In the Midwest………..

Each newscast devotes a significant portion of their broadcast time to the weather. It seems to captivate a high percentage of people’s time! Why??? Well, it is something we all have in common……we all experience some type of it, but, here, it is said that if you don’t like the current weather just wait a few moments and it will have changed! A very true statement (and how “Fargo”!!!). Looking out my livingroom window this morning I was greeted by this scene………snow 001

Yes, I know that it will be gone shortly. Yes, I know that 41F is the forecast high for today. BUT, it’s 27F, blustery and there’s 3” of icy wet white stuff covering my greening yard!!!!!!! And to add insult to injury, if you look closely (in the photo below) at the shed to the right of the dairy barn, you will notice some words faintly outlined by the snow…..yup “Merry Christmas” is spelled out in light strings and is now accentuated by the white stuff……………snow 002 

I think it will be a fab sewing day, I will leave it at that and I will be waiting those few moments while this crazy winter goes screaming into the history books!!! Til next time…………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to In the Midwest………..

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I have not looked outside yet—-we are in Decorah and I know it did the same thing here but I don’t want to face it yet. 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    lol – well here we had a very bad thunderstorm last night and have been without power since 10 pm last night and it might be off all day from the way it looks – thank goodness for generators but I hope the power is back sometime today as the temperatures will be dropping to a low of 30 tonight – April 14th – kind of low for this time of year! I hate to think I might have to have the fireplace going for heat later today – but I just might!

  3. I feel for you, Doreen. Only a light dusting here.

    Your Fargo comment leads me to ask, have you read Marc de Celle’s “How Fargo of You: Stories from the Northern Prairie That People Who Haven’t Been Here Will Never Believe?” He used one of my prairie photos on his website and, along with payment, I received his two Fargo books. Just finished the first yesterday.

  4. Good morning! It is cold and blustery here, but we didn’t get snow. And yes, a good day to stay in and quilt. I think today I will FINALLY get that thing done that’s been on my frame for oh-so-long. This pace is not like me. (There’s something illogical about that sentence…)

  5. Unbelievable , you still have snow???? I have been sneezing today because of the pollen that is flying around. Spring has really arrived here full force! I hope that Spring decides to take recidence near you too!
    🙂
    Esther

  6. Oh Doreen, I do hope you get some consistent warmth soon! We have a saying in Melbourne – we get four seasons in one day! And we’re very weather occupied too – have to know what’s happening!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That’s good to ‘hear’…..cuz it’s a joke around here about how I’m a weather junkie….constantly on the phone with radar, etc!!!! Oh well….it could be a lot worse!!!!! LOL!

  7. Jackie says:

    I always feel a little odd commenting when i know everyone so frustrated with the snow, but you know I love winter and the snow, so I was quite glad to see it’s return, full well knowing it would be gone by noon…and it was. Your 2nd photo was especially wonderful…. frame worthy!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Jackie…….some day we are going to have to have a lo-o-o-o-o-o-ong chat!!!!!!!! The calendar year is divided into 4 seasons. They each get their turn!!!! Winter is hogging way too much of the time allotted for Spring!!!!!!! LOL!

  8. Thread crazy says:

    Just checking in and couldn’t help but chuckle; you all have snow and we have gardens, flowers, etc., all planted and here we are having a “freeze” tonight! So sorry about the snow and yes, hopefully it’ll be gone quickly. You are so right about this winter being one for the storybooks!! Spring is coming – sometime!

  9. witchylin says:

    It was cold here last night with a frost but there is a nice warm sun this morning. We have not had any snow in 2014 where I live so I wonder what the summer has in store for us. It is certainly a sewing day for you and an outside gardening day for me. 🙂

  10. LB says:

    Is that your barn? It’s beautiful!
    As is the stained glass flower!

Leave a Reply

