A QOV (Quilt of Valor) finish………………..

That is one of my favorites! I first posted about it here and was somewhat unsure how the stitching would turn out or what direction it would take. I have to say….it was a fun quilt to do that started out as a possible “edge to edge” quilting  project but it definitely spoke out against that plan! Yes, I, once again, “listened” and this is the result…………………QOV..CHAMBRAY STAR 003

QOV..CHAMBRAY STAR 008

QOV..CHAMBRAY STAR 001  QOV..CHAMBRAY STAR 002

QOV..CHAMBRAY STAR 004

QOV..CHAMBRAY STAR 005

QOV..CHAMBRAY STAR 010

QOV..CHAMBRAY STAR 007

I stitched this totally as FMQ (Free Motion Quilting) without any markings. Although this is heavily quilted it is still quite soft and will be more so after it’s washed and dried, I’m sure.

The blue fabric appears to be a chambray/shot  cotton. I used Invisafil 100wt thread in white and light lilac (not sure of the exact color #) and Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly (color ‘natural’) in the bobbin. The final size of the quilt is 60”x 68”. It will have the blue as a binding.

A couple of busy days away from the machines and then on to several clients’ quilts……I’m really excited to do them!!!! I’m so glad you stopped by. ‘Click’ on any photo to enlarge it.  Any questions, please, leave them in the comments and I will happily address them. Til next time……………………………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A QOV (Quilt of Valor) finish………………..

  1. Good morning, Doreen! The quilt is really lovely. So much work to do custom over a whole, but this definitely was worth it. The “solid” fabrics (I know shot isn’t exactly solid) show it off beautifully.

    Hope you have a wonderful couple of days away.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Back from a lovely day and lunch in Saint Paul with DH and my mom. We had a fab lunch at the Lake Elmo Inn……no photo–too hungry!!!! LOL! Tomorrow, off to Rochester….yup, for lunch with gal friends. On a B’day “roll”!!!!!! LOL!!!!!

  2. Jeanne says:

    What a gorgeous quilt – the quilting is fantastic! You are one of the best listeners that I know when it comes to hearing the quilt.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The finish even “blew me away”!!!! In progress, I was nose to fabric and didn’t really see the ‘big picture’ til DH held it up. Many prayers for the one who will receive this!!!!! Such a great program!!!!!!!!!!!1

  3. Beth Ann says:

    I am in awe. That is so beautiful. Just beautiful. All those lovely swirls and curls are fabulous. You are so very talented. Good luck with the next projects!!!

  4. Linda Broere says:

    I just love it. Your dense
    FMQ more than enhances the elegant, soft blue and white design.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Isn’t that fabric just the best????!!!!! And “soft” is the perfect description for it! Once this is washed/dried it is going to be a wonderful finish!!!!! Thank you so much for your encouraging words…….it was a fun project!!!!!

  5. You have such a connection to each quilt, don’t you? That ability to truly listen and then follow what you’ve heard. The stitching of stars into the quilting design is absolutely perfect. This is one beautiful quilt.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I so laughed the first time someone said that one must “listen” to a quilt to detect its purpose/personality. I really thought that was a totally crazy idea!!!!! Now……hmmmm, not so much! (Either that or I’ve joined those in THAT world!!! LOL!)

  6. JoAnn says:

    Doreen, this is beautiful. Your quilting never stops to amaze me. You are a very gifted lady.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I will have to deliver this to S,G. before our meeting so I won’t be able to give you an “in person” view of it. Sorry. It was a challenge in its simplicity……only 2 soft colors and the piecings are large. It was good for me…..forced me to think/listen!!!

  7. Doreen, you have outdone yourself AGAIN!
    This quilt is so awesome!!!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      It was a very interesting project……the individual motifs weren’t new but how they worked into the quilt was a bit different for me. I hadn’t done large swirls “lined up” in a border before, so it was a good “stretch” for me. The best part of this quilt’s process is that I didn’t have to mark it first. The QOV quilts are a great way to learn lots of different techniques in “real life”!!! LOL!!! I’m so happy you came…………..hugs……………

  8. Ayesha says:

    this looks awesome….!! 🙂

  9. witchylin says:

    Lovely quilt Doreen. The fabric does look soft and so good to snuggle under. The back shows off those stars so well in the FMQ. Another fabulous quilt.

  10. ivoryspring says:

    Love the blue/white combo!!! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by. Yes, I am keeping on keeping busy. I would love to retire… 🙂

    Hope you are having a great weekend.

  11. Michele says:

    Yeah for you for a terrific job!

  12. Amy says:

    Gotta love a blue and white quilt! And your quilting is fabulous! Love!

Leave a Reply

