Seeing stars…again……………

I’m just getting to know this next little gem. It’s a client’s quilt with pieced stars set in a sort of Irish Chain setting. As I’ve said before, I need a little dialog to determine my stitching direction. Between whom?…you say. Well, between myself and the lovely piecework that is before me. Let me introduce you……..

Marsha's quilt 001

Ah, some reticence!!! ‘She’ is a somewhat shy one! This is a partial view. There is, also, a lovely dark blue border that encircles the sparkling stars, no two are totally alike and seem to change……like a kaleidoscope viewing!!! That’s it!!! As the little pieces of colorful translucent bits change their formation, I think this one must radiate the same.

I begin with printing out a photo of the top….actually several copies. These will be doodled and sketched upon as I work through the direction of the stitching. Here’s the final photo with the black lines designating the stitching I will do (in addition to SID {Stitch in the Ditch} around all the stars and Irish chain blocks)……….

Marsha's quilt 004 

I do not have an EQ7 (or any other) program to work in but I’ve found that this, and a sketch book, works just fine. Working with such a photo, also, allows me to get away from the ‘puter to sketch out my ideas. I, then, clip this in front of me as I’m stitching. It helps a lot until I’ve done a few of the motifs a few times!!!

So, after a bit of sewing, I’m “launched” into this one with much fun ahead. Progress photos………………….

Marsha's quilt 002

Marsha's quilt 003

Marsha's quilt 001

With more to come.

To be continued………………………………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Seeing stars…again……………

  1. stitchinstein says:

    I just love your method of working out the quilting! I would never have thought of taking a photo of the quilt, I usually just draw it. Such a lovely quilt to work on.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It truly is!!!! The photo idea came to me a long time ago when I was, also, trying to sketch the intended quilt that needed stitching. I call it my “duh” moment!!!! Surrounded by technology and there I sit with pencil and paper!!!!! But, now I/we know!!!!! You’ll definitely love working on the photo on copy paper idea!!!!! Hugs…………………..

  2. I have used a photo before, and yes, for anything very complex it works great! The quilt is going to be lovely. I’m intrigued by the white background fabric. It looks textured.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You have got excellent eyes!!!! it’s a Damask/jacquard fabric!!!! The rest is cottons and, yes, it presents a few “issues” but nothing that can’t be overcome with some creative quilting!!! So glad you could stop by!!!!! Hugs to you………………………..

  3. This is a perfect stitching design. You are an artist in every sense of the word.

    Just curious if you discuss possibilities with your client to see what the quilter may be seeking in the final result.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do. The next one up had some thoughts (which matched mine, BTW). This one was totally up to me. The type of stitching motifs/how custom is often dictated by the budget allocated by the client. I give a sheet with price levels/stitching descriptions, misc. chgs. so I know that we’re “on the same page”. I don’t want any misunderstandings at the time of delivery. Most know the type of quilting I do (mostly from seeing my blog),so I’ve not encountered unpleasantness ever.

  4. What an interesting quilt – like the layout. I shall keep watching the quilting with interest!

    • treadlemusic says:

      A bit different isn’t it! The quilting will have the pieced colors “floating in and out” of the motifs just like a kaleidoscope’s colors shift. I think it will be a quilt that will have a element of movement which will hold the viewer’s interest.

  5. mtetar says:

    Very nice looks like fireworks. Blessings, Mtetar

  6. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary b here
    Okay I got your email (blog update) with this lovely quilt while I was at my parents.
    Yes, I am taking care of the oldsters (90) and I love this quilt. It is a beauty.
    I am a long time sewist but short time quilter still learning
    I was able to identify the blocks and show my mom and dad and boy were they impressed with my knowledge skills lol
    I love your idea for the quilting!
    And this is an excellent way to brainstorm the design

    • treadlemusic says:

      The photo idea has saved countless moments of preliminary drawing prior to the actual “brainstorming”!! I usually make 3 photo copies. One ends up with the total design (ex: photo I posted), one has a “break down” of the design and one that’s a “back-up”. I am so glad you found my place/blog and it is so nice to have you stop by for a visit! Blessings…..

  7. witchylin says:

    When I first saw your drawing on the photo I was a little unsure, however now seeing the quilting taking shape I am hooked on the design. The curved lines compliment the straight lines of the blocks with their sharp points. Note to self, take pictures and draw the design on them in future. Another Doreen super idea. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh Lin……..you ‘nailed’ it precisely!!!! The contrast of the curves w/ straight lines is one of the “key” elements that underlies my thought processes, when “brainstorming” a new pattern for stitching. The other is determining the secondary pattern (if there is one) that is formed. Finding that, oftentimes, is the key to the whole stitching motif.
      I’m so glad you popped in!!!!!! Hugs comin’ at ya!!!!!!!!

  8. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! This is beautiful quilt and your drawing is fantastic! Perfect idea to plan how to quilt. I love your illustration with black – if you were quilting by hand … (it would show even more like your illustration). For me it looks difficult to make that illustration with all the patterns to match – well done! I have to stick to my simple hand quilting. Hugs and Happy Easter! x Teje

  9. Saskia says:

    It looks beautiful! Wish I could quilt like that, maybe in umpteen years 🙂 – hugs, Saskia

    • treadlemusic says:

      The more doodling/sketching you do, the better!!!! Most of the stitching is straight lines w/ slight curves (“cathedral windows”). I pour through quilting magazines (among them “Machine Quilter”) for ideas constantly and there are so many great ideas on other people’s Pinterest FMQ boards (I am not on Pinterest).

  10. Thread crazy says:

    Doreen you are a quilt magician! I am intrigued by your process and no, I would never have thought of drawing the design on a photo copy. So now we know the rest of the story! Great design process – thanks for sharing your secret. One of these days I’ll get there but till then, I’ll just enjoy your quilting.

Leave a Reply

