Bowl Buddies………………..

I first posted about these little cuties last November here. These clever bowl holders work well when heating oatmeal in the microwave or, maybe, reheating soup and they really help when holding that pint of ice cream that threatens to take on a bit too much hand heat!! (DH gets a lot of use with this last snack idea!!!) Today I started to create a pile of these…..Bowl buddies-hot pads 001

The ones on the left have a pretty floral w/ a solid green fabric on the underside. On the right, I used a pansy print w/ some pieces of test sandwiches from my mid-arm tension testings.Bowl buddies-hot pads 002

I have used these test sandwiches for mugrugs, placemats and in other places where a little padding is needed. When using them as mats, I surge the edges for a simple functional finish. I’ve put a bunch of them in the RV and will toss them when they get too soiled/used up. I just hate to throw away something that can be “upcycled”….even for a little while!!!

Go forth and create……………………………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bowl Buddies………………..

  1. Debbierose says:

    Gorgeous pansy fabric – and a great idea – I could definitely use these – another thing on my ever growing to do list

  2. jennyklyon says:

    You are clever to use your practice this way-super cute!

  3. Great idea! I remember your previous post about these and STILL haven’t got around to making some. Work just gets in the way 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s one of those projects that aren’t hard and produce something that everyone loves BUT in the process of making….my sewing room is “trashed”!!!! I’ve pulled out tons of different fabrics/coordinates, pieces of batting etc. I’ve wanted to make more but I haven’t had the opportunity….til now. I put other things aside for a few days to work on these. It’s always a challenge to get to these projects, it seems. I do hope you are finding your creative outlet/expression……..that’s what is important. You can’t do it all!!!!! Hugs……………………..

  4. I know Beth Ann loves her bowl buddies purchased in Faribault, before she knew you made them.

  5. LB says:

    What a great idea! I always use a tea towel / dish cloth for this purpose, but your idea is so much better!

    • treadlemusic says:

      And handy to have around. Really does work better than a hot pad/pot holder for hot things and just the ticket for those bowls of ice cream in front of the TV!!!!!!

  6. Thread crazy says:

    I do so remember your earlier post on those bowls and yet, I haven’t had a free minute to stitch some up! “Life” issues has kept me from my sewing room; looking forward to getting back in there soon.

Leave a Reply

