“Jelly Roll Race 2”……………….

Is the name of the lovely lap quilt I just finished quilting for a friend/client. It’s done in batiks with a flannel backing and is 60”x 76”.Anita's quilt 001

The pattern may be found in the new Missouri Star Quilts magazine “Block”. The issue is their very first.Anita's quilt 010

I think this self-published magazine (absolutely no ads!!!!!) is more of a soft-cover book than magazine with beautiful photos and wonderful step-by-step instructions w/ pictures to make sure you are following. The Jelly Roll Race 2 pattern is an easy variation on the first pattern.Anita's quilt 011

Anita's quilt 002Anita's quilt 003

Anita's quilt 005Anita's quilt 009

Anita's quilt 006

The stitching motif is a scalloped leaf which echoed the “organic” feel of the fabric. Anita's quilt 007A view of the border/backing.

Threads used were Aurifil Mako 50 wt. cotton with Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly 70 wt (black) in the bobbin. Those threads “played well” together…..perfectly balanced tension!

Note: yes…….the sun is shining here finally!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to “Jelly Roll Race 2”……………….

  1. Michele says:

    It really turned out great and I love that the bits were broken up with the cornerstones. Nicely done.

  2. Very pretty. I’ve seen a lot of those and some I like, some not so much. This color combination is really attractive, and the quilting works just right. Thanks for showing us. And YAY for sun!

    • treadlemusic says:

      This is definitely one of my favorite quilts of this type! This gal will be gifting it as a 60th wedding anniversary present!!!!!!! She did a beautiful piecing job!!!! I love doing her quilts!!! Thanks so much for stopping by and I hope that the weather is cooperating down your direction. Hugs……………..

  3. kathyinozarks says:

    I like this, thanks for sharing about the new magazine

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am so impressed with this publication and will be ordering a subscription very soon. Jenny Doan (MSQ) and her crew are doing a great job of promoting quilting. Their YouTube videos are awesome!!! So glad you ‘popped’ in!!!! Hugs………………….

  4. I really really love the fabric and the color mix here. Just beautiful. So serene.

  5. Saturday mornings PBS has 2 hours of quilting and yarn shows… Fons and Porter has had her on making that pattern (saw it the second time two weeks ago). I had an idea to try one (without the jelly roll – so, the hard way) after seeing the first one, but have not as of yet 🙂 See, I’m growing lol
    Smiles……………………

    • treadlemusic says:

      Debby……I’m so proud of you!!!!!! Unless these “jelly rolls” are purchased on sale (or through a place like Connecting Threads) the fabric is somewhat premium priced. Cutting your own (#42) 2&1/2″ wide strips x width of fabric/44″ is much more to my liking, too!!!!!! Wisc. and MN public TV don’t carry F & P for us any longer (as of a couple of weeks ago!) Ugh!!!!!!

      • bummer – but you have Nancy in person.

        there are two things to that for me. I don’t use a rotary cutter, and I use clothes. Used to be three with hand piecing. Since using the machine, I’ve started making some strips, but I don’t get a WOF.
        I have done more than one piece by hand by marking the piece and tying off at each end then cutting. Took some extra work, but it was functional.
        Smiles……..

        • treadlemusic says:

          I know that you can do the math so whatever totals the inches needed to make the strips will work. Actually, “upcycling”/using clothes would make for an awesomely interesting quilt!!!!!!

  6. Ooh, I love what Jenny and the team get up to at Missouri Star – wonder if that mag will make its way Down Under?!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Good question. The price is so reasonable for a publication that’s w/o advertisements. I got this premier issue at a quilt shop but haven’t seen any others so I’m wondering if it will be subscription only!?! Jenny & company are the best!!!!!

  7. Debbierose says:

    Lovely colours, I also hope the mag makes its way to Oz

  8. Thread crazy says:

    Looks lovely and yes I did see the “YouTube” presentation on this pattern. So pretty. I’m going to try that connecting threads 70 wt on backing soon as I like using Aurifil 50 wt. Great job of quilting.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you, Friend!!! I have quite a bit of the Aurifil thread. It sews so beautifully……love the look…..but so much more lint than Isacord. The CT poly, 70wt, has been wonderful and super low/no lint!!!!

  9. This jellyroll quilt is gorgeous! You picked the perfect accent color and it really ties the quilt together nicely. I’m a new quilter and I love BLOCK magazine – everything is really clear and they have tutorial videos for just about every pattern!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hello, Cynthia!!!!!!! Sorry I didn’t get back with you before now (been ‘funnin’ in Austin, Texas). Please, stop by again and chat a bit!! Our Killer Bees quilt event is day after tomorrow (Friday) so am scrambling to get my demo pulled together. Photos to follow!!! Sending hugs………..

Leave a Reply

