A quick project……………

Was what I was looking for. Pillowcases. Yup. Nothing spectacular just something “Spring-y” to match the summer quilt I finally put on the bed. The quilt is the Wave Quilt I made from my stash fabrics a while back and fun pillowcases were what was needed to help my transition from the never-ending last season to the bright cheerful flower-laden season that is struggling to appear. So, last Saturday a trip to my somewhat LQS (local quilt shop) was needed. 2 friends and I headed south to Waukon, IA, to see what we could find. We did stop at 3 shops but I’ll only speak to the one that made the biggest ‘dent’ in my pocketbook!! The name is “Country Stitchin Quilts”. It’s located on a farm on the S.E. edge of Waukon in northeast Iowa. From the outside, the little building located across the drive from the house, is not too promising but………………………..

upon entering we were greeted with this……………………………Houston prom & spring 008

and this…………………………………………………………………………..Houston prom & spring 007

Yes, there should be more photos but my focus (pun?) changed to shopping!!!! So much to look at and so little time and $$$!! Success!!!! And the result are these room brighteners……………………………………………………….pillowcases 002

pillowcases 004

pillowcases 003

The directions for these are found here. The fabric is beautiful quality and the sale price was awesome!!!!! Double bonus!!!

Now, on to a client’s quilt. Photos soon………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A quick project……………

  1. Michele says:

    Very pretty. I especially like the floral fabric.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    They match perfectly! We all need some florals in our lives now, don’t we?? Great job and great find!

  3. What a fun excursion to shop for your favorite thing–fabric. These pillow cases are perfect for the quilt, which is lovely and so spring-like. Winter be gone. Flannel sheets were pulled from my bed this morning.

  4. Gloria says:

    Are these to sleep on or just “pretty to look at” ? Very pretty quilt!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Very much “to sleep” on. The “finish” is a super smooth percale-type, rather than a bit coarser weave. I’ll be on the look-out for more such fabric. Pillowcases are outrageously costly to buy and great to make in a matter of an hour, or so!!!!!!!

  5. What a fun day! And great result – love your new pillow cases.

  6. JoAnn says:

    They look great. Wonderful match and a great bargain.

  7. Debbierose says:

    Very nice Doreen

  8. Thread crazy says:

    What a neat shop….I can see why it take a lot of your $$$$! If it were me, I’d park myself on that bench outside and enjoy the sights. Your wave quilt looks pretty; like that design and the pillowcase look great.

Leave a Reply

