Rhubarb Pie Recipe………………….

In answer to several requests, here is the recipe I used. It’s from the 20th printing (1949) of the Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book.

001

It only requires a single pie crust and I have been using the ready-made Pillsbury brand (found in the dairy case at the store, in packages of 2 crusts).

1&1/2 cup sugar

3-6 Tbls flour….use more if there’s been a lot of rain. The rhubarb can be a tad watery.

1/2 tsp nutmeg (I fresh grate mine)

1 Tbls butter

2 well-beaten eggs

3 cups rhubarb…cut up/diced

1 pie crust

Blend sugar, flour, nutmeg and butter. Add eggs; beat til smooth; pour over rhubarb in a 9” pastry lined pan. Top with pastry cut in decorative shapes (opt.). Before baking, I brush the crust with water and sprinkle a cinnamon/sugar mixture over it quite generously. Bake in ‘hot’ oven (450F) 10 min., then in ‘moderate’ oven about 30 min.

Note: I have found it useful to  be quite generous with the flour amount even if the rhubarb is not watery. This isn’t a pie that serves “picture perfect” pieces. The filling is quite soft/runny…….in other words, it doesn’t set firm. The nutmeg flavor pairs so perfectly with the rhubarb for a very “Spring” flavor. Enjoy!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rhubarb Pie Recipe………………….

  1. Jo Major Ciolino says:

    There are few things in life I like more than rhubarb pie/cobbler! My husband never had it growing up and I find I have to do strawberry-rhubarb to get him interested. (Sigh). Eating it cold (with hot coffee) for breakfast is truly my breakfast of champions!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I so totally “hear” ya on that!!!!! I have made this recipe for those who aren’t really liking the rhubarb flavor……I take some strawberry gelatin (Jello) and sprinkle a small amount in with the sugar/egg mixture before I pour it over the rhubarb. That seems to take the tart “edge” off/away enough for all to enjoy. Just a small suggestion. So great to ‘hear’ from you!!!!!!!!! Hugs………

  2. OK, time to call the friend who has a very large rhubarb patch.

  3. LB says:

    Well, I love Rhubarb and I love my Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook! Now, I’m off to see which printing I have 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      This book was my mom’s. She gave it to me many years ago cuz she had too many cookbooks and preferred some of the newer ones. I love this one and use it a lot!!!! This recipe is one I’ve given to many and haven’t seen anywhere else.

  4. nsturgill says:

    Yum! Going to have to try this. I always use my BH&G for pies!

  5. Debbierose says:

    I adore rhubarb, will definitely gave to try this. Thanks Doreen

    • treadlemusic says:

      The nutmeg is the wonderful addition that compliments the rhubarb so perfectly…….a very ‘fresh’ taste. I hope you enjoy it (extra flour/thickener is definitely needed for the early/more moist stalks!!!!!!)

Leave a Reply

