Baptist Fan border………………….

I’ve had some inquiries about the fan border pattern I used in my previous post (here). I hadn’t done this pattern before but have wanted to try it on a quilt for a while. This is a great way to test it out to see if it’s something I would want to do as an ‘all over’ stitch pattern. I don’t, generally, do much marking prior to quilting so I wasn’t sure about this one. The directions Kathy gives on her blog, Tamarack Shack Long Arm Quilting, were just what I needed to get it done!!!! You can find them here. Some time ago I had gotten a curved/arc quilting ruler. I ordered it from the Accents in Design site. The 10” size was my choice. It’s one of the “Fine Line” quilter’s rulers. To see a video of this ruler in use, please, link here. Amy, at Amy’s Free Motion Quilting Adventures, has done an excellent YouTube video. Her blog is full of great tips on FMQ (free motion quilting) using a DSM (domestic sewing machine). There are other types of rulers “out there” but I was intrigued with the little ‘handles’ that these provided. They do make it a bit easier to hold the ruler steady while stitching. If I had a frame-mounted long arm it may be different, but with a sit-down HQ Sweet 16 it helps to be able to move the fabric and ruler at one time! This ruler would work with a DSM (domestic sewing machine) also, I would think, since my stitching is done the same way….just on a larger harp space machine.

Another quick peek at my border…….Marsha's quilt 008

Have a great weekend! Now, off to the machine…………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Baptist Fan border………………….

  1. Thread crazy says:

    Doreen – I’ve gotten a set of the “flat” Baptist Fan templates “without” the handles….hmm…we’ll have to see how they do here shortly as I was going to use them on a donation quilt. Hadn’t seen the ones with the handles. I’ll keep you posted.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Please do!!!! I’m not entirely “sold” on the handles. I found them to be in the way more than a few times!!!! Their placement isn’t quite right for the size of my hands (quite small!) so to apply the even downward pressure all the way out to each curved end is a bit difficult. If I don’t keep it pressed down, the hopping foot wants to hook it……not good! Will be anxious for your eval!!!!!!! The tutorial is excellent!!!!!

      • You ladies know way more about quilting and quilting tools than me. But I am learning thanks to you, Doreen. I’m an armchair learner, though, and don’t intend to pick up quilting. I’ll admire and gush and wish I possessed even an ounce of your quilting talent.

        • treadlemusic says:

          I/we are always so thrilled to have “struck a chord” with those who aren’t so obsessed (harboring other obsessions perhaps????). As with your inspiring writings, encouragement brings with it confirmation and affirmation!!!! Thank you!!!!!!!! Hugs……………………….

  2. Fiona says:

    Hi Doreen, I love how you have done this…. and just received my rulers in the post so looking forward to trying them out…. I am wondering if and what marking you did to get them looking like this…
    Hugz

  3. Debbierose says:

    Thanks or sharing – great info

  4. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! This looks and sounds great! I like those curve Lines and these rulers look practical. I have felt that I should find NEW ways and patterns to quilt – thanks! I’ll go to see the links. Have a wonderful Sunday! Hugs! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      My Sunday is quietly in process (except for some very loud motorcycle noises created by my son, his son-in-law and whoever else is out in our shed!!!!! LOL!!!!!) I really enjoyed doing the fan pattern. It seems to suit my quilting style!!!! Sometimes we need to add a little spark to our days!!!!! LOL! Hugs…….

  5. I like the fan, too, as I’ve said. I haven’t done one. I’ve seen a couple different styles of ruler for them, but hadn’t seen yours before. I think I’d want to see it demonstrated IN PERSON! so I could decide if it would be useful to me.

    Yesterday I quilted a project using a LARGE double-meander — meander through once edge to edge, with a fist-sized curve or bigger. Then come back across ribboning/twisting through your first line. You can correct wider if your first line is too pinched, and come in more tightly if your first line swung out too far. It looks GREAT and on the LA frame literally took about 10 minutes per pass. WAY more time to load it than to quilt it.

    I hope this week goes more easily for you (and for me!!) and that you get some questions answered. Will be thinking of you…

  6. Amy says:

    OOOh! You’ve been having fun and getting things done. Nice work and thanks for the shout out and all the links to many helpful places.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Amy, you are so very welcome!!! You are able to share and inspire so many with your fmq talents and I really appreciate all that you do! From a “fellow” blogger, I know how much it takes to put up a post, etc!!! Hugs…………….

Leave a Reply

