On a stormy Saturday………….

What better way to spend some time but at the sewing machine. This time the project was a very cute, well made prom dress that was in need of a bit(?) of alteration for the upcoming event the first part of May at the local high school. The ultra slender young gal who will be wearing this darling required a subtraction of several inches at the top of this strapless number, so off to the machine and a bit of UNsewing to begin with…………Prom 001  Sometimes just getting at the inside of a garment is a bit of a logistical challenge. The triumph achieved, the inches subtracted (4 in total!) and the closing stitches completed. Now, on to the rebeading. The gap in the beading is shown in the photo below.Prom 002 The beadwork at the top and raised waist was originally hand done after the dress was completed so before I initially opened the side seams I needed to secure the beadwork either side of the seams. Having done that, the task of stitching was quite simple.Prom 004 Beadwork is the relaxing finishing process that I always enjoyed during the time of my bridal sewing business. The key: do not hurry…take it one bead/sequin at a time.Prom 005

A very satisfactory result, don’t you agree?? And one final full length photo……..Prom 008Layers of pleated chiffon over lovely soft satin. Very nice.  You know it’s Spring when the prom dresses and tulips begin to appear!!!. Til next time…………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to On a stormy Saturday………….

  1. rosemarazzle says:

    super cute! You did a great job fixing the dress to fit a small frame. This will look nice I can imagine

    • treadlemusic says:

      The gal is such a sweetie. She had originally taken the dress to a bridal shop, inquiring about the alteration, and they said it could’t be done (read: they didn’t want to do it!!!!). Fact is…..there is always a way to deconstruct a garment but it isn’t always cost effective. This is going to look smashing on her!!!!!! Hugs………………………..

  2. This is beautiful. She’s very lucky you took this on!

    I went to prom once, in 2007. It was my very last chance as my husband was retiring from teaching that year. I talked him into it! Son didn’t complain that I went to his senior prom. Next year he will marry his date. 🙂 I’ll go to that party, too.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Time has a way of marching on, doesn’t it??? That party will be an awesome one!!!!!
      The dress was quite an easy project (only cuz I’ve done so many, I’m sure, and know a great many ‘tricks’ to complete it!). She was happy I said yes. Good to have your visit!!!! Hugs…………………………………

  3. Thread crazy says:

    What a beautiful dress; love the turquoise color. Yes, on rainy stormy days, sewing is the best. That’s one lucky gal that she found a great seamstress as yourself to save the day!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I don’t know if it’s like this around you, but there used to be more gals doing alterations (even formal wear type) but now I don’t know of anyone!!!!!! I almost feel “obligated” to say yes ( I really do enjoy the challenge each dress presents!!!! Hehe!). Sometimes, I think, it’s the fear of sewing on satin/chiffon, etc. I’m not sure. Thanks so much for your sweet words. This type of sewing is something I still very much enjoy.
      Hugs…………………………………….

  4. Jackie says:

    It must take a lot of patience and a steady hand to do that beading….very nice.

  5. What a gorgeous dress, i would love to wear something like this to our school prom. We the teachers also dress up ( yay!), but my newest dress became too big on me as I lost quite some weight. Maybe I should let you take it in, ha ha!
    Hugs
    Esther

  6. witchylin says:

    Lovely shade of turquoise. I love the pleated top and I am sure it will look lovely on the young lady. I did an alteration to a prom dress two years ago. The shop quoted nearly as much for the alteration as they asked for the dress. My friend bought it and said we will get Lin to do it. I was a bit nervous at first but it worked out fine. Of course I don’t have your expertise, I could have done with a little advice. 😉

    • treadlemusic says:

      During the years I worked as a bridal alteration seamstress at a bridal shop, I learned/created a great many shortcuts that work well on these dresses. Next time(?) just let me know……I’m here for ya!!!!!!! Hugs……………………….

  7. Very pretty! I’m sure she’ll be the Belle of the Ball!

  8. Michele says:

    Very, very pretty and excellent work.

  9. Oh it’s beautiful Doreen! You have so much patience that I wish I had sometimes 🙂

  10. This is beautiful. And what patience you have to take on a project like this, which appears challenging.

  11. mtetar says:

    It’s lovely both color and style. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  12. LB says:

    Gorgeous! You are multi-talented!

  13. Debbierose says:

    Doreen a woman of many talents, thanks for the beading tips – I do tend to stress at this type of thing and need to remember your advice – just one bead / sequin at a time

    • treadlemusic says:

      I really learned this the hard way……when I had to alter a bridal gown, which involved removing a ton of such beadwork, while working at a bridal shop. I (mentally) put myself under some kind of “deadline” pressure instead of enjoying the artistic process of rebeading. “Calm” makes all the difference!!! LOL!!!!!

  14. Ayesha says:

    Omigosh!!!!! this is beautiful Doreen…..wow. just wow!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

