Signs of Spring…………………

Houston prom & spring 027  Tulips with real buds coming!!!!!!

 

Houston prom & spring 028  Daffodils with flowers soon to follow!!!!!!!!

 

Houston prom & spring 029  Asparagus that is actually “up”!!!!……Well, kinda………look closely………………….

 

Houston prom & spring 030  Strawberry plants that actually made it through the winter….yay!!!!!!!

Houston prom & spring 033  Is that…….why, yes it is!!!! My blue hydrangea!!!!! (First posted about here AND, with the additional “visitor”, here) And, last but not least, a true sign of Spring in the Midwest………..

 

Houston prom & spring 031

Yes!!!!! The rhubarb is up and there’s plenty to use!!!!! So, use it I must………………………….

001

The first rhubarb cream pie of the season (recipe from a very old Better Homes and Gardens CB)!!!!!! Now, if we can wait til it’s cooled enough!!!!!……….Waiting………waiting…….sigh………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Signs of Spring…………………

  1. Gloria says:

    My mouth is watering…..

  2. We have spring here too but it is still very chilly. I love rhubarb and mine is coming up at the bottom of the garden 🙂

  3. I have a recipe for rhubarb custard pie — it might be the same thing. Jim is the pie baker here. We still have LOTS of rhubarb in the freezer from last year! Need to get busy with it, as the new growth is fast and furious.

  4. The signs are looking good!!

  5. Paula says:

    Would you be willing to share the recipe? I would dearly love to take some rhubarb and a new recipe when I visit my daughter in Alabama later this month. Ours will be ready to pick and I should be able to take some through security… It is her rhubarb, but I get to keep it until she is out of the military.

  6. There is nothing left of that pie, am I right? Yummy!!!
    Lovely to see the plants!
    Esther

  7. Maybe it’s because I’m further north. But my plants are not up nearly as high as yours. I see a very familiar little boy there with his jar of fireflies.

  8. Thread crazy says:

    Yum Yum…my Aunt used to bake the most delicious rhubarb pie! The spring flowers are looking good. Cuddos to you all who can grow Tulips; here in Texas, if you plant tulips they are only good for one season unless..you dig them up every year and keep in refrigerator. Happy Spring!!

Leave a Reply

