A “Whole Cloth Challenge”…..c’mon, join the fun……….

In my last post, I posted photos of two pieces of “Radiance” fabric (55%/45% cotton/silk) and alluded to a challenge. Well, here’s the details. It’s open to everyone who would like to join in…..whether using a DSM (domestic sewing machine) or longarm. Lisa Calle spelled out the parameters in her post on May 23: (in Lisa’s words)…………

Wholecloth Challenge

Posted on May 23, 2014 by lisahcalle

Standard

As some of you know, I have been trying to teach myself to quilt on my domestic sewing machine (DSM).  I have been pricing on a BERNINA 145S for the past 14 years but just picked up my NEW BERNINA 750QENow,  so I don’t fall off the wagon and give up, Teri Lucas and I have come up with a whole cloth challenge.  We would love to have you join us.  It is a small project and shouldn’t take up too much time.

Here are the particulars:

Size: 18″ -22″

Fabric:  Robert Kauffman’s Radiance – for a nice selection of this fabric go to  Olde City Quilts.

Thread and batting of your choice…

Time Frame…. done by Oct 13th (in time for Houston Market)

Sky’s the limit!  I will be posting about the design process that I go through and show step by step photos.

I will be doing this project on a domestic machine… not my longarm.  This is a monumental task for me as I am just teaching myself how to quilt on the domestic.

For those of you who wish to join us, I encourage you to send me pictures of what you are doing and your design process… if you have a blog, please post it there and send me the link.  I think this is going to be a fun, no pressure, small project for the summer.  Who’s in??

Happy Quilting

Lisa

Lisa, along with Teri Lucas of “TerifiCreations Blog” are taking us along on their creative process road to the finish in the Fall. You can follow here, here, here, here, and here. The first link gives you a bit of Lisa’s thoughts on her journey as a FMQ (free motion quilter) using her DSM.

The fabrics I’ve chosen to play with are these (so far)…….shop hop 044  The thread color, or colors, have yet to be decided upon. I really love the Invisafil 100wt that I used here. I’m sure there will be many options tried in the days to come. Stay tuned……………………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A “Whole Cloth Challenge”…..c’mon, join the fun……….

  1. This sounds like such fun. I’d love to join in but we are moving across the country later this summer, so even a ‘small’ project like this would have to take a back seat for awhile. I’ll be watching from the sidelines though and have a gorgeous piece of peach color Radiance waiting for the perfect project.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The ‘peach’ color was calling my name, also, and may yet be welcomed!!! I can’t fathom a move like that (after being here for 40 yrs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)!!! Hugs………..

  2. The fabrics are beautiful. I’d like to play with some, just for the sheen. Will have to see if I can find some around here… 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      The line has been around for a while but not particularly ‘promoted’ in any way. It definitely is a specialty fabric with amazing sheen and drape…….very soft (like a silk charmeuse)!!!!!

  3. Play away. I’ll watch from the sidelines.

  4. witchylin says:

    I will see if I can find the fabric here in the UK. It looks like a fun project that I’d like to get involved in, especially as it will be done on DMS. Although I have 4 machines they are all DMS.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The project will definitely “push” our stitching skill level w/o being a judged “competition” (except for the ‘pressure’ we put on ourselves!!!!!LOL!). Go for it!! If you can’t find it, let me know and I can get it here and send it!!!!!!! Hugs…

Leave a Reply

