My next UFO……………….

Is the “Cardinal panel” that I posted about earlier this year here. It’s been pin basted and at the ready for quite a while but, with a more wintery theme, I put it way back on the “to-do” list. I really didn’t want to prolong my “winter season” but charge into Spring but this was always in view in a corner of the sewing room. Onward….. a full length photo to help refresh your memory……….Cardinal Winter quilt panel 002

Yesterday was spent SID (Stitch in the Ditch) around the “blocks” in the center portion (I stitched the inside and the outside of those narrow dark border ‘frames’ on the blocks) and the inside seam of the first narrow (blue/green) border. All this will stabilize the quilt (and give sharper definition of the printed blocks) for the next stitching. For thread, I used my favorite Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly 70wt in black for the top thread and in a Turkey Red for the bobbin. It is fine enough to disappear into the fabric and simulate an actual seam. This top is made up of panel yardage with 2 repeats plus a partial repeat, which I cut apart to get the 4 “cornerstones” in the outer border.

I have some ideas for quilting motifs but haven’t totally visualized them yet. I have printed out several photos of the top to scribble/doodle some ideas on just like I did for the Stained Glass Quilt here.Cardinal Winter quilt panel 005

These, along with my dry erase board and sketch book, will give me opportunity to try out some thoughts.

Stay tuned…………….doodling to follow!!!!

Have an awesome weekend and Mother’s Day Blessings to all those mothers out there!!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My next UFO……………….

  1. I can’t wait to see what you do with it. Question… when you are doing the SID and moved from one block across the red to another block – do you stop or stitch across?
    Happy Mother’s Day

    • treadlemusic says:

      I stopped and locked stitches. I wanted the “faux blocks” to appear pieced and individually framed. When I work with a panel, I look at any portions that could have been pieced and stitch them to give a seam line shadow. And thank you for the kind greeting!!!! Hugs……………

  2. witchylin says:

    Happy Mothers Day to all the Mums who celebrate it today.
    The SID will certainly give the impression of pieces rather than a panel. You can do a lot with the area between the small pictures. Maybe feathers to match the birds. LOL 😉

    • treadlemusic says:

      You read my mind!!!!! Precisely!!!!! Now, if I didn’t have a client’s quilt and 2 piano concerts and a week in South Dakota and set-up/tear-down for a quilt show to do in the upcoming 2 weeks I would be starting this project immediately!!! LOL! Just finished my first (very short) motorcycle ride of the season………and got caught in a rain shower!!!!! Hmmmmmmmmmm…….but, it’s almost 70F!!!!! Yay!!!!!!!

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you!!! I had not forgotten about this piece and will be excited to see how it finishes up. Lovely I am sure!

Leave a Reply

