any questions just let me know and I can elaborate!!!! Insert mugrug photos…………

mug rugs and door hanger (Leah) 007 mug rugs and door hanger (Leah) 008  

McTavishing close-up……….mug rugs and door hanger (Leah) 009

 

As I have mentioned before, I have been making “door hanger”/decorations for my friend, Leah’s, room at the long term care facility she calls ‘home’. (An example may be found here) I finished and delivered April’s hanger. The theme: Spring/Easter.

mug rugs and door hanger (Leah) 003

    The combination of felt and cottons worked well. I, also, went right to the next one that will be delivered shortly after Easter and has a traditional feel. A “Flower Basket” block…….perfect for Spring and May!

mug rugs and door hanger (Leah) 004

This time I used some of the batiks from my “Stained Glass” quilt. Very simple SID (stitch in the ditch) finished this one.

 

Calendars have a way of getting “stacked up” with family and friends-type events (made so much easier with the moderating weather conditions!!!!) And, oh yes, I managed to have another birthday! Many of you, who find me on Fb, are more than aware of this occurrence (which happened last Sat.). So, since b’days require(?) some type of gift …..yes….. I will be offering the aforementioned mug-rugs (1 each) as my gift to 2 of my dear bloggy friend/commenters who leave a word here through next Friday(April 11th). If your sewing nest or work spot is not in need of such, please, feel free to pass it along to someone who would like a bit of quilty goodness. Again, I will draw 2 names on this coming Friday to receive one of the above mug-rugs (to keep or give)……just leave a word or two to be entered!!!!!! Note: This is open to all my readers!!!

I thank you all for your enduring friendship, greetings and kind words of encouragement. Your skills and creativity have been an incredible inspiration to me. Til next time……………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to McTavishing Mug-Rug Monday………..

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Absolutely beautiful work! I think you McTavished just so that you could alliterate:-/

  2. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here:
    ooops duh left the comment in the wrong place because…. um, it’s raining?

    Happy Snappy Birthday to YOU and best wishes for a wonderful year full of more creativity and sharing with US, your innternets friends. Doreen, you are an inspiration to all of us

  3. JoAnn Lee says:

    Glad to hear you have not fallen off the face of the earth. Your work is wonderful and beautiful.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I figured I just had to get back to business. I guess I will have to do a better job of announcing a pending hiatus….LOL!!!! Thanks so much for popping in!!!

  4. Happy birthday Doreen! (“Van harte gefeliciteerd met je verjaardag!”) Please accept three cyber kisses on your cheeks and a big hug! I hope you treated yourself to some cake or some new spools of thread… equally yummy!
    I adore your McTavishing! It is so swishy and curvy, just gorgeous!
    Greetings from a rainy and thundery Europe,
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much, dear distant UK friend!!!! At the moment it’s quite sunny with clouds to the West. Drizzly all day but warm…..love it!!!!
      That type of echo quilting/stitching just fascinates me!!! The effect is really quite impressive due to the repetition. I think I figured out that there’s a couple of things that typify that stitching and none are really difficult. A future tutorial may be advantageous! Hugs….

  5. Mary C says:

    Happy Birthday! Hope your year to come is simply marvelous! Your rug mugs are gorgeous…thanks for sharing!!

  6. Gloria says:

    Can non quilters qualify, hmmmm? Because I certainly could use a pretty little mug-rug. Seriously, they are little works of art themselves.

  7. mtetar says:

    Your holidays crafts are always sooo unique and of course from the heart. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  8. Peggy says:

    I’m trying to learn mctavishing! I hope one day mine looks as good as yours

    • treadlemusic says:

      Check out the great videos on YouTube….they helped me a lot. Karen McTavish really “hit” on a wonderful style of stitching!!!!!! This works really well on a domestic sewing machine!!!! Stay tuned, I’m thinking of doing a teaching on this soon (keeping it as simple as possible). Thanks for stopping by….hugs………………..

  9. Anita says:

    You sure had me wondering what you were up to……I would check every day and figured you took a vacation! Soon I hope to have you help me with my Juki! Happy Birthday!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you for the b’day greeting and I look forward to helping you. I so enjoyed getting back to the Juki for the stitching on the mug rugs!!!! See ya at the end of the month at quilt group, if not before!!! Hugs………..

  10. witchylin says:

    Happy Belated Birthday wishes to one of my favourite blogger/quilters I have learnt a lot from your tutorials and your posts in general. The McTavishing is amazing. It looks so effective on the mug rugs. Plans are afoot over here in the wet UK to spend a few days practicing the art. Have completed a commission at last so can get back to doing my own thing. LOL. McTavish here I come. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ooooooooo…..you MUST send photos!!! That style of stitching is popping up a bit these days and is really fun to do. Making it “your own” is the important/key factor so that it’s relaxing for you to do and it will come…….with repetition (notice I didn’t use that over-utilized word “practice”!!!! LOL!!!!) Hugs and much gratitude for you sweet words and well wishes!!!!!

  11. Michele says:

    Wow! The mug rugs look fabulous. I hope to be able to do that some day. A belated Happy Birthday to you!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much for the b’day greeting! Actually, it was a bit more fun to do on the Juki. It seems like one of those stitching motifs that adapts well to the DSM and it quite easy to achieve the evenness of all-over stitching that is a tad more difficult with other patterns. So glad you stopped by!!!! Hugs…………………

  12. Happy Birthday, Doreen! Glad to see you back. I’ll admit I missed you. The mug rugs are wonderful, and I really love the door decorations. What a lovely idea! hugs… 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      The door decs are my personal challenge for the year. Need to keep those brain cells active, you know!!!! Hehe! Thanks so much for the well wishes…..it was a very good day…for sure. Sorry to be MIA for so long……..normally I can share the current project process but this “challenge” is a hush-hush one til May 16th and that is very hard for me to keep under wraps!!!! I usually “spill my guts” quite readily….LOL!!!! Big hugs coming your way!!!!!!!

  13. LB says:

    I just love that you do this for your friend Leah. You are blessed by each other’s friendship, I am sure

  14. A belated “Happy Birthday!,” dear friend.

    I wondered if you’d fallen off the planet. But I should have known you would be at the sewing machines. Those mug rugs are mini cuteness and your gifts for your friend will be most welcome.

    As a language lover, you know how much I appreciate reading your alliterations.

    • treadlemusic says:

      My b’day celebration continues with lunch on Friday, so really you’re not late!!!! LOL! I’m a great one for stretching it out for as long as I can!!!! Lunch on Thursday in the Cities with my mom, too!!!!!
      The sewing/quilting that I’m able to do is just “stuff” unless it can enter someone’s life a give a little ray of sun(Son)shine to them!!!!! It is something that I MUST do. Hugs to you on this sunny Spring day!!!!!!

  15. Saskia says:

    Beautiful! And the door hanger is a work of art in itself.

  16. Beth Ann says:

    You have been busy and I have been away from reading everyone’s blogs but I am catching up this morning. A bit. I do hope your birthday was fabulous and filled with lots of lovely things.I continue to love the little door hangings for your friend’s door. I bet she is the envy of everyone there in her home! And the mug rugs—who wouldn’t love a lovely one to remind them of you and how special you are! Hugs!

  17. Barb N says:

    Such quilty goodness with all that McTavishing – excellent. And very thoughtful of you to make those door hangers for your friend – great idea!

    • treadlemusic says:

      My friend often comments how she really doesn’t like being there but there is no alternative for her. She has no family in the area. I know it would mean a lot to me to have something homemade/child-made on my wall/door!

  18. Rose says:

    You do lovely quilting. I would love one of your mug rugs. I think I would hang it in my sewing room though, it’s so pretty. Thanks for the giveaway.

  19. Linda Broere says:

    Very cool McTavishing…it IS fun, isn’t it. Sweet door decs, too. Happy Spring.

  20. Jackie says:

    Happy belated Birthday Doreen, love your mug rugs and all the quilting you do. I always look forward to see what you’re up to next.

  21. Fran says:

    Lovely work you do!

Leave a Reply

