“UFFO”……………………..

That would be “Unfinished Fused Object”!!!! This little, 12”x24”, wallhanging came from my dear friend Alice’s stash (posted here). She had it all ready to quilt (I think she was going the “machine route” as she had used fusible batting, also). The technique was raw-edge applique  and the subject was a beautiful iris. She loved flowers! So, on this day (the 1 year anniversary of her passing) I finished this and it will go to my special friend, Leah, who resides in our local long term care facility.  Some details and lots of photos………………………Alice's Iris 001 

Alice's Iris 003

Alice's Iris 004

Alice's Iris 005

Alice's Iris 006

Alice's Iris 007

Alice's Iris 008 Alice's Iris 009

Alice's Iris 002

Threads used: Superior variegated gold metallic 40wt (applique outline & McTavishing). Coats Metallic (flower stitching). Sulky 40wt rayon (green for leaf stitching). Isacord 40wt poly (gold for flower center/thread “painting”). In the bobbin I used white 70wt Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly.

DH cut a piece of wood to fit the corner triangles (a square of fabric folded on the bias to form a triangle and pressed well) that are stitched to the quilt back in the upper 2 corners in the 1st step of the binding application. I, also, included 2 ways to hang this……..a larger hanger/loop and a small loop ……..that were stitched in place at this time. I did the final binding stitching by machine, also. Finished. I wrote the pertinent data/info right on the backing fabric using a Pigma Micron pen. I am so pleased with this finish and I’m sure Alice would have liked it.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to “UFFO”……………………..

  1. What a beautiful tribute to your friend Alice and how thoughtful of you to gift it to Leah.

    I can’t help but think of my mother and how very much she would enjoy this. Irises are her favorite flower and I know she will miss seeing them bloom this year in her yard. At Easter, she was anticipating the blue flags blooming. And now she’s in the nursing home.

    • treadlemusic says:

      As the days pass we all face those favorite things that have become memories only. It’s not easy and it’s especially hard to watch our older relatives and friends deal with such. Hugs……………………Good to visit with you earlier!!!!!!!

  2. I am sure she would. It turned out very well. Thanks for showing and including the thread information.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The Superior Meallic is thread that I really use a lot. It blends with so much and gives a nice sparkle without being “glitzy”/cheap metallic. I bought 2 large cones to be sure I would always have some available!!

  3. Linda Broere says:

    Lovely Iris, and “irisey McTavishing. Very thoughtful of you. thanks for sharing.

  4. Barb N says:

    Very pretty! I love irises. I love purple. I love McTavishing. Only problem is it’s not hanging on my wall! Great job.

  5. That is beautiful Doreen! The McTavishing is lovely and adds so much to the piece. What a lucky lady to receive this!

  6. Beth Ann says:

    Lovely and your friend would love that you are passing her precious work on to yet another friend! You bring such joy, Doreen. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      But I am given even greater joy…..multiplied x2!!! Thank you, dear Friend, for your most kind and very appreciated words. Hugs and blessings………………………………..

  7. JoAnn says:

    This is beautiful. The colors and stitching are stunning.

  8. What a perfect gift for Leah! I love that it came from your friend Alice and that you finished it this oarticukar day. How fitting! Thanks for the thread info. Now I am sure I NEED to get that gold variegated thread! 🙂
    I finally got my Janome back up and running again. Loving the FMQ again!!! Even though it has been a lot of frustration to get to this point! I am working with mat and glossy threads and I do have to admit that the glossy is my favorite!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am absolutely drawn to the poly & rayon threads AND metallics!!! Maybe I wouldn’t be if my machine had problems with any of them!!! I order the variegated gold directly from Superior. They seem to have good prices and good shipping charges.
      So good to ‘hear’ that you have your machine back!!!!! Hugs………………….

  9. Michele says:

    It turned out fantastic and it is such a great way to keep her in your heart.

  10. Thread crazy says:

    Oh Doreen – how beautiful…your Mc Tavishing work is gorgeous. I know Alice is looking down and saying what a beautiful job you’ve done with her work, bringing it to life so to speak, so that someone else may enjoy it’s beauty.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Those were my thoughts completely…..to give the little piece “new life” by passing it on. I was the one blessed to finish it. Thanks for stopping by and spending time at all my posts. I so appreciate all you have to share with me and definitely “take it to heart”!!!! You are a blessing!!!! Hugs………..

Leave a Reply

