It’s the weekend!!!!!!!!

Let the fun begin!!!! The sun is shining and it’s lookin’ pretty good for tomorrow………..hopefully, getting to the river……maybe. In anticipation of the grillin’ meals, I’m baking the hot dog/brat and burger buns we will need. If only I had the “aroma app” for this post!!!! LOL!!!

003

And for those who would want to make these beauties, the recipe:

Sandwich Buns/Dinner rolls

1/2 cup warm water (or milk)

3/4 cup warm milk

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup butter

1 egg (to equal 1/4 cup)

1 tsp salt

4 cups bread flour

1&1/2 Tbls (yes, that’s “Tbls”) active dry/breadmaker yeast

Place all in breadmaker in the above order. Set on “dough” cycle. Remove and shape. Let rise til light. (This will not take very long…..maybe 30 min.) Brush tops of rolls with either milk or beaten egg. Bake 400F for 15 to 20 min.

Til next time………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s the weekend!!!!!!!!

  1. witchylin says:

    Thank you for the recipe. All I can say is Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Anytime……….I (we all?) so love a good “dinner roll” and these have such a rich flavor!!! And quite easy to make. They’re a ‘hit’ with my grandsons who will request them.

  2. You are making me think that perhaps I should nab that breadmaker sitting on my mom’s kitchen cupboard.

    • treadlemusic says:

      These are really easy to make the traditional way but with the breadmaker I can put everything in it and walk away (with a portable timer so I don’t forget the task at hand!!) and the dough comes out at a specified time. Sigh…….even that is on a schedule!!!!! This recipe is awesome for dinner rolls (like “Parker House” kind….rich and slightly sweet). Go for it, Friend!!!!!!!

  3. Paula says:

    I tweeked the recipe to add some cracked wheat and oatmeal and it came out really sticky for me. Next time I’ll make some additional adjustments, but am wondering how you form your brat buns. Do you use the same amount of dough as for the burger buns? Which is how much? I have tried to make grilling buns before from a variety of recipes and they always came out way too flat. With the extra yeast these look mighty fine and taste great too. 😉 Had to try one when they came off the pan. The only problem was the stickiness factor which will be worked out over time.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I did use the same amount of dough as the sandwich rolls. I’ve learned that the tendency to make them too large is what had happened in the past. Dividing the dough in 20 pieces seemed to work out very well. This is a very soft dough and things like the size of the egg (should equal 1/4 c.) and the humidity do add critical moisture. That’s when I just flour the area I’m working on to adjust for it. I love the additions of cracked wheat/oatmeal but can see that the liquid amount would need attention somewhat BUT, as you said, they taste great….especially out of the oven!!! Let me know if you have more success on your next attempt!! Hugs…………..

  4. LB says:

    Definitely need that aroma app!! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

